SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8886 (Misses' Top, Dress and Pants)

14 more reviews
Viewed 382 times 
Reviewed by:Karen Carr
photo

 
 
About Karen Carrstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/8/11
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/13 11:51 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AuntieShel said...
Can see from you pic that pants look slightly too long in crotch; other than that they look great on you and are super cute!!! I love checks! Could you pull them up at the waist and take a slighly deeper seam just at the waist side seams or would that throw the rest of the fit off? It may entail cutting off some fabric at the waist around the whole circumference. I am not experienced in pants fitting so not sure this would work. I have this pattern and thought the pants would be more fitted, like you. They really are adorable, would be a shame to limit them to the garden!
5/11/13 1:00 PM
ArtAttack said...
You have a REALLY good start on these. I agree with AuntieShel that the crotch is still a bit droopy. I think another bit taken in there will be the trick. I am always amazed at these patterns that appear to have pegged legs and they are huge! This one is on my list to buy today so go ahead and make that top...lol
5/11/13 1:17 PM
Re Becca said...
I think that when you take a tuck in the crotch length, they will be well fitted, even though it isn't the style look that you are looking for. That pattern envelope picture is horrible!
5/11/13 10:34 PM
wildberrymom said...
I agree--great start on these pants. I have never been a muslin person until the past couple of years--I am often tempted to forge ahead but have usually been glad when I took the time. Your pants look good.
5/12/13 1:08 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
You're right- they do look worth getting right. Love the checks. This would be a great TNT pattern to own. Pants fitting still scares me, though!
5/12/13 8:58 AM
MNBarb said...
You are SO close. I think you might want to get back on that pants-fitting horse for another ride. With a little tweak in the crotch length you will have perfection. I just bought this pattern and also would have thought Audrey Hepburn. Glad you wrote this review.
5/24/13 6:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Simplicity 5914

photo
by: guineveres...

Review