Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6694 (Misses' Dresses) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 230 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo
About mnittsstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 56
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/13 4:30 PM
Last Updated:4/29/13 4:36 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.16  List Price: $18.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danmar said...
I too like it without the ruffle. Really like the way it looks on you. Good choice in pattern and fabric!
4/29/13 6:01 PM
shaleenymay said...
That is so cute! I am glad that second ruffle is gone lol.It was adding too much bulk.
4/29/13 8:44 PM
wildberrymom said...
The second ruffle would be too much--very nice and feminine as is.
4/30/13 2:38 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Very pretty. I enjoyed your blog post on this and am so impressed that you're using the attachments on a serger that you just got. Mine is almost a year old and I'm still intimidated by the special feet.
4/30/13 10:41 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely dress.
4/30/13 4:10 PM
caper81 said...
I think you did well to remove the second ruffle. If I were to try this pattern I'd follow your lead :) I just bought one of those scary-looking rufflers and I have yet to figure it out on my sewing machine, let alone a serger! You did such a great job on your dress! Your version looks far more appealing than the McCalls. Very feminine indeed! :)
4/30/13 5:55 PM
sarahjoharris said...
Very flattering! And you haven't reviewed it here yet, but your white lace Vogue 8766 dress is amazing!
5/11/13 9:41 PM
zenn said...
very cute and flattering on you. i like the double ruffle equal to a single. i am making this for a bff and was pleasantly surprised by a few features leading me here seeking guidance. i have read other reviews that complain about the loose-fitting blouse but i think it is essentially loose-fitting to accentuate the more fitted and flattering raised waist. is it not? i can't quite tell by the pics and have not read about the raised waist. my bff is 5'2" i shortened the blouse up to the adjustment line front and back. did you make a similar adjustment? did you end up with a raised waist and a loose-fitting blouse? on another note, this is the first raw-edge pattern i have taken on. is there really no seam or finishing of any kind at the bottom of each ruffle? would you suggest finishing? thank you so much. just curious and very grateful to read your very helpful post. thanks!
8/13/13 11:45 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very cute, love it on you. I like how you kept with just the lower ruffle, makes it a lot more classy!
10/8/13 9:02 PM
mary in FL said...
Very nice. I think it looks better without the upper ruffle.
3/25/14 7:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 5533 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by marec on 10/31/13
Read Review

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2010-104 skirt
photo
Review by olgarosita on 2/17/13
Read Review

Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 18 )
Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 18 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4989 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )
Butterick 4989 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us