Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8884 (Misses Coat and Belt) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 717 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:sarblakesl
photo
About sarblakeslstar
CO USA
Member since: 3/23/12
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/13 3:43 PM
Last Updated:4/20/13 9:04 AM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SavageCoco said...
Beautifully done. Really. You deserve a cocktail!
4/13/13 8:02 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking coat, I have the pattern and fabric to make a spring coat. Thanks for the helpful review.
4/13/13 10:40 PM
TinaLea said...
I saw the pictures of the other patterns you have sewn in addition to this one, you do beautiful work! (And I want to know what type of leg workout you do, seriously. You look great!!!!)
4/13/13 11:03 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
This is fantastic- a really beautiful coat. Congratulations!
4/13/13 11:05 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Classy coat, you will enjoy this for many seasons, and maybe get hooked on coat making, as some of us have ;)
4/14/13 2:23 AM
ChristmasHills said...
They look like cycling muscles to me. Lovely coat and some beautiful other pieces too as TinaLea said.
4/14/13 3:59 AM
dolcevita said...
Lovely coat - I have just made this in a cotton gabardine, but wasn't thrilled with the outcome as the fit wasn't as streamlined as I was expecting. Thanks for the helpful review - I'll go down a size for the next one.
4/14/13 5:09 AM
Westy85 said...
Love the colour and the jacket style looks great!
4/14/13 6:42 AM
pamscott said...
Beautiful coat. Looks great on you :0)
4/14/13 8:14 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a wonderful jacket you've made!
4/14/13 8:57 AM
sarblakesl said...
Thanks ladies! I am pretty proud of myself and how it turned out. I feel pictures don't really do it justice. Thanks for the compliments on my other work (and my legs, haha). I have been sewing clothing for a year now and have benefited so much from this site. I am now at a point where I feel comfortable adding my 2 cents to the table, so I will be adding more reviews in the future. To answer your question Tina - I do a lot of running, hiking, and biking here in the beautiful Colorado outdoors :)
4/14/13 12:14 PM
Legal.Dealer said...
After reading the review I needed more pics! Thank you for adding them to you Flickr. This is a great coat. What u said about the armholes makes perfect sense as I think of the little house on the prairie tv show they had high torso /skinny arms on dresses and overcoats for homesteading! How long did it take u to make this up? I haven't conquered the coat yet...
4/14/13 5:19 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
What a beautiful job you did on your coat! Great color and styling!
4/14/13 6:11 PM
sarblakesl said...
Legal.Dealer - this took me a good week to complete even though I have a lot of time to sew at the moment. I probably put in close to 40 hours into it to make sure everything was the way I liked it. I must have tried on the coat and played with different button, belt, and shoulder pad arrangements a couple dozen times. I understand what you are saying about the Little House on the Prairie look. I wish Vogue patterns didn't have such generous arm holes. Oh well, it's relatively easy to adapt patterns. I was careful to take out the same amount of ease from the arms as I took from the body and it worked just fine. This project was definitely more involved than some of my past projects, but was really no more difficult at all.
4/14/13 7:57 PM
Joyatee said...
This looks wonderful on you! Perfect styling choices, and it's so versatile. Great job!
4/15/13 1:00 AM
Bonnie O said...
Nicely done! Looks terrific on you.
4/17/13 8:23 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket looks beautiful. You did a superb job!
4/17/13 9:25 PM
marthamyers said...
Congratulations on your new jacket! It looks fabulous.
4/18/13 7:40 AM
sarah121haras said...
Very nice!
4/20/13 9:55 AM
Paris75008 said...
It's absolutely gorgeous! Great job on the fit, your hard work paid off. Love the lining.
4/20/13 2:51 PM
kerrymay said...
Looks very neat and stylish, I spent about 40 hours on mine which has more of a summer look to it
4/26/13 5:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sew Beautiful Magazine 07-2006
photo
Review by Wendy Hahn on 6/20/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4738
photo
Review by strasfamil... on 5/20/07
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2471 Pattern
Burda 2471 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us