SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8884 (Misses Coat and Belt)

11 more reviews
Viewed 750 times 
Reviewed by:sarblakesl
photo

 
 
About sarblakeslstar
CO USA
Member since: 3/23/12
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/13 3:43 PM
Last Updated:4/20/13 9:04 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SavageCoco said...
Beautifully done. Really. You deserve a cocktail!
4/13/13 8:02 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking coat, I have the pattern and fabric to make a spring coat. Thanks for the helpful review.
4/13/13 10:40 PM
TinaLea said...
I saw the pictures of the other patterns you have sewn in addition to this one, you do beautiful work! (And I want to know what type of leg workout you do, seriously. You look great!!!!)
4/13/13 11:03 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
This is fantastic- a really beautiful coat. Congratulations!
4/13/13 11:05 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Classy coat, you will enjoy this for many seasons, and maybe get hooked on coat making, as some of us have ;)
4/14/13 2:23 AM
ChristmasHills said...
They look like cycling muscles to me. Lovely coat and some beautiful other pieces too as TinaLea said.
4/14/13 3:59 AM
dolcevita said...
Lovely coat - I have just made this in a cotton gabardine, but wasn't thrilled with the outcome as the fit wasn't as streamlined as I was expecting. Thanks for the helpful review - I'll go down a size for the next one.
4/14/13 5:09 AM
Westy85 said...
Love the colour and the jacket style looks great!
4/14/13 6:42 AM
pamscott said...
Beautiful coat. Looks great on you :0)
4/14/13 8:14 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a wonderful jacket you've made!
4/14/13 8:57 AM
sarblakesl said...
Thanks ladies! I am pretty proud of myself and how it turned out. I feel pictures don't really do it justice. Thanks for the compliments on my other work (and my legs, haha). I have been sewing clothing for a year now and have benefited so much from this site. I am now at a point where I feel comfortable adding my 2 cents to the table, so I will be adding more reviews in the future. To answer your question Tina - I do a lot of running, hiking, and biking here in the beautiful Colorado outdoors :)
4/14/13 12:14 PM
Legal.Dealer said...
After reading the review I needed more pics! Thank you for adding them to you Flickr. This is a great coat. What u said about the armholes makes perfect sense as I think of the little house on the prairie tv show they had high torso /skinny arms on dresses and overcoats for homesteading! How long did it take u to make this up? I haven't conquered the coat yet...
4/14/13 5:19 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
What a beautiful job you did on your coat! Great color and styling!
4/14/13 6:11 PM
sarblakesl said...
Legal.Dealer - this took me a good week to complete even though I have a lot of time to sew at the moment. I probably put in close to 40 hours into it to make sure everything was the way I liked it. I must have tried on the coat and played with different button, belt, and shoulder pad arrangements a couple dozen times. I understand what you are saying about the Little House on the Prairie look. I wish Vogue patterns didn't have such generous arm holes. Oh well, it's relatively easy to adapt patterns. I was careful to take out the same amount of ease from the arms as I took from the body and it worked just fine. This project was definitely more involved than some of my past projects, but was really no more difficult at all.
4/14/13 7:57 PM
Joyatee said...
This looks wonderful on you! Perfect styling choices, and it's so versatile. Great job!
4/15/13 1:00 AM
Bonnie O said...
Nicely done! Looks terrific on you.
4/17/13 8:23 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket looks beautiful. You did a superb job!
4/17/13 9:25 PM
marthamyers said...
Congratulations on your new jacket! It looks fabulous.
4/18/13 7:40 AM
sarah121haras said...
Very nice!
4/20/13 9:55 AM
Paris75008 said...
It's absolutely gorgeous! Great job on the fit, your hard work paid off. Love the lining.
4/20/13 2:51 PM
kerrymay said...
Looks very neat and stylish, I spent about 40 hours on mine which has more of a summer look to it
4/26/13 5:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now