SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6694 (Misses' Dresses)

2 more reviews
Viewed 250 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/13 4:30 PM
Last Updated:4/29/13 4:36 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mary in FL said...
Very nice. I think it looks better without the upper ruffle.
3/25/14 7:53 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very cute, love it on you. I like how you kept with just the lower ruffle, makes it a lot more classy!
10/8/13 9:02 PM
zenn said...
very cute and flattering on you. i like the double ruffle equal to a single. i am making this for a bff and was pleasantly surprised by a few features leading me here seeking guidance. i have read other reviews that complain about the loose-fitting blouse but i think it is essentially loose-fitting to accentuate the more fitted and flattering raised waist. is it not? i can't quite tell by the pics and have not read about the raised waist. my bff is 5'2" i shortened the blouse up to the adjustment line front and back. did you make a similar adjustment? did you end up with a raised waist and a loose-fitting blouse? on another note, this is the first raw-edge pattern i have taken on. is there really no seam or finishing of any kind at the bottom of each ruffle? would you suggest finishing? thank you so much. just curious and very grateful to read your very helpful post. thanks!
8/13/13 11:45 PM
sarahjoharris said...
Very flattering! And you haven't reviewed it here yet, but your white lace Vogue 8766 dress is amazing!
5/11/13 9:41 PM
caper81 said...
I think you did well to remove the second ruffle. If I were to try this pattern I'd follow your lead :) I just bought one of those scary-looking rufflers and I have yet to figure it out on my sewing machine, let alone a serger! You did such a great job on your dress! Your version looks far more appealing than the McCalls. Very feminine indeed! :)
4/30/13 5:55 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely dress.
4/30/13 4:10 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Very pretty. I enjoyed your blog post on this and am so impressed that you're using the attachments on a serger that you just got. Mine is almost a year old and I'm still intimidated by the special feet.
4/30/13 10:41 AM
wildberrymom said...
The second ruffle would be too much--very nice and feminine as is.
4/30/13 2:38 AM
shaleenymay said...
That is so cute! I am glad that second ruffle is gone lol.It was adding too much bulk.
4/29/13 8:44 PM
Danmar said...
I too like it without the ruffle. Really like the way it looks on you. Good choice in pattern and fabric!
4/29/13 6:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: wizechyld

Review
Kwik Sew 2101

photo
by: Immelu

Review
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now