Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4396 (Fast & Easy Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 372 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/13 1:23 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
Nice basic to use over tops (like the lovely top in your picture) or dresses. Don't you love patterns that you can make two of in one evening fromt time to time.
5/9/13 1:59 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice.
5/9/13 4:45 AM
Christas said...
So cute, Annette! This pattern really adds a nice completer garment for an outfit. I love how you are wearing it in the picture. It makes a top and jeans have a more "finished" and stylish look. The garment is also so perfect to wear over dresses, too. Excellent review, as always.... and, "cocker spaniel" shoulders my eye! You are sooo funny!
5/9/13 8:12 AM
marec said...
This is a great addition to any wardrobe and I love it on you. Looks like a good fit also. Thank you for all the construction details!
5/9/13 9:33 AM
Barbara V said...
Cocker Spaniel Annette, your shoulders always look just right! Do you really put shoulder pads in all of your clothes? Well, good trick. This is a great layering top that adds interest to many types of garments from casual to dressy. Yours looks super. While I don't own this particular pattern I'm going to look for a similar one in my pattern stash (there must be one in there somewhere!) I really like the idea of sewing a quick item....I'm ready for something like that right now!
5/9/13 9:55 AM
SewWil said...
Pretty and functional. Great wardrobe builder. Looks great on you.
5/9/13 10:01 AM
ArtAttack said...
What a cute accent piece...love it paired with the bamboo print in your pic. Great job!
5/9/13 11:03 AM
MamaSewing said...
Great little topper!
5/9/13 11:38 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
How useful this piece would be. I'll have to try and find the pattern. Looks very good on you.
5/9/13 2:13 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Hmmm, that top looks to be a perfect length, not too short like most with the ties like that. I always enjoy reading your reviews. :)
5/9/13 2:39 PM
Karendee said...
Annette, this little shrug is just perfect. It has no swooping tails to engulf you and the fitted look is so flattering. This little top would not be cheap in RTW and yours just extends your wardrobe perfectly. Did you double the hem or just turn it up and stitch? Also good call on the sleeve insertion.
5/9/13 8:15 PM
1SewSweet said...
Very, very cute shrug Annette! I love your hair too! As women some of us have to stop being so critical on ourselves! You're too cute!
5/10/13 5:10 AM
wildberrymom said...
Very cute! I've been pondering this pattern and trying to decide if it's best for me and my figure challenges but Hobby Lobby has McCall's patterns for $.99 right now and they have a similar one so maybe now is the time to purchase the pattern and try it when I make up my mind. Very nice basic!
5/10/13 3:39 PM
cmarie12 said...
Nice especially since you got two in a couple of hours!
5/10/13 10:10 PM
Catbird said...
I love it! I made a similar one several years ago from a BWOF pattern. It's such a great layering piece and this one looks fantastic on you.
5/11/13 2:43 PM
Margaret said...
Very cute and it also looks like it'll be a great wardrobe item!
5/14/13 2:48 PM
sfshaza said...
What a great top, Annette! I need something like this. It fits you perfectly and, what a bonus, that it is a quick sew!
5/14/13 10:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Amy Butler AB024MB
photo
Review by EeLo on 3/27/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3160 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3160 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2613 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )
Simplicity 2613 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8659
photo
Review by rivergum on 10/28/12
Read Review

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us