SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Grainline Studio> 31004 (Archer Shirt)

67 more reviews
Viewed 895 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 342
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 341
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:4/25/13 11:43 AM
Last Updated:2/10/14 7:47 PM
Project Photo:Grainline Studio: 31004 by Lori V

Pattern Photo:Grainline Studio 31004
Grainline Studio Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $10.80 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: Digital Patterns  
Edit 2-10-14 another plaid Archer for me - flannel from Mood Fabrics. Details on this


I made two more Archers, one plaid voile and one linen, both fabrics from Mood Fabrics. I did make the shirts two sizes smaller in the body and sleeves. The cuffs I went down 4 sizes and tapered the bottom of the sleeves to match this. One other alteration, to eliminate the extra inch in the sleeves and body I had originally added. You can check out all the details and more pictures on my
blog
*************************************************
original top can be here

Pattern Description:
The Archer Button Up is a loosely fitting button up shirt with long sleeves. View A has angled cuffs and a back pleat at yoke. View B has straight cuffs and a gathered lower back detail.

Techniques involved include sewing a straight seam, setting sleeves, continuous button plackets, adding a shirt collar and buttons & buttonholes. Pattern is nested to facilitate cutting between sizes if needed.
Pattern Sizing:
This pattern is available in sizes 0-18
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, very similar
Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions were excellent. Easy to follow with great results and if you need more help check out the sewalong over at Grainline Studio's blog.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I loved the look, style, oversized pockets. Also, when finished it has such an incredible and polished look. The pattern is a PDF and that is nice, print right at home. The taping of the pattern is not that much of a challenge, plus you can get started right away.

Not a dislike but be aware it does run large - this includes the body, sleeves and cuffs.
Fabric Used:
Black/white cotton voille from Mood Fabrics
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I decided to use white quilting cotton for facings on this shirt, as the voille has incredible texture but two layers would be too much thickness. I also posted a picture on Instagram for help with the pockets, a significant feature of this pattern but they were getting lost in the pattern design. Several suggested piping and others bias binding, I went with the piping. A nice touch at the top of the pockets for some added interest. I added piping to the back yoke as well.

Would you recommend it to others?
This is a fabulous pattern with a professional garment when completed. I plan on making several.
Conclusion:
Great, Great blouse made from some lovely fabric.

More pictures on blog
Available for sale on PR: $10.80 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
callmeRuth said...
Beautiful top! I do like the piping contrast.
4/25/13 1:50 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great top and love the whole ourfit!
4/25/13 3:35 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Oooo...I love this in your beautiful graphic print! It looks terrific with those pink jeans. I'm going to borrow your piping idea for my next one.
4/25/13 4:09 PM
cleverkitty said...
Very cool outfit put together beautifully but that's what I expect from you. Your blouse is fantastic in the black and white Voille ;)
4/25/13 5:24 PM
Bestyears said...
Wow -both pieces are so professional and gorgeous. Great job!
4/25/13 5:39 PM
ArtAttack said...
Another great version of this blouse...really cute and makes your outfit!
4/25/13 6:24 PM
Barbara V said...
Cute shirt, cute piping details, cute pictures! Great job!
4/25/13 7:55 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful blouse. Looks great with you pink jeans. I like the addition of the piping.
4/26/13 0:53 AM
donna wicks said...
Another great shirt. Looks so good on you.
9/19/13 6:15 PM
donna wicks said...
Another great shirt. Looks so good on you.
9/19/13 6:15 PM
sewingcanary said...
Wow - more transformations of that plain green shirt. I’m really starting to wonder why the pattern maker doesn’t show more interesting fabrics. A person could pass this pattern by, thinking it’s too plain. Like your little corner details etc. Your tale of the backward cuff reminds me of my friend who always says “but the sheep and ducks don’t care what I wear”. Then I ask, “How do you know?”.
9/20/13 2:28 PM
TJSEWS said...
Beautiful, professional looking top. I love how you matched the plaid - perfect! (What a cute doggie.)
2/10/14 9:24 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Another great addition, Lori. It looks so cosy with boots and a sweater but still polished by adding the pretty necklace. I've been engrossed in jacket making but must get back to my Archers!
2/10/14 11:11 PM
mnitts said...
Love this version! Soooo easy to wear.
2/11/14 4:37 PM
carolynw said...
Looking good Lori!
2/11/14 8:18 PM
Hilary said...
All your shirts look great! The blue linen is my favorite, I think. They are all sewn beautifully!
2/14/14 10:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Silhouette Patterns 2910

photo
by: Kemish

Review
McCall's 6167

photo
by: knitmachin...

Review
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now