SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9103 and 7207 (LOTR Dress)

Viewed 1141 times 
Reviewed by:Gilraen Surion
photo

 
 
About Gilraen Surion
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 6/6/04
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/05 3:01 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tini said...
great review & I love to see pics but I don't have access to the pics :(
3/7/05 3:07 AM
The Renaissance Girl said...
Those sleeves are beautiful! They fall just perfectly, no wonder they attracted attention. Your dress is very beautiful, you did a fabulous job!
3/7/05 7:59 AM
mamafitz said...
how neat! so, did you get to meet orlando bloom? more importantly, did you get to meet viggo? :) just sign me a pervy man fancier.....
3/7/05 8:00 AM
Hilary said...
LOL mamfitz-I'm definitely wondering about viggo too :oP Your costume is wonderful!! I love the trim and the sleeves-did you make DBF's costume also?
3/7/05 8:40 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for posting your review! Great review and the gown is stunning!!! Lucky you getting to meet the cast - especially Orlando Bloom!!
3/7/05 8:49 AM
kbrock said...
Love it! great choice of color and fabric. Really enjoyed your writing style too - it was fun to read.
3/7/05 11:09 AM
Annika said...
Such pretty colors! Great job! And meeting Orlando Bloom oooooooohhhhhhhhh....
3/7/05 11:49 AM
Gilraen Surion said...
Thanks for your comments. It was one of the greatest event I ever went to. Yes we met Orlando, as well as his mum. In fact one of the little girls in the group asked her permission to marry Orlando. She said that was up to him, but she'd welcome it. We also met Viggo, Liv Tyler (she was s sweetie), Sean Astin, John Rhys Davies, Billy Boyd, Dominic Monaghan. We oly lost out on Ian McKellan, Elijah Wood and PJ By the time PJ came he was escorted to the front as it took him forever to get past the huge mass of people. Best costume on the red carpet had to go to Richard Taylor with a beautiful forrest green coat with the ring letters embossed on the part belt at the back So stunning.
3/7/05 12:22 PM
PVA said...
Absolutely beautiful -- very creative design & construction! I look forward to the DBF costume as well!
3/7/05 4:50 PM
AnneM said...
Sounds like a good time. Pretty outfit, great trim. Yes, it's a shame that we don't have more excuses to wear pretty things like this.
3/7/05 7:00 PM
DaneDogMom said...
If you get a chance, could you post a photo of the sleeve pattern you used? I'm in the process of drafting a dress for my daughter from an assortment of patterns, and your sleeves are the loveliest! Beautiful dress!
4/16/05 0:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Other Ruby Slip

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now