SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5112 (Shawl Collar Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 3129 times 
Reviewed by:Londa Rohlfing
photo

 
 
About Londa Rohlfingstar
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/05 3:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Alice Farnsworth said...
this is my correction of first rating. I mistakenly clicked on the wrong rating the first time I read the review.
3/7/09 11:31 PM
Alice Farnsworth said...
I clicked on the wrong button first time around. This is the correction.
3/7/09 11:27 PM
tonybeeo said...
Thank you so much for your review of this rather puzzling pattern. I discovered this website today in my search for an answer about how to construct the shawl collar. I worked on it all last evening and the instructions made absolutely no sense. But, your comments and pictures have shown me the light! And, I might add, have always loved Loes Hinse patterns for their simplicity!
4/1/07 1:43 PM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Someone had asked about the comparison of the Shawl Collar Jacket collar with the Kimono Jacket Collar - As I'm writing my Londa's 2 Cents on the Shawl Jacket this morning, I pulled them out to compare... 1. The Kimono Jacket is wide, and meant to fold on itself in half depth wise - and folds back completely form the neck edge. It is cut straight - so it is bound to stand up some at the back of the neck. I haven't made this one yet. Looking at it though, instead of making it a double thickness, onoe could cut it half as wide, or maybe a tad more - and fray that outer edge. Speaking of frayed edges - got a hoot out of seeing 'frayed' trim for sale with the like fabric at Hancock's. Do they really think we aren't smart enough to take a strip, fring it ourselves, and insert in the seam??? Oh wel... 2. The Shawl Collar Jacket has more shape to the body, and interesting subtle shaping to the front edge - not so on the Kimono Jacket. Shawl also has a shorter version - the 'short' one on the Kimono is quite long. 3. Both constructions have that seam of joining the collar exposed inside the jacket - quick, but not to my taste....
3/16/05 8:33 AM
shard said...
I love how you chose to handle the collar by tucking, rather than re-drafting the undercollar. It adds a subtle detail that still takes the eye right to the top of the garment -- and because it's stitched that way, it's totally controlled so the look will be reliable. (I hate having to futz with things to make them lie right.) Thank you so much for the informative review -- and lesson!
3/13/05 1:25 PM
Mariella said...
Londa, so glad someone has reviewed this pattern. I just got it and was looking at it today and realized that while Loes refers to Point A and Point B in the instructions, there are no corresponding markings on the pattern. I too find the instructions a bit of a muddle and I think I'll be referring to your review a lot if/when I get around to making this pattern.
3/12/05 7:02 PM
beezy said...
What a fabulous and fashionable jacket. You did a marvelous job! The color is gorgeous!
3/12/05 10:31 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Londa, that is just beautiful. I agree with you about LH's directions. Minimal doesn't begin to describe them in many cases. I didn't see it in your review - how is the ease in the sleeve? I've had real problems with her sleeves before (not enough ease). Is this pattern similar? -Ann
3/12/05 9:56 AM
Pat T said...
Whoops -- I meant the Bolero rather than Kimono -- I think the Bolero and Shall patterns look very similar except for the collar. I like LH patterns since I'm narrow in the upper body -- they fit me better with fewer adjustments than most.
3/12/05 7:27 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Thanks, everyone! :) Pat - I'll look and report later today. This isn't the jacket with the dimple problems - it is another one that is a sweater to a sweater set (shell is Monaco Shell in solid). It will get 'pressed totally' today. Kinda anxious to try my total solution now... Don't let this experience put you off from Hinse patterns - she has many good ones, and quite a 'following' for quick, EZ fashionable garments...
3/12/05 7:17 AM
Pat T said...
Londa: how different is this pattern from the Kimono Jacket and its instructions? Could I just redraft the collar a bit o the Kimono and have the same look?
3/12/05 7:06 AM
AnneM said...
You certainly got a stunning jacket from you efforts.
3/12/05 6:53 AM
tigger said...
Great review - love the outcome even though it seemed very painful! Thanks for the tips - not sure I'm ready to give this pattern a try after reading your problems - thanks for the forewarning.
3/12/05 3:05 AM
PVA said...
Oh, my, what a beautiful result! I saw your post about the dimples on the message board & I certainly "felt your pain!" However, with such a beautiful jacket in hand I'm sure the pain has passed by now! I think your ideas about reducing the bulk in the under-collar are really "spot-on" as they say. Thanks for the review!
3/11/05 8:15 PM
drsue said...
I just love your fabric and trim choices in this! How clever and creatived you are!
3/11/05 7:20 PM
Georgene said...
Saw a bunch of these down at the LH shop in Carmel recently. I didn't really 'get' the tucks in the collar. Not like any shawl collar I've seen...."Draped Collar" or "Tucked Collar" would have been more apt, as a name for this style. Her fabrics were knit and soft, but less bulky than the minkee. Might be better in a more structured texture knit with no high bulk 'fur' finish to it. And yeah, lose the tucks on the inside of the collar piece while you are at it.
3/11/05 4:50 PM
MagpieJen said...
Gorgeous jacket! Thanks for the detailed review, I've never tried a Loes Hinse pattern before and now I feel fore-armed.
3/11/05 4:24 PM
Gilraen Surion said...
Love the jacket I think be fabric looks so nice and wamr. Colour is really amazing
3/11/05 4:21 PM
MarthaH said...
I love your rendition, but if *you* had problems with it I *know* I would.
3/11/05 4:14 PM
BjP said...
Beautiful outcome....love the color and the fabric. Good review!
3/11/05 4:09 PM
j222b said...
Lovely. I would have liked a jacket like this, but I would not attempt this pattern after your review. LOL. What the heck are these designers thinking??
3/11/05 4:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-127

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review