SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6612 (Misses'/Women's Dresses)

43 more reviews
Viewed 237 times 
Reviewed by:SAMBoddy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SAMBoddystar
CA USA
Member since: 5/6/09
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/13 8:46 PM
Last Updated:4/30/13 8:48 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SAMBoddy said...
Rosalaya - I really appreciate your input here - and yes, turning it into a top (or a short dress to wear leggings with - is that a tunic?) is probably #1 choice for me right now
5/8/13 2:15 PM
Rosalaya said...
Talk about trigger happy fingers. I've been wondering how those double entries happened. Well, now I know.
5/3/13 9:53 PM
Rosalaya said...
I've just been reading your blog. I totally see what you mean about the sleeves and the length. I was thinking that a lining would help and thinking along the lines of a tricot ( like petticoat stuff) and then thought why not just change the length (shorten it) by turning under the fabric and making it a self lined top a lá Marcy Tilton ( she has some interesting techniques on her web page). It's just a thought. Otherwise it is as you say lovely colour and the cowl sooooo sophisticated.
5/3/13 9:53 PM
LucyMJ said...
Great review. You are so right about cutting according to measurements. I have wasted a few garments by following the package info too much!
4/30/13 10:39 PM
SAMBoddy said...
Thank you! Like I said I love the neckline and the color is my favorite.
4/30/13 9:44 PM
caper81 said...
I think your dress looks really nice on you :) I enjoyed your blog post very much as well! I have to say, I've found most patterns have way too much ease. I always go by the measurements printed on the pattern pieces to give myself a better idea of which size to cut. Maybe you could've used a smaller size? :)
4/30/13 9:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

StyleArc Victoria Blouse

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1292

photo
by: chenille

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now