Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: 1930s Vionnet Scarf (1930s Vionnet Scarf) - Type:Accessories
Review submitted in CHALLENGE CONTEST - ACCESSORY INSPIRATION Contest    printable version
Viewed 456 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:JetSetSewing
photo
Friend of PR
About JetSetSewingstar
MA USA
Member since: 6/29/12
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/13 2:35 PM
Last Updated:2/6/14 8:17 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Linen Blend  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
For details and photos of the making of this scarf, please visit my blog, JetSetSewing.com: Photos and Instructions for making the Vionnet Scarf
The pattern is an exact replica of a 1930s scarf designed by French Couturier Madeleine Vionnet (also known as Madame Vionnet). I made it from linen woven with gold metallic mylar, to compliment the gold gladiator sandals in the accessories contest. Vionnet's early designs were based on Roman togas, and her masterful use of the bias cut made her a legend in fashion design. (Not to mention that she invented the Infinity Scarf.)
In the 80s, Betty Kirke wrote a now-famous book about Vionnet that included drawings of patterns for her dresses and this scarf, but didn't give the patterns to scale. Later the students at Bunka Fashion School in Japan recreated the dresses and put the patterns on grids to be reproduced, which are in another book. Using those two sources I was able to recreate the scarf. I used rapidresizer.com to enlarge the pattern in the Bunka book.
The pattern itself is a marvel of engineering. It's made of two pieces of fabric, cut on the bias, which have four strategic darts. The two pieces are folded in on themselves and seamed, and then sewn together in an infinity loop. You drape both loops over your shoulders, put your arms through and pull both loops through to make a bow without a knot. Pure genius. Here's a link to a Pinterest page of mine with links to the books and other info about Madame Vionnet: http://pinterest.com/juleseclectic/make-your-own-vionnet-dress/

Pattern Sizing:
One size
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, it came out exactly as it looked in the book.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were in Japanese in the Bunka book, so I followed the pictures. The Betty Kirke book describes how the scarf was tied. You can probably figure this project out just by using the Bunka book. For the dresses you would need both books.
Update: I wanted to add that I learned the skills to mark and make a muslin in Susan Khalje's "Couture Dress" course on craftsy.com. I can't say enough about that class--it gave my skills a huge upgrade in a short period of time. I highly recommend it!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I loved that I was holding a piece of fashion design history in my hands. Also, once you get the hang of it, these scarves are very easy to make.
Fabric Used:
Linen woven with gold-colored mylar. Unfortunately these pictures don't show how the gold catches the light, which is another nice aspect of this scarf. This pattern works best with fabric that has some body, to hold up the bow.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
These are going to be my Christmas presents to everyone. They take about an hour and a half to make.
Conclusion:
I really enjoyed this project. I highly recommend splurging on that Betty Kirke Vionnet book. It has so much information about Vionnet's life and work, and it looks cool on your coffee table.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quickie said...
SVplendid idea
5/9/13 3:01 PM
Quickie said...
Splendid idea
5/9/13 4:16 PM
BillieJean said...
Looks fabulous!
5/9/13 4:26 PM
JetSetSewing said...
Thanks ladies!
5/9/13 6:50 PM
meggipeg said...
Wow, that's so cool and it looks super-stylish.
5/9/13 9:23 PM
NJcowgirl said...
The scarf is beautiful. Thank you for all the hints and info on the books. Appreciate it.
5/10/13 11:20 AM
Renren said...
Very nice. I had not heard of these before--they look a little tricky to figure out but very easy and stylish to wear.
5/10/13 8:04 PM
ChristmasHills said...
I would like very much to be on your Christmas list. It's just lovely.
5/11/13 1:05 AM
JetSetSewing said...
Thanks! I want to add that if anyone decides to try this from the Bunka book, you can message me and I can give you some tips.
5/11/13 10:50 AM
Clareew said...
Great review, really informative
5/12/13 3:04 PM
Margaret said...
Very cool -- lovely scarf! This fabric looks great, especially on the bias!
5/18/13 5:28 PM
KathB said...
I'm in love with Vionnet designs and inspired designs! Thanks for the info about the books; I'll be looking for them.
5/20/13 8:12 PM
KathB said...
I'm in love with Vionnet designs and inspired designs! Thanks for the info about the books; I'll be looking for them.
5/20/13 8:12 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Dramatic and beautiful. I'm glad to see this bumped up. I just received the Betty Kirke book for Christmas.
2/6/14 9:59 AM
Speech girl said...
It's a wonderful and iconic scarf.
2/6/14 2:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 5335 coordinates
photo
Review by Linda G on 1/6/08
Read Review

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6900 Pattern
Burda 6900 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3745 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by shannie on 8/6/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Details
Price: $89.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maggie
Maggie

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us