SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7975 (Jacket)

61 more reviews
Viewed 1888 times 
Reviewed by:MarilynB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MarilynBstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/31/02
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/05 3:12 PM
Last Updated:3/11/05 5:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Lovely jacket and great review. Your jacket looks so professionally made. Beautiful.
3/11/05 3:19 PM
MarilynB said...
Thank you. That is quite a compliment coming from you.
3/11/05 3:45 PM
Portia Hirschman said...
I've now made this jacket three times. In denium, boucle and lightweight wool. I agree about the sleeves being a little snug. At the same time, I found the upper chest to be too large--thank heavens for the princess seaming--was an easy adjustment to make. You did a wonderful job with the pockets! Nice jacket!
3/11/05 4:00 PM
CarolynGM said...
You did a great job on this jacket -- it looks quite classy. You covered the problems with the pattern instructions quite well -- I've made this pattern twice and noticed most of these same issues. I also had the same problem as Portia with the fit in the upper chest, but I think I should have used size smaller.
3/11/05 6:36 PM
PVA said...
Very professional job -- thanks for the review! I too think the pockets look just perfect!
3/11/05 8:08 PM
AnneM said...
You jacket is very nice, much nicer than the pattern drawings. Glad you were able to get a nice jacket out of the pattern.
3/12/05 6:51 AM
Tiner W said...
Your jacket looks beautiful! I have this pattern and plan to tackle it after Easter, so I appreciate the info about the sleeves and fit. I agree with your comment about the fake pockets!
3/12/05 8:21 AM
marjenann said...
Great looking jacket. Well worth the time and effort. I loved your review too!!!! Lots of very helpful tips and advise!
3/12/05 8:51 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Perfect!
3/12/05 8:58 AM
drsue said...
What a fabulous job!
3/12/05 10:00 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful jacket! I was encouraged to give Vogue another tryn after a bad run with confusing instructions on them years ago and did so with this one. Wouldn't you know that this one has mixed-up instructions? It is well worth it for the nice design, though. I really love your version!
3/12/05 10:59 AM
KarmenG said...
Hey Marilyn! - a gorgeous suit - you did a beautiful job. I enjoyed your informative reivew.
3/12/05 6:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice jacket. Looks very classic.
3/12/05 9:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Kwik Sew 3779

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
Amy Butler AB043HR

photo
by: CMae

Review
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now