Online Sewing Class: Understanding Wool Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6612 (Misses'/Women's Dresses)

54 more reviews
Viewed 246 times 
Reviewed by:SAMBoddy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SAMBoddystar
CA USA
Member since: 5/6/09
Reviews: 37 (patterns: 37)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/13 8:46 PM
Last Updated:4/30/13 8:48 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SAMBoddy said... (5/8/13 2:15 PM) Reply
Rosalaya - I really appreciate your input here - and yes, turning it into a top (or a short dress to wear leggings with - is that a tunic?) is probably #1 choice for me right now
Rosalaya said... (5/3/13 9:53 PM) Reply
Talk about trigger happy fingers. I've been wondering how those double entries happened. Well, now I know.
Rosalaya said... (5/3/13 9:53 PM) Reply
I've just been reading your blog. I totally see what you mean about the sleeves and the length. I was thinking that a lining would help and thinking along the lines of a tricot ( like petticoat stuff) and then thought why not just change the length (shorten it) by turning under the fabric and making it a self lined top a lá Marcy Tilton ( she has some interesting techniques on her web page). It's just a thought. Otherwise it is as you say lovely colour and the cowl sooooo sophisticated.
LucyMJ said... (4/30/13 10:39 PM) Reply
Great review. You are so right about cutting according to measurements. I have wasted a few garments by following the package info too much!
SAMBoddy said... (4/30/13 9:44 PM) Reply
Thank you! Like I said I love the neckline and the color is my favorite.
caper81 said... (4/30/13 9:21 PM) Reply
I think your dress looks really nice on you :) I enjoyed your blog post very much as well! I have to say, I've found most patterns have way too much ease. I always go by the measurements printed on the pattern pieces to give myself a better idea of which size to cut. Maybe you could've used a smaller size? :)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

McCall's 6700

photo
by: AmandaRene...

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Pattern Details