SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V8504 

1 more reviews
Viewed 196 times 
Reviewed by:KateLoom
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KateLoomstar
MA United States
Member since: 6/22/07
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/13 4:29 PM
Last Updated:5/11/13 10:57 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rosebeee said...
Knowing what styles of patterns/clothes look good on me is one of the hardest parts to sewing! For FBA's without guidlines on the pattern, my go-to resource is the book "Fit For Real People".
5/10/13 4:33 PM
Nancy K said...
If you are going to continue to sew clothes for yourself I suggest that you make a croqui of yourself. I took a photo of myself in a fairly simple pose, copied it and made a traced line drawing which I then recopied. I put it under tracing paper and draw possible patterns on it. It's a good way to figure out if something will look good on you. It's helped me from some pretty unflattering patterns. I also suggest really looking at the line drawing because we are often seduced by how the model looks and we are not the model!
5/10/13 4:42 PM
kkkkaty said...
Enjoyed your review, sorry it didn't work out! I'm roughly in the same place, many years of sewing clothes for little kids and other simple things. It's hard to figure out what may look good before it's actually made (and therefore avoid making it if it won't be flattering), but I'm getting better at it.
5/10/13 7:28 PM
PattyE said...
Sorry this one didn't work out for you...can you repurpose the fabric as it would be a shame to have used your vintage fabric on something you won't wear.
5/11/13 0:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now