SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> 122 05/2011 (Sew Retro Bombshell Dress)

Viewed 403 times 
Reviewed by:julliams
photo

 
 
About julliamsstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/07
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/13 12:00 PM
Last Updated:5/6/13 2:41 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
amynxdx said...
Thanks for the tip about the bra. I ended up going to Fredrick's Of Hollywood and getting a great fitting bra and wore that during the muslin fits and with the final garment - it really did help :) Your dress looks gorgeous!
10/2/13 9:37 AM
amynxdx said...
It looks fantastic. I'm in the middle of my first muslin with this and these cups are going to be the death of me! I did purchase a good strapless bra yesterday - so that has helped. We'll see how it goes!
8/26/13 9:18 AM
mnitts said...
You look stunning and the dress is beautiful. Happy birthday!
5/7/13 12:19 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful on you!!! You make the dress, very sexy!
5/6/13 11:29 AM
KatC83 said...
Firstly - stunning dress, and it fits so well. Secondly - I really appreciate the tips about cup size and bra wearing! Thanks for the excellent review, and congratulations on the big birthday!
5/6/13 4:42 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Awesome!
5/5/13 10:18 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Aptly named! Congratulations on a beautiful dress.
5/5/13 9:38 AM
wildberrymom said...
Wow! What a great LBD for someone with your figure!
5/5/13 1:24 AM
julliams said...
http://www.patternschool.com/?page_id=248 Just be aware - it shows a blurred breast. It's not an issue to me but thought I should warn you.
5/5/13 0:33 AM
julliams said...
Thanks everyone. Nancywin, I came across a brilliant method of coming up with a pattern for the cups online. I can't seem to find it but basically you literally make a "cast" of your breast using tape (you kind of tape your breast "up" into place and then layer over and over with masking tape). Once you have made the cast, your draw the lines of the pattern, then remove the tape (yes it is a little uncomfortable) and cut along the lines. You are left with perfectly fitting cup pieces. I tried this method but actually went back to my second muslin as I liked it better. But it might be a way to get more of an idea of which piece needs to be enlarged where. If I find the website, I'll post the link. It's a little graphic but it's in the name of sewing so....
5/5/13 0:32 AM
Nancywin said...
Congratulations - both on your dress and your birthday bash! I also have taken this class, but have not finished the dress. I got so hung up on fitting those bust cups and don't feel like they will ever work. It got to be winter and I lost the motivation to work on it since it was too cold to wear it. I may have to dig it out and take another look. YOurs looks wonderful!
5/4/13 11:56 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress! Excellent fit.
5/4/13 11:43 PM
sewnotwork said...
Beautifully done! Thanks for sharing.
5/4/13 10:06 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Wow, bombshell is right! You and your dress look amazing!!
5/4/13 9:13 PM
madbadger said...
Excellent review - thanks for adding all the info on sizing, that's where I struggle most. This looks fabulous on you!
5/4/13 4:17 PM
caper81 said...
That is quite the "bombshell" dress! You look fantastic :)
5/4/13 12:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 2874

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
Burda 0006A

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review