SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> 122 05/2011 (Sew Retro Bombshell Dress)

Viewed 399 times 
Reviewed by:julliams
photo

 
 
About julliamsstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/07
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/13 12:00 PM
Last Updated:5/6/13 2:41 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caper81 said...
That is quite the "bombshell" dress! You look fantastic :)
5/4/13 12:09 PM
madbadger said...
Excellent review - thanks for adding all the info on sizing, that's where I struggle most. This looks fabulous on you!
5/4/13 4:17 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Wow, bombshell is right! You and your dress look amazing!!
5/4/13 9:13 PM
sewnotwork said...
Beautifully done! Thanks for sharing.
5/4/13 10:06 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress! Excellent fit.
5/4/13 11:43 PM
Nancywin said...
Congratulations - both on your dress and your birthday bash! I also have taken this class, but have not finished the dress. I got so hung up on fitting those bust cups and don't feel like they will ever work. It got to be winter and I lost the motivation to work on it since it was too cold to wear it. I may have to dig it out and take another look. YOurs looks wonderful!
5/4/13 11:56 PM
julliams said...
Thanks everyone. Nancywin, I came across a brilliant method of coming up with a pattern for the cups online. I can't seem to find it but basically you literally make a "cast" of your breast using tape (you kind of tape your breast "up" into place and then layer over and over with masking tape). Once you have made the cast, your draw the lines of the pattern, then remove the tape (yes it is a little uncomfortable) and cut along the lines. You are left with perfectly fitting cup pieces. I tried this method but actually went back to my second muslin as I liked it better. But it might be a way to get more of an idea of which piece needs to be enlarged where. If I find the website, I'll post the link. It's a little graphic but it's in the name of sewing so....
5/5/13 0:32 AM
julliams said...
http://www.patternschool.com/?page_id=248 Just be aware - it shows a blurred breast. It's not an issue to me but thought I should warn you.
5/5/13 0:33 AM
wildberrymom said...
Wow! What a great LBD for someone with your figure!
5/5/13 1:24 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Aptly named! Congratulations on a beautiful dress.
5/5/13 9:38 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Awesome!
5/5/13 10:18 AM
KatC83 said...
Firstly - stunning dress, and it fits so well. Secondly - I really appreciate the tips about cup size and bra wearing! Thanks for the excellent review, and congratulations on the big birthday!
5/6/13 4:42 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful on you!!! You make the dress, very sexy!
5/6/13 11:29 AM
mnitts said...
You look stunning and the dress is beautiful. Happy birthday!
5/7/13 12:19 PM
amynxdx said...
It looks fantastic. I'm in the middle of my first muslin with this and these cups are going to be the death of me! I did purchase a good strapless bra yesterday - so that has helped. We'll see how it goes!
8/26/13 9:18 AM
amynxdx said...
Thanks for the tip about the bra. I ended up going to Fredrick's Of Hollywood and getting a great fitting bra and wore that during the muslin fits and with the final garment - it really did help :) Your dress looks gorgeous!
10/2/13 9:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Other Manteau Origami -Lalimaya

photo
by: VeroSewsSt...

Review
Kwik Sew 2257

photo
by: Renren

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now