Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 3248 (Drop Pocket Cardigan) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 548 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:grays08
photo
Friend of PR
About grays08starstar
IL USA
Member since: 9/13/11
Reviews written: 93
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/12/13 2:19 PM
Last Updated:4/12/13 3:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
quathy said...
Really cute sweater! Thank you for the in-depth review!
4/12/13 3:20 PM
ArtAttack said...
It looks really cute on you! But you need to think so, too. Great pattern and review...try it with another fabric and maybe you'll love it but it's cute as is!
4/12/13 3:27 PM
julie w said...
Thank you for the detailed review and bringing this pattern to my attention. Love our cardigan and it is definitely not horrid.
4/12/13 6:06 PM
SewWil said...
I just got this pattern. I think yours is very nice but I know what you mean by not being in love with it. Give it some time. It may grow on you.
4/12/13 9:02 PM
Dee2 said...
I hope you start to enjoy wearing this as it is very cute, beautifully sewn, & looks very good on you!
4/12/13 9:57 PM
wendyrb said...
Nice review and you did we'll with your garment. Like how clearly you explained and showed the back neck binding. Beautifully done. As to top stitching the front edges. I'd try it on and try to find the break point like on a lapel- where does it want to turn? Mark that point and top stitch around with the neck side showing. Leave long thread tails and pull them inside between the fabric layers to hide them. Flip the garment over and starting where you left off go to the rest of the front edge into the pocket. Again, leave long threads and pul them between layers to bury them. Make sense?
4/12/13 11:02 PM
grays08 said...
Thanks everyone for the kind words. I have to admit, it is growing on me. =) I do think I will play around with some topstitching around the pocket just because my fabric wants to "poof" there at the top seam, but it's easy to rip out too if I don't like it. Thanks wendyrb, I follow you and appreciate the advice.
4/13/13 0:32 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Thanks for the great review on this very cute pattern. The droopy-droppy pockets are a nice touch on this cardigan and set it apart. It's VERY cute!
4/13/13 3:28 AM
JEF said...
Excellent excellent review! I think your cardi looks nice. Hope it grows on you.
4/13/13 7:00 AM
Sewmissy2 said...
Oh what a wonderful review! And remember your cardigan is just a plain white one. Make it in a different fabric and I think you will love it.
4/13/13 7:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This review was most helpful
4/13/13 8:54 AM
cleverkitty said...
Excellent review! I saw this but was not sure about it for the reasons you mentioned, I recently made a Jalie pattern from white knit fabric that reminds me of your cardigan. I was not crazy about it although I had made it many times in different prints. Something about it being white, I decided no more white fabric sewing. I admit when I wear it's a good basic. Make this cardigan your basic. I really appreciate your review :)
4/13/13 10:47 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I definitely think this needs another go now that you have ironed out the problems, well not problems but you know what I mean. I am going to refer back to your fantastic review now that I have decided to make this cardigan. Interesting to know about the sleeve having a bit more space too. We have skinny arms in our family so I liked the tighter fittings sleeve of the other cardi you mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to write this informative review.
4/13/13 10:34 PM
sewsue1 said...
Thanks for your very helpful review! I think yours looks great. Since I am a size V, too, it was nice to be on the lookout for the marking error. The cautions on fabric selection are absolutely true...the drapier the better!
4/14/13 9:47 AM
gsp1066 said...
I met Amelie (Jalie is her family's biz) at PR Weekend and tried on her version. She says that it works best for very drapey and comparatively heavy knits. Hers looked great on everyone who tried it on.
5/13/13 11:40 PM
Alison Cummins said...
Question: If I understand correctly, the whole front is double and then itís folded over again so the pocket area is four layers thick. Doesnít it feel unbalanced with the back being only a single layer?
9/13/13 5:30 PM
grays08 said...
Alison Cummins - You are correct however it never feels unbalanced when wearing (and I wear it a lot) but perhaps this is because my fabric is so light. I would definitely recommend lighterweight fabrics for that reason however.
9/14/13 8:39 AM
Alison Cummins said...
Thanks, grays08!
9/28/13 11:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6674
photo
Review by myeclectic... on 6/7/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6003 Misses' Skirts
photo
Review by ak21 on 10/9/13
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6709 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6709 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us