SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6612 (Misses'/Women's Dresses)

40 more reviews
Viewed 227 times 
Reviewed by:SAMBoddy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SAMBoddystar
CA USA
Member since: 5/6/09
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/13 8:46 PM
Last Updated:4/30/13 8:48 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caper81 said...
I think your dress looks really nice on you :) I enjoyed your blog post very much as well! I have to say, I've found most patterns have way too much ease. I always go by the measurements printed on the pattern pieces to give myself a better idea of which size to cut. Maybe you could've used a smaller size? :)
4/30/13 9:21 PM
SAMBoddy said...
Thank you! Like I said I love the neckline and the color is my favorite.
4/30/13 9:44 PM
LucyMJ said...
Great review. You are so right about cutting according to measurements. I have wasted a few garments by following the package info too much!
4/30/13 10:39 PM
Rosalaya said...
I've just been reading your blog. I totally see what you mean about the sleeves and the length. I was thinking that a lining would help and thinking along the lines of a tricot ( like petticoat stuff) and then thought why not just change the length (shorten it) by turning under the fabric and making it a self lined top a lá Marcy Tilton ( she has some interesting techniques on her web page). It's just a thought. Otherwise it is as you say lovely colour and the cowl sooooo sophisticated.
5/3/13 9:53 PM
Rosalaya said...
Talk about trigger happy fingers. I've been wondering how those double entries happened. Well, now I know.
5/3/13 9:53 PM
SAMBoddy said...
Rosalaya - I really appreciate your input here - and yes, turning it into a top (or a short dress to wear leggings with - is that a tunic?) is probably #1 choice for me right now
5/8/13 2:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 06/2012 #113

photo
by: thewall

Review
Amy Butler 0000

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now