Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4596 (Misses lined jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1707 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:ChrisK
photo
Friend of PR
About ChrisKstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 2/28/04
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:05 AM
Last Updated:3/8/05 3:38 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Nice jacket! This pattern looks very versatile. Sounds like your fabric could have benefitted from block fusing before cutting. I hope you will give this pattern another go, now that you know how to put it together.
3/8/05 3:49 PM
Hilary said...
Your jacket looks wonderful! The zipper looks perfect-glad it finally worked out right! I have this pattern too, and have yet to try it. I appreciate the review!
3/8/05 5:05 PM
KarenP said...
This would be a good pattern for me to duplicate one of my beloved jackets - thanks for pointing it out! Your jacket looks great!
3/8/05 7:23 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a great looking jacket. Thanks for the review. What kind of fabric will you use for the next time?
3/8/05 8:33 PM
Tiner W said...
This is a great looking jacket!
3/8/05 9:06 PM
PVA said...
Thank you for this review -- I think your jacket is wonderful! I agree that the princess seams for jackets make it possible to really refine the fit. I'm sure you are going to enjoy this one!
3/8/05 10:39 PM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful jacket! It's very flattering on you.
3/9/05 4:16 AM
AnneM said...
Nice jacket; very smart looking. Good tip on your sleeve head solution.
3/9/05 5:19 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely jacket.
3/9/05 7:15 AM
marjenann said...
Very good looking jacket!!! Geat for any wardrobe!!!!
3/9/05 7:16 AM
MaryBeth said...
Nice jacket style, ChrisK,
3/9/05 12:42 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I really, really like this style, and may have to pick this one up. I especially like that it can be both lengths! Yours looks great.
3/9/05 3:20 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
The Kwik Sew 2896 pattern does not include a lining, so this McCall pattern would be a better choice for a loosely woven or scratchy fabric. I love the vertical seaming and your classic fabric choice.
11/21/05 1:26 PM
Sewliz said...
Your jacket fits beautifully and I like the fabric for the style. I like the princess seams on this pattern and have been considering making it, but your notes on the perhaps minor drafting and instruction problems of this pattern I think I might try a similar Burda mag one instead. Thanks for a nice review.
2/4/06 4:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Burda 8438 Dress
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 3/17/13
Read Review

PerfectFuse Light Black
PerfectFuse Light Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6421
photo
Review by sewamazin on 4/20/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3688 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3688 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1647 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1647 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us