Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4698 (Jacket with Front Variations) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1825 times 31 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:kateconspiracy
photo
About kateconspiracy
MD USA
Member since: 10/19/04
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/05 6:44 PM
Last Updated:3/13/05 6:53 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Very, *very* cool! I am so glad you reviewed this! I am getting this pattern asap-this is exactly what I was looking for-and it's great to know it has a choice of bust cup too-what huge difference that will make! I love the cuff w/ the buttons, that looks really good. What kind of belt did you add to the back? Thanks again. Great review!
3/13/05 6:55 PM
eleda said...
Thanks for the great review. Your jacket is perfect! I have this pattern and your review has prompted me to get fabric for this pattern. Do you have a reference book for how to do the type of lining construction that you used?
3/13/05 7:37 PM
KitnRose said...
I love your new blazer too!
3/13/05 7:39 PM
Skye said...
really nice blazer like the fabirc too. I dont usually look at Simplicty patterns but if they are giving different cup sizes I might have a peak - would save time doing fba's Thanks for the review
3/13/05 8:24 PM
kateconspiracy said...
I added a picture of the belt at the back on this page. Thanks for the compliments! As far as the lining, I didn't have a reference or anything, but I think if you read the instructions you'll see what I mean. The jacket is lined in the front and half-way in the back. So the front lining is sewn into the side seam. I just did it by machine instead of by hand. The difference in if you do it by hand, you cover up some of the raw edges. But you also have to spend a lot of time hand sewing, and you can finished the edges other ways. As far as the hem, I just tuck the lining into the garment hem when I sew it, instead of sewing the hem and then handsewing the lining later.
3/13/05 8:27 PM
Jackie M said...
Fabulous! Was perusing this pattern last night as I plan to make one of the jackets. Love the cuff detail! I recently made my first jacket out of corduroy (Wide-whale), and I agree -- what a pain easing the sleeve was ...
3/13/05 8:56 PM
KiwiWendy said...
a great review. I love the design changes you've made to the pattern.
3/14/05 0:49 AM
jlg said...
Very nice jacket. Great details that you added. The pockets particularly look beautifully done.
3/14/05 5:00 AM
AnneM said...
Not surprising you love your new blazer; it came out great! Great details you added.
3/14/05 8:50 AM
KarenP said...
I love your jacket and your review is very helpful. It's great to know it includes different cup sizes. I've been looking for a pattern to make a velvet jacket and this one looks like a good option.
3/14/05 2:40 PM
lynndieloo said...
Cool Jacket! I'm glad you recommended it, because I was looking for a good jacket pattern.
3/24/05 3:47 PM
Emmetropia* said...
Great jacket! I bought this pattern based in the reviews on here and the fact that I won't have to do a FBA on it! Hurrah! I really hope this is something Simplicity will be doing more often in the future.
4/1/05 4:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 3609
photo
Review by BlossomKyl... on 10/4/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Oversized Fashionista Bag
photo
Review by Sewphistic... on 2/12/11
Read Review

McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us