Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Downloadable: 122 05/2011 (Sew Retro Bombshell Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 382 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:julliams
photo
About julliamsstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/07
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/13 12:00 PM
Last Updated:5/6/13 2:41 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caper81 said...
That is quite the "bombshell" dress! You look fantastic :)
5/4/13 12:09 PM
madbadger said...
Excellent review - thanks for adding all the info on sizing, that's where I struggle most. This looks fabulous on you!
5/4/13 4:17 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Wow, bombshell is right! You and your dress look amazing!!
5/4/13 9:13 PM
sewnotwork said...
Beautifully done! Thanks for sharing.
5/4/13 10:06 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress! Excellent fit.
5/4/13 11:43 PM
Nancywin said...
Congratulations - both on your dress and your birthday bash! I also have taken this class, but have not finished the dress. I got so hung up on fitting those bust cups and don't feel like they will ever work. It got to be winter and I lost the motivation to work on it since it was too cold to wear it. I may have to dig it out and take another look. YOurs looks wonderful!
5/4/13 11:56 PM
julliams said...
Thanks everyone. Nancywin, I came across a brilliant method of coming up with a pattern for the cups online. I can't seem to find it but basically you literally make a "cast" of your breast using tape (you kind of tape your breast "up" into place and then layer over and over with masking tape). Once you have made the cast, your draw the lines of the pattern, then remove the tape (yes it is a little uncomfortable) and cut along the lines. You are left with perfectly fitting cup pieces. I tried this method but actually went back to my second muslin as I liked it better. But it might be a way to get more of an idea of which piece needs to be enlarged where. If I find the website, I'll post the link. It's a little graphic but it's in the name of sewing so....
5/5/13 0:32 AM
julliams said...
http://www.patternschool.com/?page_id=248 Just be aware - it shows a blurred breast. It's not an issue to me but thought I should warn you.
5/5/13 0:33 AM
wildberrymom said...
Wow! What a great LBD for someone with your figure!
5/5/13 1:24 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Aptly named! Congratulations on a beautiful dress.
5/5/13 9:38 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Awesome!
5/5/13 10:18 AM
KatC83 said...
Firstly - stunning dress, and it fits so well. Secondly - I really appreciate the tips about cup size and bra wearing! Thanks for the excellent review, and congratulations on the big birthday!
5/6/13 4:42 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful on you!!! You make the dress, very sexy!
5/6/13 11:29 AM
mnitts said...
You look stunning and the dress is beautiful. Happy birthday!
5/7/13 12:19 PM
amynxdx said...
It looks fantastic. I'm in the middle of my first muslin with this and these cups are going to be the death of me! I did purchase a good strapless bra yesterday - so that has helped. We'll see how it goes!
8/26/13 9:18 AM
amynxdx said...
Thanks for the tip about the bra. I ended up going to Fredrick's Of Hollywood and getting a great fitting bra and wore that during the muslin fits and with the final garment - it really did help :) Your dress looks gorgeous!
10/2/13 9:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 4110
photo
Review by meli88a on 4/6/08
Read Review

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Ziggi Jacket
photo
Review by Jrhee on 2/14/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1606 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1606 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6218 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )
New Look 6218 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us