Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Grainline Studio: 31004 (Archer Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 879 times 53 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 337
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:4/25/13 11:43 AM
Last Updated:2/10/14 7:47 PM
Project Photo:Grainline Studio: 31004 by Lori V

Pattern Photo:Grainline Studio 31004
Grainline Studio Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $10.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Edit 2-10-14 another plaid Archer for me - flannel from Mood Fabrics. Details on this


I made two more Archers, one plaid voile and one linen, both fabrics from Mood Fabrics. I did make the shirts two sizes smaller in the body and sleeves. The cuffs I went down 4 sizes and tapered the bottom of the sleeves to match this. One other alteration, to eliminate the extra inch in the sleeves and body I had originally added. You can check out all the details and more pictures on my
blog
*************************************************
original top can be here

Pattern Description:
The Archer Button Up is a loosely fitting button up shirt with long sleeves. View A has angled cuffs and a back pleat at yoke. View B has straight cuffs and a gathered lower back detail.

Techniques involved include sewing a straight seam, setting sleeves, continuous button plackets, adding a shirt collar and buttons & buttonholes. Pattern is nested to facilitate cutting between sizes if needed.
Pattern Sizing:
This pattern is available in sizes 0-18
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, very similar
Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions were excellent. Easy to follow with great results and if you need more help check out the sewalong over at Grainline Studio's blog.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I loved the look, style, oversized pockets. Also, when finished it has such an incredible and polished look. The pattern is a PDF and that is nice, print right at home. The taping of the pattern is not that much of a challenge, plus you can get started right away.

Not a dislike but be aware it does run large - this includes the body, sleeves and cuffs.
Fabric Used:
Black/white cotton voille from Mood Fabrics
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I decided to use white quilting cotton for facings on this shirt, as the voille has incredible texture but two layers would be too much thickness. I also posted a picture on Instagram for help with the pockets, a significant feature of this pattern but they were getting lost in the pattern design. Several suggested piping and others bias binding, I went with the piping. A nice touch at the top of the pockets for some added interest. I added piping to the back yoke as well.

Would you recommend it to others?
This is a fabulous pattern with a professional garment when completed. I plan on making several.
Conclusion:
Great, Great blouse made from some lovely fabric.

More pictures on blog
Buy this pattern for $10.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
callmeRuth said...
Beautiful top! I do like the piping contrast.
4/25/13 1:50 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great top and love the whole ourfit!
4/25/13 3:35 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Oooo...I love this in your beautiful graphic print! It looks terrific with those pink jeans. I'm going to borrow your piping idea for my next one.
4/25/13 4:09 PM
cleverkitty said...
Very cool outfit put together beautifully but that's what I expect from you. Your blouse is fantastic in the black and white Voille ;)
4/25/13 5:24 PM
Bestyears said...
Wow -both pieces are so professional and gorgeous. Great job!
4/25/13 5:39 PM
ArtAttack said...
Another great version of this blouse...really cute and makes your outfit!
4/25/13 6:24 PM
Barbara V said...
Cute shirt, cute piping details, cute pictures! Great job!
4/25/13 7:55 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful blouse. Looks great with you pink jeans. I like the addition of the piping.
4/26/13 0:53 AM
donna wicks said...
Another great shirt. Looks so good on you.
9/19/13 6:15 PM
donna wicks said...
Another great shirt. Looks so good on you.
9/19/13 6:15 PM
sewingcanary said...
Wow - more transformations of that plain green shirt. I’m really starting to wonder why the pattern maker doesn’t show more interesting fabrics. A person could pass this pattern by, thinking it’s too plain. Like your little corner details etc. Your tale of the backward cuff reminds me of my friend who always says “but the sheep and ducks don’t care what I wear”. Then I ask, “How do you know?”.
9/20/13 2:28 PM
TJSEWS said...
Beautiful, professional looking top. I love how you matched the plaid - perfect! (What a cute doggie.)
2/10/14 9:24 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Another great addition, Lori. It looks so cosy with boots and a sweater but still polished by adding the pretty necklace. I've been engrossed in jacket making but must get back to my Archers!
2/10/14 11:11 PM
mnitts said...
Love this version! Soooo easy to wear.
2/11/14 4:37 PM
carolynw said...
Looking good Lori!
2/11/14 8:18 PM
Hilary said...
All your shirts look great! The blue linen is my favorite, I think. They are all sewn beautifully!
2/14/14 10:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8317
photo
Review by otterine on 2/28/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-109 Striped blouse
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 6/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us