Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Pattern Magic 2 (Like a Jungle ) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 222 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:divabuddha
photo
About divabuddhastarstar
NC USA
Member since: 5/9/12
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/14/13 7:00 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Fabulous fun! I love it!
4/14/13 8:18 PM
velosewer said...
Thanks for sharing your Pattern Magic adventure. It isn't that hard once you try one. I like how you've made your version work for you. The pattern pieces you've drafted are perfect. I had to play with my bamboo bodice as a muslin and them got the real version made. This is a great achievement on your part.
4/14/13 11:17 PM
SJ Kurtz said...
You are so right about the "make your own adventure" aspect to these books. And love your attitude and your writing! More!
4/14/13 11:50 PM
lamstu said...
What a fun and interesting project! I hope you will make a 'real' version - truly a completely unique dress. Thanks for sharing your process!
4/15/13 4:00 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Very cool! This is one of the designs we did on the PM course I took, but I never thought it'd be practical on a front but you made it work! I always envisioned it on a bodice back.
4/15/13 9:34 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Wow! My mouth was literally hanging open in awe as I read your review and looked at your pics. I think it looks AMAZING and can't wait to see a finished dress on you!
4/15/13 4:13 PM
Claverie said...
Wha?!? You went for a *really* tough project w/Pattern Magic and then comment on difficulty with Simplicity 1650?! 1650 was easy ... and yet you managed with great insight to complete the very intimidating 'Jungle'. ?? So glad you did this review, as I'm sure I'll refer to it often when I gain the confidence to give it a go.
4/15/13 5:54 PM
divabuddha said...
Oh my goodness Claverie...You are so right. 1650 is easy, but the sizing and fit (on me) was a nightmare. I really didn't feel like going back and recutting/sewing so I tried this for fun. Thanks again for all your comments...I really just like to sew, but this was a big accomplishment for me. :)
4/15/13 6:39 PM
becca a said...
What a neat idea--it looks like a lot of fun.
4/15/13 7:56 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Very cool! Im just embarking on my first Pattern Magic so I enjoyed your progress!
4/11/14 6:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

New Look 6953 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by katlew03 on 12/12/11
Read Review

McCalls 6225 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6225 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6530 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6530 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Reisebegleiter
photo
Review by GlobalMom on 2/19/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us