SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3098 (Misses' skirts)

11 more reviews
Viewed 3220 times 
Reviewed by:superfurry
photo

 
 
About superfurrystar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 2/5/05
Reviews: 2 (patterns: 2)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/05 9:22 AM
Last Updated:4/7/10 3:33 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dove29 said... (6/19/08 10:42 PM) Reply
Your skirt turned out really nice! I like this pattern. I made it once out of denim that I think was too heavy. I had trouble with the lapped zipper too - perhaps because of the heavy fabric. I ripped it out twice then gave up and did a centered zipper. I'm going to try it again in a different fabric, which might work better.
Chris Kelly said... (2/10/06 7:51 AM) Reply
I love the trim. Great job! Thanks for the review.
Lori V said... (2/9/06 9:56 AM) Reply
Very prett skirt, love the ruffle trim.
casken said... (3/14/05 8:07 AM) Reply
Beautiful job! Thank you for your great review. Also, thank you for posting your blogsite on your profile. I have been searching for a sewing blogger. If you would like, you can check out mine, www.dayhome.ca/blog/ I don't always write about my sewing though. When I do, I always include pictures. Again, Thank you!!!
SewingSusan said... (3/14/05 6:49 AM) Reply
One of my favorite skirt patterns. I LOVE your addition of the gathered organza ribbon. Great job.
PixieCat said... (3/14/05 4:26 AM) Reply
This skirt looks so nice on you. I don't think the trim is overkill at all. It looks very nice.
Hilary said... (3/13/05 5:26 PM) Reply
Excellent review! I really like your skirt, it's so cute! It looks good on you. I like the organza ruffle and the ribbon trim above. Thanks for the review!
superfurry said... (3/13/05 5:24 PM) Reply
thanks for all the encouraging comments and a big *wave* to the uk pr-ers.
tigger said... (3/13/05 1:44 PM) Reply
Great review and the skirt turned out great too! Good to see someone else here on my timeline! :)
Gigi Louis said... (3/13/05 1:26 PM) Reply
Very cute! Your skirt might stand out more due because of the trim but I think it's very pretty on you! I like the way you added one row of plain ribbon above the ruffles. That's so unexpected and really adds a lot to the design.
Leslie in Austin said... (3/13/05 12:55 PM) Reply
Good call on the trim and very nice work on the zipper. It looks really great! Can't wait to see more reviews from you.
jlg said... (3/13/05 12:18 PM) Reply
Very cute skirt. I love the ruffle and trim details.
ChrisK said... (3/13/05 11:56 AM) Reply
Oh, that is a pretty skirt and looks very good on you. The zip application is very neat, and I love the trim you have used. I think the colour is nice and in the summer will look super when your legs are tanned. Its great to welcome another active UK member!
Peggy L said... (3/13/05 11:20 AM) Reply
This looks great - love your details! You did a great job on your review, also. It's hard to believe this is one of your first projects.
Patti B said... (3/13/05 10:56 AM) Reply
Very nice skirt -- love your details! I think that KS sizing runs a bit large (usually). Their directions are normally so good that I'm surprised that the zipper directions weren't clear. Your zipper looks perfect.
redhead said... (3/13/05 9:56 AM) Reply
Thanks for your review. I really appreciate getting a beginner's perspective on this, because I just recommended this pattern last week to a friend who has never sewn a garment but refuses to start with an elastic-waist skirt like the rest of us did. This pattern meets all of her style criteria, but it also sounds like we can do this.
BjP said... (3/13/05 9:39 AM) Reply
Thanks for your very well-written and helpful 1st review! Cute skirt and sounds like you learned a lot throughout your project.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Simplicity 9891

photo
by: flyingwind...

Review
McCall's 5239

photo
by: Sarah Liz

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Pattern Details
The Essential Tote Paper Pattern

The Essential Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details