SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1407 (Barcelona Dress)

28 more reviews
Viewed 2487 times 
Reviewed by:Gail S
photo

 
 
About Gail Sstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/6/03
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/05 4:05 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mamacita said...
Well, the same thing happened to me...it turned out huge!!!!!
9/18/05 3:33 PM
moushka said...
Sorry it was too big (I should have that problem, lol!). The fabric is just beautiful and it looks like you did a great job of sewing it. Hope someone can wear it. It would be a shame to have such a pretty dress sit in a closet!
6/14/05 11:12 AM
Dixielynn said...
I just bought this pattern and have not yet cut into the fabric. It is good to hear good reviews and also to hear feedback. I will try mine out soon...reading the instructions FIRST!!
3/23/05 0:01 AM
Tee Jay said...
My dress came out too big, too, even after pinching 2" out of the shoulders. My DH still thought it looked good, though. I'll have to try xxs.
3/16/05 7:39 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Thanks for the honest review. My daughter is getting married in June; maybe I've found the mother of the bride dress ;-)
3/15/05 7:25 PM
marjenann said...
I love your dress. Better than the pattern photo!!! Great fabric too!
3/15/05 2:32 PM
AnneM said...
I don't have this style, but have the same feelings about it: looks like a great summer style, but I'm not certain it would be a good style for me. Nice fabric - someone slightly bigger than you will be getting a nice dress!
3/15/05 4:48 AM
tigger said...
I feel your pain about making something and then finding it too big - and like mjrsew said - even if it's meant to be big it only ends up looking dowdy! I've even made the same pattern twice - out of different materials - just to find that the second time I made it - after a good first fit - doesn't look that great on me!! :) (different fabric or color - who knows) Anyway the dress does look great and I love the fabric - I'm sure you'll get the fit you want next time!
3/15/05 0:05 AM
seKimberlyso said...
Looks very nice. (I swear I have made some things that "swell" after sewing. )
3/14/05 8:43 PM
Karen Bowers said...
i've made this dress several times, and i finally come across an important fitting point. after the seams are sewn but before the hemming, try the dress on. i've learned i can significantly improve my final results just by pinching out at the shoulder, thus lifting the whole waist line up as far as i please.
3/14/05 7:11 PM
Nickle said...
Very pretty dress. Too bad it was too big for you, I'm sure whoever gets it is going to love it.
3/14/05 6:10 PM
Hilary said...
Thats too bad that it came out too large-is there anyway to maybe add ties to the side seams that can tie in the back to bring it in a bit? I've even seen really long ties that can be wrapped in sort of a Grecian style (does that make sense?) that I thought looked really pretty. If not, some lucky person will be glad to receive this-it's very pretty!
3/14/05 5:45 PM
mjrsew said...
A good review----I know what you mean abouth the sizing but I think it is intended to be big --- but it just looks dowdy when it is so big. Nice fabric.
3/14/05 4:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Vogue Patterns 1164 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Nina cardigan

photo
by: margy.64

Review