Online Sewing Class: Fun with Fitting - PANTS
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> CNT> 2501 (A Little Somethin' Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 317 times 
Reviewed by:Judy Kski
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Judy Kskistarstar
FL United States
Member since: 10/26/08
Reviews: 86 (patterns: 83)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/13 10:45 PM
Last Updated:10/21/13 10:37 AM
  
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Alpine Queen said... (4/20/16 2:52 PM) Reply
This really looks cute in your photos. I hope you got used to it and have worn it many times since you made it.
delowe said... (3/31/16 9:41 AM) Reply
To fix the problem with the sleeve cap you want to first measure your sleeve cap length. Measure around your arm under the arms-eye (Your upper arm circumferance) and then from the bottom of that measurement take a measurement from the shoulder bone to the bottom of the first measurement. Mine is 6". On the pattern measure from the seam allowance at the top of the sleeve cap to the bottom of the arms eye. If the measurement is to short add the difference to the top of the sleeve and then taper in to the curves of the sleeve. You could probably google this.
Judy Kski replied...(4/1/16 10:45 AM)
Thanks so much for this information. I appreciate your taking the time to post.
Mari Jo said... (6/1/14 9:29 PM) Reply
I made this jacket with rayon and the biggest issue was the sleeves. They twisted badly. Had extra fabric so cut a slimmer sleeve with a higher cap from a tunic I knew fit well. Sadly, not much improvement. Removed the sleeves, finished the armholes with binding and created a vest. So, at least I saved my fabric. For me, the armholes are wide and deep and the back is narrow. I should have double checked ALL of the measurements. Don't know if I'll try another one or not.
Eunique said... (4/7/14 4:13 AM) Reply
Great comments. I just made this jacket from a cotton batik, and had the exact issues - the sleeve twists, and I hate that shoulder seam. I thought it was just me, or that I had picked the wrong fabric. Thank you for the tips on finishing.
liliv said... (10/27/13 1:49 PM) Reply
I love this on you, it has great fit no matter the issues you had and the fabric is so lovely!
Michele Lommasson said... (10/22/13 12:22 PM) Reply
Your jacket is quite lovely, despite the problems you ran into. It looks like you are at least getting some use from it! Thanks for a thoughtful review.
Deepika said... (10/22/13 11:30 AM) Reply
Judy, thanks for your honest review and I have to say that despite the problems, you made it work! Kudos. The jacket is lovely!
NEMDF said... (10/21/13 1:47 PM) Reply
Sleeve cap depth: Possibly take a horizontal slit in the pattern, (perpendicular to the sleeve length) and spread a bit near the top of the sleeve but deeper than the seam allowance?
RisaJ said... (10/21/13 9:27 AM) Reply
Thanks for your thorough review. The jacket does look pretty on you.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Pattern Work
Pattern Work

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

StyleArc Linda Stretch Pant

photo
by: Mmmberry

Review
Kwik Sew Kwik Sew

photo
by: katlew03

Review
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Pattern Details