SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6412 (suits)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1708 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio

About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews: 74 (patterns: 73)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/05 6:38 PM
Review Rating: Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Tiner W said... (3/16/05 7:18 AM) Reply
Such a beautiful, ladylike suit! I have this fabric, and appreciate all of the information on how best to treat it.
Danvillegirl said... (3/15/05 6:23 PM) Reply
Lovely suit. What a extremely helpful review. Thanks for sharing this with all of us. Went to your website and looked at all of your other prettys.
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said... (3/15/05 11:19 AM) Reply
Thanks! If you want to see a photo of the inside of the jacket before it was completed, just go to my website. Cut and past this into your browser --- The photo on the website also shows the 'wild' print silk organza I used for underlining there.
amadoofus said... (3/15/05 10:56 AM) Reply
Thank you for teaching me so much.
PhyllisC said... (3/15/05 9:12 AM) Reply
Great review...the notes on the feel of Bemberg are very interesting and I'll keep that in mind.
els said... (3/15/05 9:11 AM) Reply
Barbara, your suit is stunning.Thanks for the detailed review.Did you also used under armshields to protect the silk lining?
Rennie Ashby said... (3/15/05 8:46 AM) Reply
You look Fabulous! Great sewing lesson. I like the skirt on you. Good call to eliminate the tie.
Lisette said... (3/15/05 7:58 AM) Reply
Thank you so much for all the tailoring information. Your suit looks wonderful. I like the vintage look that the bracelet length sleeves give the jacket.
cindyann said... (3/15/05 7:33 AM) Reply
Just lovely! Thank you for the detailed review.
Lisa Laree said... (3/15/05 7:14 AM) Reply
What a terrific, educational review! And what a great looking suit! Thanks for sharing!
marjenann said... (3/15/05 7:05 AM) Reply
valerie sews said... (3/15/05 6:55 AM) Reply
Very very cute suit. I also thought it was the DKNY suit at first glance, its very stylish. Thanks for the review.
SewingSusan said... (3/15/05 6:34 AM) Reply
Fantastic suit. Fits you perfectly. I'd love to see that "wild print" lining.
CarolynGM said... (3/15/05 6:17 AM) Reply
What an absolutely wonderful review. The extra tailoring you did paid off with a beautiful outfit.
MickeyFan said... (3/15/05 6:15 AM) Reply
Your suit is lovely. Thanks for this very informative review. I have often wondered what the "real deal" was with this suit - since the model in the picture is posed in such an unnatural position
MarilynB said... (3/15/05 5:54 AM) Reply
Thanks for a great review, Barbara. In spite of your problems with the buttonholes, the suit look great. I think your choice of fabric is what makes it look so good.
jlg said... (3/15/05 4:59 AM) Reply
Beautiful suit, and your review has so much helpful information.
AnneM said... (3/15/05 4:52 AM) Reply
Great review, great suit. I think yours does look better than the pattern picture.
Liana said... (3/15/05 0:05 AM) Reply
Beautiful suit and a very, very good review. I like all your details about your techniques. It looks wonderful on you, too!
BjP said... (3/14/05 11:46 PM) Reply
Beautiful outfit....thanks for such a detailed review. I learned a lot!
PVA said... (3/14/05 9:18 PM) Reply
Beautiful suit & great review! Thanks so much for all the details, this review is so informative! I'm so glad you didn't give in to the "jacket suicide" urge, much as I have no problem understanding . . .! LOL
MaryBeth said... (3/14/05 7:53 PM) Reply
I like the design changes you've made to the jacket. It really "suits" you.
GorgeousFabrics said... (3/14/05 7:39 PM) Reply
Oh Barbara, that suit is beautiful! I thought it was the Vogue DKNY suit when I first saw it. You did a great job. Thanks for an exhaustive, informative review! -Ann
mudcat said... (3/14/05 7:33 PM) Reply
The jacket looks great. The sleeve length gives it a vintage look. I've been seeing a lot of similar jackets in the catalogs lately.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Simplicity 2497

by: Diahn

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Pattern Details
Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details