Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kayla Kennington: 425 (Cross Over Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2081 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Annika
photo
Friend of PR
About Annikastar
WA USA
Member since: 11/14/03
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/05 4:30 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Annika, your top is absolutely beautiful. Good job.
3/13/05 4:43 PM
els said...
Annika you look good in your new cross over top, the color combination is great.
3/13/05 5:01 PM
Rebecca D said...
Lovely top and it looks wonderful on you. It's great to see this on someone. Thanks for this review and the sizing info.
3/13/05 5:18 PM
Hilary said...
Your top is *gorgeous*!!! I love the color w/ the black bands-yours looks so much better than the pattern photo/drawing. I think it was wise to cut down on the width and length. I can't imagine that all that extra width/length would be flattering; this looks very good on you. Thanks for the review!
3/13/05 5:19 PM
Irene said...
You and your top look wonderful. I treated myself to this pattern for my birthday, measured the pieces, and was thoroughly stumped as to what size I should make to get the "right" ease for me. Your comments reinforce my inclination to try a smaller size.
3/13/05 5:19 PM
Mini said...
Beautiful! That pattern cover is so unappealing I would never have guessed the finished product would look so nice.
3/13/05 5:25 PM
drsue said...
Such a pretty top!
3/13/05 5:51 PM
Izzie said...
Beautiful top! You look great in it!
3/13/05 5:56 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your top is so beautiful. I love your color combinations. Thank you for the review. I always wondered how oversized her patterns would run. Thanks for saying how much ease !!
3/13/05 7:05 PM
MaryBeth said...
Very good looking! I have this pattern so I do appreciate the heads up on how large it really is.
3/13/05 11:18 PM
Gilraen Surion said...
Absolutely amazing. Great top!
3/13/05 11:21 PM
Annika said...
Irene - I had the same problem - I couldn't figure out how to alter it to fit me, since I didn't know how big it would be on my body, nor how well it would drape, given the material, etc. When I first tried it on, it fell to my knees and was so wide I thought about giving it to a friend of mine who is taller and larger than I am. Then I decided to chop out 2 inches on the 2 seams that run down the front and back (not the side seams where the sleeves are attached) and take off 4 inches off the bottom. My current bust size is 46 inches, even though I wear a 42 cup, and the XXL was simply much too large - the XXL would fit a gal with a bust size of 50 or so, I think. Incidentally, the wider you make this, the less it drapes well, and the more fabric you are swaddled in in the front, because the front pieces cross over eachother.
3/14/05 0:04 AM
Vibek said...
Lovely top. Very feminine lines without being frilly. Do you experience any .. eh .. "hammock" effect at all?
3/14/05 0:05 AM
Irene said...
Annika, Kayla shows the layout on p. 67 of Threads #117 (still current in my area), so I can see just what you're referring to. The model's top is rather baggy, whereas the fit on yours (which I prefer) resembles the denim version on the dressform on Kayla's web site. I asked Kayla about fit for me (4'9", Kwik Sew S-M, Loes Hinse XS-S), and she assured me that this pattern is easy to alter. I'll try to be in an experimental frame of mind when I tackle mine--with cheap fabric, first!
3/14/05 1:00 AM
SewingSusan said...
Just lovely. The color really works for you.
3/14/05 6:55 AM
AnneM said...
Cut top, nice color on you.
3/14/05 8:25 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Annika, you look great. That color is priceless on you, as you know. (Nice haircut too!) The velveteen trim and the rose jacquard (?) raise the bar on this top. I like the asym hem--so interesting. This pattern is designed to waste extra fabric and make women feel trim ("I have to take in AGAIN!"). Or perhaps it is a subtle social movmement to keep women at their sewing machines as they take in & take in; hence the sizing issues. :) Keep the wrap tops coming till someone complains (like Debbie Cook had with her son!)
3/14/05 8:40 AM
MariaDenmark said...
Beautyfull top, Annika - it looks great on you!
3/14/05 9:23 AM
CatherineN said...
Do you think this could be made without a serger? Interesting and pretty!
6/12/05 2:06 PM
ReneeS said...
Just bought the pattern and am so glad to find this review before making this top! Am very tall and wondered about the placement of the tie holes (don't want to have it look unflattering if the tie holes are up too high for me). The photograph is extremely helpful and am very grateful that it was included in this review. Thanks for the much needed sizing info, too. You made a great looking top - the color combination is extremely beautiful.
11/2/05 9:34 AM
suanne said...
hve you sewn the perrenial pants #721 by Kayla?
1/3/07 2:33 PM
Daydreamer said...
Looks great on you! I love Kayla's seam techniques!
5/7/07 9:01 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
I'd love to hear about those modular designs. I want to do the Fantasia Jacket, but think it is probably too hard for me.
11/22/07 9:18 AM
Carrabeg said...
I am about to make one of Kayla Kennington patterns Fantasia and I was wondering how these patterns fits.
1/28/08 2:26 PM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks! Very helpful review.
4/14/09 10:30 AM
Kayla Kennington said...
Lovely, sorry you had to cut it down for size; I will review my sizing for this piece....it should be a closer fit than some of my other patterns, even as the ties determine some of the fit and for grading purposes; as the size goes up the length must increase as well. However, you may have gotten an older version of the pattern; I have re-done most of my patterns this past year; they have updated cover illustrations, they are printed on bond paper (for multiple use), a few have new instructions, and I have made alterations in cut where necessary. Please DO let me know if you find an error, I am printing "on-demand" and can make changes immediately. Thanks for your review, Kayla
5/17/09 3:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-3 Ottobre
photo
Review by blue moone... on 6/29/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )
Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4589 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 3/22/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us