SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6412 (suits)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1705 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo

 
 
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/05 6:38 PM


Review Rating: Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mudcat said...
The jacket looks great. The sleeve length gives it a vintage look. I've been seeing a lot of similar jackets in the catalogs lately.
3/14/05 7:33 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh Barbara, that suit is beautiful! I thought it was the Vogue DKNY suit when I first saw it. You did a great job. Thanks for an exhaustive, informative review! -Ann
3/14/05 7:39 PM
MaryBeth said...
I like the design changes you've made to the jacket. It really "suits" you.
3/14/05 7:53 PM
PVA said...
Beautiful suit & great review! Thanks so much for all the details, this review is so informative! I'm so glad you didn't give in to the "jacket suicide" urge, much as I have no problem understanding . . .! LOL
3/14/05 9:18 PM
BjP said...
Beautiful outfit....thanks for such a detailed review. I learned a lot!
3/14/05 11:46 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful suit and a very, very good review. I like all your details about your techniques. It looks wonderful on you, too!
3/15/05 0:05 AM
AnneM said...
Great review, great suit. I think yours does look better than the pattern picture.
3/15/05 4:52 AM
jlg said...
Beautiful suit, and your review has so much helpful information.
3/15/05 4:59 AM
MarilynB said...
Thanks for a great review, Barbara. In spite of your problems with the buttonholes, the suit look great. I think your choice of fabric is what makes it look so good.
3/15/05 5:54 AM
MickeyFan said...
Your suit is lovely. Thanks for this very informative review. I have often wondered what the "real deal" was with this suit - since the model in the picture is posed in such an unnatural position
3/15/05 6:15 AM
CarolynGM said...
What an absolutely wonderful review. The extra tailoring you did paid off with a beautiful outfit.
3/15/05 6:17 AM
SewingSusan said...
Fantastic suit. Fits you perfectly. I'd love to see that "wild print" lining.
3/15/05 6:34 AM
valerie sews said...
Very very cute suit. I also thought it was the DKNY suit at first glance, its very stylish. Thanks for the review.
3/15/05 6:55 AM
marjenann said...
Magnifcent!!!!
3/15/05 7:05 AM
Lisa Laree said...
What a terrific, educational review! And what a great looking suit! Thanks for sharing!
3/15/05 7:14 AM
cindyann said...
Just lovely! Thank you for the detailed review.
3/15/05 7:33 AM
Lisette said...
Thank you so much for all the tailoring information. Your suit looks wonderful. I like the vintage look that the bracelet length sleeves give the jacket.
3/15/05 7:58 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
You look Fabulous! Great sewing lesson. I like the skirt on you. Good call to eliminate the tie.
3/15/05 8:46 AM
els said...
Barbara, your suit is stunning.Thanks for the detailed review.Did you also used under armshields to protect the silk lining?
3/15/05 9:11 AM
PhyllisC said...
Great review...the notes on the feel of Bemberg are very interesting and I'll keep that in mind.
3/15/05 9:12 AM
amadoofus said...
Thank you for teaching me so much.
3/15/05 10:56 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks! If you want to see a photo of the inside of the jacket before it was completed, just go to my website. Cut and past this into your browser --- http://www.icdc.com/~nbell/ The photo on the website also shows the 'wild' print silk organza I used for underlining there.
3/15/05 11:19 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely suit. What a extremely helpful review. Thanks for sharing this with all of us. Went to your website and looked at all of your other prettys.
3/15/05 6:23 PM
Tiner W said...
Such a beautiful, ladylike suit! I have this fabric, and appreciate all of the information on how best to treat it.
3/16/05 7:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 2535

photo
by: lauramae

Review
Butterick 5679

photo
by: stitchywit...

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now