SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6412 (suits)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1705 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo

 
 
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/05 6:38 PM


Review Rating: Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mudcat said...
The jacket looks great. The sleeve length gives it a vintage look. I've been seeing a lot of similar jackets in the catalogs lately.
3/14/05 7:33 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh Barbara, that suit is beautiful! I thought it was the Vogue DKNY suit when I first saw it. You did a great job. Thanks for an exhaustive, informative review! -Ann
3/14/05 7:39 PM
MaryBeth said...
I like the design changes you've made to the jacket. It really "suits" you.
3/14/05 7:53 PM
PVA said...
Beautiful suit & great review! Thanks so much for all the details, this review is so informative! I'm so glad you didn't give in to the "jacket suicide" urge, much as I have no problem understanding . . .! LOL
3/14/05 9:18 PM
BjP said...
Beautiful outfit....thanks for such a detailed review. I learned a lot!
3/14/05 11:46 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful suit and a very, very good review. I like all your details about your techniques. It looks wonderful on you, too!
3/15/05 0:05 AM
AnneM said...
Great review, great suit. I think yours does look better than the pattern picture.
3/15/05 4:52 AM
jlg said...
Beautiful suit, and your review has so much helpful information.
3/15/05 4:59 AM
MarilynB said...
Thanks for a great review, Barbara. In spite of your problems with the buttonholes, the suit look great. I think your choice of fabric is what makes it look so good.
3/15/05 5:54 AM
MickeyFan said...
Your suit is lovely. Thanks for this very informative review. I have often wondered what the "real deal" was with this suit - since the model in the picture is posed in such an unnatural position
3/15/05 6:15 AM
CarolynGM said...
What an absolutely wonderful review. The extra tailoring you did paid off with a beautiful outfit.
3/15/05 6:17 AM
SewingSusan said...
Fantastic suit. Fits you perfectly. I'd love to see that "wild print" lining.
3/15/05 6:34 AM
valerie sews said...
Very very cute suit. I also thought it was the DKNY suit at first glance, its very stylish. Thanks for the review.
3/15/05 6:55 AM
marjenann said...
Magnifcent!!!!
3/15/05 7:05 AM
Lisa Laree said...
What a terrific, educational review! And what a great looking suit! Thanks for sharing!
3/15/05 7:14 AM
cindyann said...
Just lovely! Thank you for the detailed review.
3/15/05 7:33 AM
Lisette said...
Thank you so much for all the tailoring information. Your suit looks wonderful. I like the vintage look that the bracelet length sleeves give the jacket.
3/15/05 7:58 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
You look Fabulous! Great sewing lesson. I like the skirt on you. Good call to eliminate the tie.
3/15/05 8:46 AM
els said...
Barbara, your suit is stunning.Thanks for the detailed review.Did you also used under armshields to protect the silk lining?
3/15/05 9:11 AM
PhyllisC said...
Great review...the notes on the feel of Bemberg are very interesting and I'll keep that in mind.
3/15/05 9:12 AM
amadoofus said...
Thank you for teaching me so much.
3/15/05 10:56 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks! If you want to see a photo of the inside of the jacket before it was completed, just go to my website. Cut and past this into your browser --- http://www.icdc.com/~nbell/ The photo on the website also shows the 'wild' print silk organza I used for underlining there.
3/15/05 11:19 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely suit. What a extremely helpful review. Thanks for sharing this with all of us. Went to your website and looked at all of your other prettys.
3/15/05 6:23 PM
Tiner W said...
Such a beautiful, ladylike suit! I have this fabric, and appreciate all of the information on how best to treat it.
3/16/05 7:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Other Dressmaking with Liberty

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Buy Now