SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2341 (Misses' Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 455 times 
Reviewed by:mrsbewley
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mrsbewleystarstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/14/08
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/17/14 7:09 PM
Last Updated:2/17/14 7:30 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2341 by mrsbewley

Simplicity: 2341 by mrsbewley  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2341
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Faux Suede  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Misses' jacket with princess lines and trim and pocket variations. I made View B.

Pattern Sizing: I made my usual size 8 at the neck blending to a 12 at the hips. The jacket is a little snug across the shoulders, and since making it, I've learned that I need to do a broad back adjustment on close fitting wovens. Next time!

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, very much so.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the instructions were very good. I think this would be a great first jacket pattern for an advanced beginner.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the front shoulder flap detail, the zipper closure, and the fact that the jacket has usable pockets (!!).

Fabric Used: A Marc Jacobs quilted faux suede from FabricMart. This fabric was wonderful to work with. The pattern has tips for working with real and faux leather/suede, including using clips instead of pins to avoid permanent holes. However, this fabric pinned easily, and the holes disappeared.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: This pattern is for an unlined jacket, but my fabric required one because of its batting backing. I used rayon (Ambiance) for the lining. I cut the back, back side, and front side pieces out of lining, sewed them together, then cut a curved section out of the back to match the back jacket facing. I then attached the lining following instructions from another jacket pattern. (The front piece doesn't require lining since there is a front facing.) I also lined the pockets.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I've been wearing this jacket a lot, so I can certainly imagine making it, or one of the other views, again. I do recommend it.

Conclusion: Great little jacket and great pattern!

Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathhhhhy said...
I like the details on here. Nice!
2/17/14 7:37 PM
Meomyart said...
I love it! I like the fabric, shape and detail.
2/17/14 8:03 PM
slmstyle said...
Nice job!
2/17/14 9:04 PM
TJSEWS said...
This jacket is gorgeous and it fits you beautifully!
2/17/14 9:55 PM
MrsCharisma said...
I love this!
2/17/14 9:59 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket!
2/17/14 10:21 PM
SewLibra said...
Your choice of fabric with texture makes this a perfect jacket! Love the color, too.
2/18/14 0:24 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
Such a fantastic jacket!!!
2/18/14 1:08 AM
annem54 said...
Lovely. I have actually muslined this jacket but only then put it away a wasn't too sure about the fit. Your review has encouraged me to think about getting it out again.
2/18/14 3:30 AM
becca a said...
You did a gorgeous job matching the pattern across the jacket pieces!
2/18/14 12:26 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautifully done. I love the shape of this jacket.
2/19/14 9:09 AM
threaddy said...
Lovely! Thank you. I had missed this pattern but have it in my wish list now.
2/19/14 11:43 AM
regal80 said...
that looks so sharp! good job :) Maybe I WILL try this bad boy
2/20/14 8:36 PM
chenille said...
Very nice - love the fabric choice and great fit!
2/21/14 2:35 AM
AndreaSews said...
Lovely jacket, I don't recall seeing that pattern. Love the lines.
2/21/14 10:57 AM
Bonnie O said...
Looks great, Liz. All the little details are great and I really like the zipper closure. I had just about forgotten about that fabric. Maybe I'll dig mine out and we can be twinsies in Austin. Ha ha.
2/22/14 7:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-102

photo
by: Lynnelle

Review
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now