SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4698 (Jacket with Front Variations)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1825 times 
Reviewed by:kateconspiracy
photo

 
 
About kateconspiracy
MD USA
Member since: 10/19/04
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/05 6:44 PM
Last Updated:3/13/05 6:53 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Very, *very* cool! I am so glad you reviewed this! I am getting this pattern asap-this is exactly what I was looking for-and it's great to know it has a choice of bust cup too-what huge difference that will make! I love the cuff w/ the buttons, that looks really good. What kind of belt did you add to the back? Thanks again. Great review!
3/13/05 6:55 PM
eleda said...
Thanks for the great review. Your jacket is perfect! I have this pattern and your review has prompted me to get fabric for this pattern. Do you have a reference book for how to do the type of lining construction that you used?
3/13/05 7:37 PM
KitnRose said...
I love your new blazer too!
3/13/05 7:39 PM
Skye said...
really nice blazer like the fabirc too. I dont usually look at Simplicty patterns but if they are giving different cup sizes I might have a peak - would save time doing fba's Thanks for the review
3/13/05 8:24 PM
kateconspiracy said...
I added a picture of the belt at the back on this page. Thanks for the compliments! As far as the lining, I didn't have a reference or anything, but I think if you read the instructions you'll see what I mean. The jacket is lined in the front and half-way in the back. So the front lining is sewn into the side seam. I just did it by machine instead of by hand. The difference in if you do it by hand, you cover up some of the raw edges. But you also have to spend a lot of time hand sewing, and you can finished the edges other ways. As far as the hem, I just tuck the lining into the garment hem when I sew it, instead of sewing the hem and then handsewing the lining later.
3/13/05 8:27 PM
Jackie M said...
Fabulous! Was perusing this pattern last night as I plan to make one of the jackets. Love the cuff detail! I recently made my first jacket out of corduroy (Wide-whale), and I agree -- what a pain easing the sleeve was ...
3/13/05 8:56 PM
KiwiWendy said...
a great review. I love the design changes you've made to the pattern.
3/14/05 0:49 AM
jlg said...
Very nice jacket. Great details that you added. The pockets particularly look beautifully done.
3/14/05 5:00 AM
AnneM said...
Not surprising you love your new blazer; it came out great! Great details you added.
3/14/05 8:50 AM
KarenP said...
I love your jacket and your review is very helpful. It's great to know it includes different cup sizes. I've been looking for a pattern to make a velvet jacket and this one looks like a good option.
3/14/05 2:40 PM
lynndieloo said...
Cool Jacket! I'm glad you recommended it, because I was looking for a good jacket pattern.
3/24/05 3:47 PM
Emmetropia* said...
Great jacket! I bought this pattern based in the reviews on here and the fact that I won't have to do a FBA on it! Hurrah! I really hope this is something Simplicity will be doing more often in the future.
4/1/05 4:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-18

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-121

photo
by: redsilvia

Review