Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5895 (Misses' Top and Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 542 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:jcvcalderone
photo
About jcvcalderonestar
Member since: 11/18/12
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/13 5:33 PM
Last Updated:1/19/14 0:58 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:Butterick 5895
Butterick Pattern Info

More Info provided by jcvcalderone

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
This review is for the pants only. Check out the pictures of this project on www.beyondaspiration.blogspot.com, my blog.

These pants are part of the Butterick retro collection, but I really think that worn with the right top they can look completely contemporary.

This is the most successful sewing project that I have completed in my scant six months of sewing. I am really, really tired of jeans, but I am a stay-at-home mother so I need casual clothing that is durable but flattering. I had been looking for high-waisted cigarette pants with pockets that I could sew up in denim and cotton twill. I found exactly what I wanted in this pattern.

I made adjustments only to the length of the pant so that I could have a full-length pant for winter/spring. I liked the wearable muslin so much that I made a second pair, identical to the first, and then three more pair at the original length in other fabrics to wear in the summer.

This pattern fit me perfectly right off of the sewing machine.

Another joy of this pattern is how easily and quickly it sews up and how beautiful the inside of the garment looks when it's finished.

Like one of the other reviewers of this pattern, I found the zipper installation instructions the best I have read.

January 2014: I have altered the pattern to make a dressier version of a cigarette pant. I eliminated the pockets, moved the zipper, and lengthened the legs. Check out the pictures here: http://beyondaspiration.blogspot.com/2014/01/luscious.html
Buy this pattern for $19.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Cute pants! Great job and congrats on your first review!
5/2/13 11:21 PM
Laurie Lou said...
You did a wonderful job on these! You are doing great for only sewing such a short time! Nice review too!
6/18/13 3:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2007-117 Blouse
photo
Review by Markie1 on 1/31/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mango Tango Mango Tango
photo
Review by jannw on 2/28/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3830 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 3830 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2908 Pattern
Jalie 2908 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us