SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4396 (Fast & Easy Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 380 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/13 1:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sfshaza said...
What a great top, Annette! I need something like this. It fits you perfectly and, what a bonus, that it is a quick sew!
5/14/13 10:34 PM
Margaret said...
Very cute and it also looks like it'll be a great wardrobe item!
5/14/13 2:48 PM
Catbird said...
I love it! I made a similar one several years ago from a BWOF pattern. It's such a great layering piece and this one looks fantastic on you.
5/11/13 2:43 PM
cmarie12 said...
Nice especially since you got two in a couple of hours!
5/10/13 10:10 PM
wildberrymom said...
Very cute! I've been pondering this pattern and trying to decide if it's best for me and my figure challenges but Hobby Lobby has McCall's patterns for $.99 right now and they have a similar one so maybe now is the time to purchase the pattern and try it when I make up my mind. Very nice basic!
5/10/13 3:39 PM
1SewSweet said...
Very, very cute shrug Annette! I love your hair too! As women some of us have to stop being so critical on ourselves! You're too cute!
5/10/13 5:10 AM
Karendee said...
Annette, this little shrug is just perfect. It has no swooping tails to engulf you and the fitted look is so flattering. This little top would not be cheap in RTW and yours just extends your wardrobe perfectly. Did you double the hem or just turn it up and stitch? Also good call on the sleeve insertion.
5/9/13 8:15 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Hmmm, that top looks to be a perfect length, not too short like most with the ties like that. I always enjoy reading your reviews. :)
5/9/13 2:39 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
How useful this piece would be. I'll have to try and find the pattern. Looks very good on you.
5/9/13 2:13 PM
MamaSewing said...
Great little topper!
5/9/13 11:38 AM
ArtAttack said...
What a cute accent piece...love it paired with the bamboo print in your pic. Great job!
5/9/13 11:03 AM
SewWil said...
Pretty and functional. Great wardrobe builder. Looks great on you.
5/9/13 10:01 AM
Barbara V said...
Cocker Spaniel Annette, your shoulders always look just right! Do you really put shoulder pads in all of your clothes? Well, good trick. This is a great layering top that adds interest to many types of garments from casual to dressy. Yours looks super. While I don't own this particular pattern I'm going to look for a similar one in my pattern stash (there must be one in there somewhere!) I really like the idea of sewing a quick item....I'm ready for something like that right now!
5/9/13 9:55 AM
marec said...
This is a great addition to any wardrobe and I love it on you. Looks like a good fit also. Thank you for all the construction details!
5/9/13 9:33 AM
Christas said...
So cute, Annette! This pattern really adds a nice completer garment for an outfit. I love how you are wearing it in the picture. It makes a top and jeans have a more "finished" and stylish look. The garment is also so perfect to wear over dresses, too. Excellent review, as always.... and, "cocker spaniel" shoulders my eye! You are sooo funny!
5/9/13 8:12 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice.
5/9/13 4:45 AM
Sigrid. said...
Nice basic to use over tops (like the lovely top in your picture) or dresses. Don't you love patterns that you can make two of in one evening fromt time to time.
5/9/13 1:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

McCall's 6505

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review

Pattern

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2010-133

photo
by: tiadia

Review
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

More Info