Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5891 (kAtheRine Tilton top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 746 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:mm
photo
About mmstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/6/03
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/11/13 4:55 AM
Last Updated:4/11/13 4:58 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renata said...
I like your end result as well. I bought this pattern as soon as I saw it, don't know when I will make it though. I prefer it buttoned up but it looks good either way.
4/11/13 5:45 AM
Andi said...
Thanks for a very complete review!
4/11/13 8:01 AM
PattyE said...
Thanks for the review. I'm making view A next month. Love your fabric!
4/11/13 9:10 AM
a life in stitches said...
I think you have a great result here. A great review, which I'm sure will help when I make this. Thank you for pointing out the troublespots, but clearly you have oercome them.
4/11/13 9:12 AM
BJ1400 said...
Your jacket looks great. Excellent review.
4/11/13 12:55 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wonderful jacket!
4/11/13 4:56 PM
GermanKleinigkeit said...
What a nice jacket. And a very interesting fabric. I like your style.
4/11/13 5:27 PM
Dilliander said...
Love the collar on this jacket, it looks stylish and interesting both ways. Your jacket is a wonderful success and tres fabulous irl too :)
4/11/13 7:52 PM
Sharonspils said...
This is a very stylish top/jacket and love the colour on you.
4/12/13 0:47 AM
rivergum said...
Beautiful jacket, mm! I like the way you arranged the collar, looks very stylish.
4/12/13 6:39 AM
marthamyers said...
Perfect timing! I just finished a muslin of view A/B yesterday and I'm cutting it out now. I love your jacket. Great fabric, wonderful style. BTW, if you want to make A/B with the sleeves from C/D, you can first cut out A/B as is. Then lay the C/D front over each of the A/B fronts and recut the armscye. Do the same for the backs. I'll double-check this, but it should work as the armscye for C/D should be deeper than the armscye for A/B. If I can help, send me a message. Thanks for a great review! Updated April 15 - just realized it isn't practical to use the sleeves from C/D in A/B because the C/D sleeves are with a dropped shoulder. Sorry about that. You could use another pattern with a set-in sleeve, though.
4/12/13 8:53 AM
Michele W said...
Great Job! I like the fabric that you used. I have been working on the AB version and keep checking to see how the peplum goes on. It is not a standard application so seeing pictures may help me. I agree about the quirkiness. It is part of the charm. Thank you for the review.
4/14/13 10:28 PM
jojobooster said...
I have just been making up the same view and, having basted the collar, found myself asking the same question about neatening the edges. I will overlock for ease as I am still not sure I like this jacket to much, but am disappointed by the lack of attention to detail here.
4/24/13 10:06 PM
Sue Parrott said...
VH review. I have version c on my dress form right now and am having so much trouble with the collar I could just scream! I am not sure how I will end up 'fixing' it but since I hate to wad up garments I have spent so much time on, I'll keep thinking about it.
11/10/13 11:48 AM
speekna said...
Thanks for mentioning that views C and D are exactly the same! Butterick should have recognized this & adjusted accordingly. RE the review - very complete & very helpful. Thanks!
1/31/14 5:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Burda 8807
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 2/23/04
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PR Member's Pattern Yoshimi\'s Tiered Skirt
photo
Review by jannw on 6/19/11
Read Review

McCalls 6569 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6569 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us