SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8884 (Misses Coat and Belt)

11 more reviews
Viewed 750 times 
Reviewed by:sarblakesl
photo

 
 
About sarblakeslstar
CO USA
Member since: 3/23/12
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/13 3:43 PM
Last Updated:4/20/13 9:04 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SavageCoco said...
Beautifully done. Really. You deserve a cocktail!
4/13/13 8:02 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking coat, I have the pattern and fabric to make a spring coat. Thanks for the helpful review.
4/13/13 10:40 PM
TinaLea said...
I saw the pictures of the other patterns you have sewn in addition to this one, you do beautiful work! (And I want to know what type of leg workout you do, seriously. You look great!!!!)
4/13/13 11:03 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
This is fantastic- a really beautiful coat. Congratulations!
4/13/13 11:05 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Classy coat, you will enjoy this for many seasons, and maybe get hooked on coat making, as some of us have ;)
4/14/13 2:23 AM
ChristmasHills said...
They look like cycling muscles to me. Lovely coat and some beautiful other pieces too as TinaLea said.
4/14/13 3:59 AM
dolcevita said...
Lovely coat - I have just made this in a cotton gabardine, but wasn't thrilled with the outcome as the fit wasn't as streamlined as I was expecting. Thanks for the helpful review - I'll go down a size for the next one.
4/14/13 5:09 AM
Westy85 said...
Love the colour and the jacket style looks great!
4/14/13 6:42 AM
pamscott said...
Beautiful coat. Looks great on you :0)
4/14/13 8:14 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a wonderful jacket you've made!
4/14/13 8:57 AM
sarblakesl said...
Thanks ladies! I am pretty proud of myself and how it turned out. I feel pictures don't really do it justice. Thanks for the compliments on my other work (and my legs, haha). I have been sewing clothing for a year now and have benefited so much from this site. I am now at a point where I feel comfortable adding my 2 cents to the table, so I will be adding more reviews in the future. To answer your question Tina - I do a lot of running, hiking, and biking here in the beautiful Colorado outdoors :)
4/14/13 12:14 PM
Legal.Dealer said...
After reading the review I needed more pics! Thank you for adding them to you Flickr. This is a great coat. What u said about the armholes makes perfect sense as I think of the little house on the prairie tv show they had high torso /skinny arms on dresses and overcoats for homesteading! How long did it take u to make this up? I haven't conquered the coat yet...
4/14/13 5:19 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
What a beautiful job you did on your coat! Great color and styling!
4/14/13 6:11 PM
sarblakesl said...
Legal.Dealer - this took me a good week to complete even though I have a lot of time to sew at the moment. I probably put in close to 40 hours into it to make sure everything was the way I liked it. I must have tried on the coat and played with different button, belt, and shoulder pad arrangements a couple dozen times. I understand what you are saying about the Little House on the Prairie look. I wish Vogue patterns didn't have such generous arm holes. Oh well, it's relatively easy to adapt patterns. I was careful to take out the same amount of ease from the arms as I took from the body and it worked just fine. This project was definitely more involved than some of my past projects, but was really no more difficult at all.
4/14/13 7:57 PM
Joyatee said...
This looks wonderful on you! Perfect styling choices, and it's so versatile. Great job!
4/15/13 1:00 AM
Bonnie O said...
Nicely done! Looks terrific on you.
4/17/13 8:23 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket looks beautiful. You did a superb job!
4/17/13 9:25 PM
marthamyers said...
Congratulations on your new jacket! It looks fabulous.
4/18/13 7:40 AM
sarah121haras said...
Very nice!
4/20/13 9:55 AM
Paris75008 said...
It's absolutely gorgeous! Great job on the fit, your hard work paid off. Love the lining.
4/20/13 2:51 PM
kerrymay said...
Looks very neat and stylish, I spent about 40 hours on mine which has more of a summer look to it
4/26/13 5:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 8831

photo
by: annie11

Review
Butterick Free

photo
by: HanPanda

Review
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now