Online Sewing Class: Blueprints to Blue Jeans
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6412 (suits)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1708 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo

 
 
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews: 74 (patterns: 73)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 106 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/05 6:38 PM


Review Rating: Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said... (3/16/05 7:18 AM) Reply
Such a beautiful, ladylike suit! I have this fabric, and appreciate all of the information on how best to treat it.
Danvillegirl said... (3/15/05 6:23 PM) Reply
Lovely suit. What a extremely helpful review. Thanks for sharing this with all of us. Went to your website and looked at all of your other prettys.
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said... (3/15/05 11:19 AM) Reply
Thanks! If you want to see a photo of the inside of the jacket before it was completed, just go to my website. Cut and past this into your browser --- http://www.icdc.com/~nbell/ The photo on the website also shows the 'wild' print silk organza I used for underlining there.
amadoofus said... (3/15/05 10:56 AM) Reply
Thank you for teaching me so much.
PhyllisC said... (3/15/05 9:12 AM) Reply
Great review...the notes on the feel of Bemberg are very interesting and I'll keep that in mind.
els said... (3/15/05 9:11 AM) Reply
Barbara, your suit is stunning.Thanks for the detailed review.Did you also used under armshields to protect the silk lining?
Rennie Ashby said... (3/15/05 8:46 AM) Reply
You look Fabulous! Great sewing lesson. I like the skirt on you. Good call to eliminate the tie.
Lisette said... (3/15/05 7:58 AM) Reply
Thank you so much for all the tailoring information. Your suit looks wonderful. I like the vintage look that the bracelet length sleeves give the jacket.
cindyann said... (3/15/05 7:33 AM) Reply
Just lovely! Thank you for the detailed review.
Lisa Laree said... (3/15/05 7:14 AM) Reply
What a terrific, educational review! And what a great looking suit! Thanks for sharing!
marjenann said... (3/15/05 7:05 AM) Reply
Magnifcent!!!!
valerie sews said... (3/15/05 6:55 AM) Reply
Very very cute suit. I also thought it was the DKNY suit at first glance, its very stylish. Thanks for the review.
SewingSusan said... (3/15/05 6:34 AM) Reply
Fantastic suit. Fits you perfectly. I'd love to see that "wild print" lining.
CarolynGM said... (3/15/05 6:17 AM) Reply
What an absolutely wonderful review. The extra tailoring you did paid off with a beautiful outfit.
MickeyFan said... (3/15/05 6:15 AM) Reply
Your suit is lovely. Thanks for this very informative review. I have often wondered what the "real deal" was with this suit - since the model in the picture is posed in such an unnatural position
MarilynB said... (3/15/05 5:54 AM) Reply
Thanks for a great review, Barbara. In spite of your problems with the buttonholes, the suit look great. I think your choice of fabric is what makes it look so good.
jlg said... (3/15/05 4:59 AM) Reply
Beautiful suit, and your review has so much helpful information.
AnneM said... (3/15/05 4:52 AM) Reply
Great review, great suit. I think yours does look better than the pattern picture.
Liana said... (3/15/05 0:05 AM) Reply
Beautiful suit and a very, very good review. I like all your details about your techniques. It looks wonderful on you, too!
BjP said... (3/14/05 11:46 PM) Reply
Beautiful outfit....thanks for such a detailed review. I learned a lot!
PVA said... (3/14/05 9:18 PM) Reply
Beautiful suit & great review! Thanks so much for all the details, this review is so informative! I'm so glad you didn't give in to the "jacket suicide" urge, much as I have no problem understanding . . .! LOL
MaryBeth said... (3/14/05 7:53 PM) Reply
I like the design changes you've made to the jacket. It really "suits" you.
GorgeousFabrics said... (3/14/05 7:39 PM) Reply
Oh Barbara, that suit is beautiful! I thought it was the Vogue DKNY suit when I first saw it. You did a great job. Thanks for an exhaustive, informative review! -Ann
mudcat said... (3/14/05 7:33 PM) Reply
The jacket looks great. The sleeve length gives it a vintage look. I've been seeing a lot of similar jackets in the catalogs lately.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Pattern Details
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details