Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7059 (Misses Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 644 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 126 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/13 10:30 PM
Last Updated:4/27/13 10:32 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $7.46  List Price: $9.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CypGrl said...
I'll be interested to read suggestions you may get. Looks very nice on you.
4/28/13 0:34 AM
jlg said...
Great running around town dress. It looks perfectly made in the pictures.
4/28/13 6:04 AM
BillieJean said...
I'm glad you persevered because you have a lovely dress that will be perfect for hot weather.
4/28/13 6:29 AM
caper81 said...
Very helpful review, I wouldn't have guessed this pattern would give a person headache, but yes, looks can be deceiving! Turned out looking great on you though! Very flattering :)
4/28/13 7:40 AM
Ashford said...
You did a good job on the dress and the review. I will enjoy following your comments as you explore your casual wardrobe selections.
4/28/13 7:43 AM
cleverkitty said...
Very cute fun dress, I sewed a twist top that took some figuring out too, beautiful Mood fabric :)
4/28/13 9:02 AM
wildberrymom said...
I have made up M5484 which has similar front detail and I had no issues with bulk. You might need to redraft the skirt from flare to a straighter line to get a look similar to this. The pattern does offer a sleeveless option. My review might not be that helpful as I made it in black jersey knit and it is hard to see in photos but I am planning to make it again this year. It was an easy do once I figured out the twisted center detail but you've already done that once on this pattern. Your dress is darling but I would not care for dealing with the bulk either.
4/28/13 11:22 AM
miausiau said...
This dress turned out well despite the troubles. The good news with sewing is at some point you begin to develop your own techniques and the instructions are only there to scare you. I hope a better idea comes along about the multi layers...it looks like a flattering neckline.
4/28/13 11:29 AM
1SewSweet said...
Thanks so much for the review! As I mentioned on your blog, I really like this dress and now that I've read your review, I will give it a go with a muslin first! Thanks again for your review!
4/28/13 11:54 AM
SewWil said...
The finished product looks great. Who would have thought you would have encountered the issues you did. Your dress is very flattering on you.
4/28/13 11:58 AM
Immelu said...
It looks great, despite the effort! If you want to try another twist top, I highly recommend Jalie 2788...It's my go to twist top!
4/28/13 12:24 PM
slmstyle said...
Cute little dress! Thank you for your detailed and honest review of this pattern and its problematic instructions. It sure turned out nice though!
4/28/13 12:27 PM
ArtAttack said...
Doesn't it make you wonder how they even come up with these methods? It's really cute but there are many others with the same effect. Save yourself! I applaud you for even considering it again!
4/28/13 12:56 PM
Adaire said...
Your dress is lovely. That being said, after hundreds of comments on the complexity and omissions of Burda instructions, wouldn't you think they'd fire the crew they have writing them and hire someone better? I use their children's patterns all the time because they fit so nicely and are so well drafted, but you pretty much have to improvise your own instructions. Not quite as bad as the adult patterns, but almost.
2/22/14 12:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Cutting Line Designs 12269
photo
Review by Irene Q on 9/3/11
Read Review

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Tommy Boxers Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Tommy Boxers Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3764 Jackets
photo
Review by mhoutz on 9/1/13
Read Review

Vogue 8759 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8759 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6789 Pattern
New Look 6789 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us