Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Grainline Studio: 31004 (Archer Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 523 times 53 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR
About Jstarr4250starstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 90 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:5/8/13 2:14 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $10.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $10.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Love your crisp looking striped shirt. The contrast facings are amazing. I can just picture that beautiful china!
5/8/13 3:50 PM
ArtAttack said...
OMG! This is adorable!! Your work is impeccable! I see not ONE skipped stitch. As cute as it can be with this combo. Can that shirt be made a little more fitted without too much alteration? I might get in on the sew-along, but don't have the pattern yet...
5/8/13 4:07 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks ladies! ArtAttack, I think you could easily make it more fitted by contouring the side seams or even adding some lengthwise darts. Others have described this as oversized and boxy but I haven't found that to be the case. I did do the sleeves and cuffs two sizes smaller, since I don't like excess fabric there. I hope you decide to join in. I'd LOVE to see all the colorful Archers you would dream up! (The pattern is downloadable.)
5/8/13 4:16 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oooh, I might...I'm sending you a PM.
5/8/13 4:27 PM
liliv said...
I like your shirt very much! The flirty fabric you used to line the collar band, cuffs etc makes a very nice contrast with the strict striped fabric of the garment. Your sewing looks professional:)
5/8/13 5:01 PM
Lori V said...
Love your Archer shirt, I would like to join the 12 months of Achers' sew along. Is it on flickr?
5/8/13 6:10 PM
mnitts said...
Wow wow wow. Did I say wow wow wow? I think this and the minoru jacket patterns are the next 2 patterns I NEED!
5/8/13 6:29 PM
mm said...
I can see an archer coming on. Great shirt.
5/8/13 7:32 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Anyone who is interested in the 12 month sew along, I've set up a Flickr group called "12 Months of "Grainline Studios Archer Shirt" Sew along". Any ideas of other places to get the word out?
5/8/13 8:29 PM
Sue Parrott said...
oh, I just love the contrast you used! So cute!
5/8/13 10:23 PM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful!
5/8/13 11:39 PM
jenleeC said...
Lovely shirt! I have seen lots of lovely Archer shirts around and your version is perfect!
5/9/13 0:04 AM
Zoe1986 said...
Love this pattern and your topstitching is just perfect!! The contrasting fabric is fabulous. WELL DONE!!!!
5/9/13 1:22 AM
Margie T said...
What a lovley shirt! Love the contrast fabric on on the collar & cuffs.
5/9/13 2:37 AM
Dilliander said...
Very nice indeed, a beautiful shirt!
5/9/13 3:37 AM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! Fresh, crisp-looking and different.
5/9/13 4:41 AM
grays08 said...
Great shirt with the contrasting and great job working with the poly!
5/9/13 9:29 AM
redside said...
Very classy!
5/9/13 10:04 AM
cleverkitty said...
gorgeous color/pattern combining, inspiration is everywhere you proved it :)
5/9/13 4:33 PM
Annette1 said...
I could just admire your workmanship all day long. In fact, I'm feeling like a real SLUG for not STEPPING IT UP in the sewing room, after seeing your MASTERPIECES. :o) Truly unique and stunning. You're such an inspiration!
5/11/13 1:20 AM
sarahjoharris said...
Yours is my favorite Archer I've seen. Love the classic stripe with the contrasting fabric. The fit looks great--love a lettering, classic button-down.
5/12/13 3:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 9911 Suit
photo
Review by HRigg on 1/6/14
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Children's Corner 260 Johnny
photo
Review by mcholley on 10/30/10
Read Review

McCalls 6494 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG )
McCalls 6494 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1643 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 1643 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us