SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6612 (Misses'/Women's Dresses)

46 more reviews
Viewed 241 times 
Reviewed by:SAMBoddy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SAMBoddystar
CA USA
Member since: 5/6/09
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/13 8:46 PM
Last Updated:4/30/13 8:48 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SAMBoddy said... (5/8/13 2:15 PM) Reply
Rosalaya - I really appreciate your input here - and yes, turning it into a top (or a short dress to wear leggings with - is that a tunic?) is probably #1 choice for me right now
Rosalaya said... (5/3/13 9:53 PM) Reply
Talk about trigger happy fingers. I've been wondering how those double entries happened. Well, now I know.
Rosalaya said... (5/3/13 9:53 PM) Reply
I've just been reading your blog. I totally see what you mean about the sleeves and the length. I was thinking that a lining would help and thinking along the lines of a tricot ( like petticoat stuff) and then thought why not just change the length (shorten it) by turning under the fabric and making it a self lined top a lá Marcy Tilton ( she has some interesting techniques on her web page). It's just a thought. Otherwise it is as you say lovely colour and the cowl sooooo sophisticated.
LucyMJ said... (4/30/13 10:39 PM) Reply
Great review. You are so right about cutting according to measurements. I have wasted a few garments by following the package info too much!
SAMBoddy said... (4/30/13 9:44 PM) Reply
Thank you! Like I said I love the neckline and the color is my favorite.
caper81 said... (4/30/13 9:21 PM) Reply
I think your dress looks really nice on you :) I enjoyed your blog post very much as well! I have to say, I've found most patterns have way too much ease. I always go by the measurements printed on the pattern pieces to give myself a better idea of which size to cut. Maybe you could've used a smaller size? :)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Simplicity 2870

photo
by: Josnazz

Review
Simplicity 6150

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details