Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1407 (Barcelona Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2482 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Gail S
photo
About Gail Sstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/6/03
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/05 4:05 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mjrsew said...
A good review----I know what you mean abouth the sizing but I think it is intended to be big --- but it just looks dowdy when it is so big. Nice fabric.
3/14/05 4:23 PM
Hilary said...
Thats too bad that it came out too large-is there anyway to maybe add ties to the side seams that can tie in the back to bring it in a bit? I've even seen really long ties that can be wrapped in sort of a Grecian style (does that make sense?) that I thought looked really pretty. If not, some lucky person will be glad to receive this-it's very pretty!
3/14/05 5:45 PM
Nickle said...
Very pretty dress. Too bad it was too big for you, I'm sure whoever gets it is going to love it.
3/14/05 6:10 PM
Karen Bowers said...
i've made this dress several times, and i finally come across an important fitting point. after the seams are sewn but before the hemming, try the dress on. i've learned i can significantly improve my final results just by pinching out at the shoulder, thus lifting the whole waist line up as far as i please.
3/14/05 7:11 PM
seKimberlyso said...
Looks very nice. (I swear I have made some things that "swell" after sewing. )
3/14/05 8:43 PM
tigger said...
I feel your pain about making something and then finding it too big - and like mjrsew said - even if it's meant to be big it only ends up looking dowdy! I've even made the same pattern twice - out of different materials - just to find that the second time I made it - after a good first fit - doesn't look that great on me!! :) (different fabric or color - who knows) Anyway the dress does look great and I love the fabric - I'm sure you'll get the fit you want next time!
3/15/05 0:05 AM
AnneM said...
I don't have this style, but have the same feelings about it: looks like a great summer style, but I'm not certain it would be a good style for me. Nice fabric - someone slightly bigger than you will be getting a nice dress!
3/15/05 4:48 AM
marjenann said...
I love your dress. Better than the pattern photo!!! Great fabric too!
3/15/05 2:32 PM
Doris Stewart said...
Thanks for the honest review. My daughter is getting married in June; maybe I've found the mother of the bride dress ;-)
3/15/05 7:25 PM
Tee Jay said...
My dress came out too big, too, even after pinching 2" out of the shoulders. My DH still thought it looked good, though. I'll have to try xxs.
3/16/05 7:39 AM
Dixielynn said...
I just bought this pattern and have not yet cut into the fabric. It is good to hear good reviews and also to hear feedback. I will try mine out soon...reading the instructions FIRST!!
3/23/05 0:01 AM
moushka said...
Sorry it was too big (I should have that problem, lol!). The fabric is just beautiful and it looks like you did a great job of sewing it. Hope someone can wear it. It would be a shame to have such a pretty dress sit in a closet!
6/14/05 11:12 AM
mamacita said...
Well, the same thing happened to me...it turned out huge!!!!!
9/18/05 3:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 12/14/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Sofa slipcover Sofa Slipcover
photo
Review by ChristineB... on 12/24/07
Read Review

Petite Plus 104 Pattern
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5618 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 5618 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4321 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL )
McCalls 4321 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us