SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8904 (Misses Dress)

43 more reviews
Viewed 1354 times 
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jstarr4250starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 158 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:5/11/13 6:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GayleMI said...
You look soooooo much better in it than the model. Love the color too
9/28/14 6:49 PM
Lori V said...
Really pretty dress, sorry the fabric was the issue.
7/21/13 8:10 AM
SewLibra said...
OMG your striped version looks exactly like the pattern envelope!
7/6/13 11:23 PM
staymay said...
This dress is gorgeous!!! Love the color!
6/11/13 5:26 PM
MNBarb said...
Beautiful!
6/11/13 3:40 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I love your version!
6/10/13 12:28 PM
marthamyers said...
Great to know about the layers - so important when selecting fabric! and the suggested finishing techniques - thanks for the info!. Yours is lovely on you and on the dress form.
5/31/13 2:18 PM
marleesmom said...
This is lovely. It looks great on you and the style is so on trend. I will definitely be trying this pattern-and using your suggestions.
5/23/13 6:53 AM
SewWil said...
How did I miss this?!!! I think it looks wonderful but I understand how you feel. You have to be comfortable with it. Maybe after a while the pain of the fabric will disappear and you will enjoy your dress. It is a great color.
5/21/13 4:29 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks for all the great feedback and compliments, ladies. After wearing the dress for the first time and taking your comments to heart, I've amended my pattern rating to "Recommend with Modifications". I've decided the bumpy side seams look worse on the hanger than they do when I'm wearing it! BarbaraZ, I've added a back view.
5/19/13 8:22 AM
BarbaraZ said...
Love the alterations you made! I'm just about to give this pattern a try and really will consider leaving the back a single layer...would love to see a photo of your's from the back. Thanks for the tips! Very helpful indeed! PS - the striped one is a real stunner too!
5/18/13 11:06 AM
marec said...
I think this looks great on you, and it was a very helpful review. Thanks so much for the info about finishing the neckline and armscyes. I usually do the recommended finish technique as it seems easier for my fingers...:-) Both look great on your dress.
5/13/13 2:11 PM
sfshaza said...
See, I think this pattern DOES work on you! It was the fabric that let you down. I hope you make it again!
5/13/13 12:29 PM
KBT Sewer said...
This pattern has only just become available in the UK (but I'd already seen it on Marcy Tilton's website), so was delighted to read your review as I am seriously considering sending for it. I think both dresses look very stylish on you, despite you being unhappy with the cheap fabric. I may well experiment with ways to finish the raw edges on the 'shingles' as I don't like this unfinished look either. Thanks for the review.
5/13/13 11:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like your dress. I just got this pattern so your review is most helpful
5/13/13 7:03 AM
sandysewin said...
It looks really nice on you. Thanks for all the great tips. Too bad you couldn't have sold them your original pattern. ;-)
5/12/13 9:26 PM
SavageCoco said...
I think this is a Traffic Stopper on you. And YAY for Wonder Tape!
5/12/13 7:00 PM
wendyrb said...
You set a very high standard for yourself! You did a great job here and I learned a lot from your review. Fun to compare how this pattern can be for different body types, finishes and fabrics. I say bask in the glorious reviews here and enjoy your terrific red dress. Thanks!
5/12/13 1:15 PM
Renren said...
This is really a beautiful dress and I think it is so cool that you created a similar one in advance of there being a pattern available. (I'm wondering if possibly you have checked the wrong box since "Pattern OK, but did NOT work for Me " doesn't seem to match your experience based on the review or the results you have achieved with this lovely dress.)
5/12/13 10:34 AM
cleverkitty said...
This is when experience really pays off when coming across techniques that seem unnecessarily harder or unfinished. Thanks for reviewing I probably would not have taken the time, thank goodness for people like you. It does look really good in the picture, I understand your dislikes.
5/12/13 9:00 AM
VivianZ said...
Thanks for the review. I think your striped one was dead on, considering you didn't have a pattern. I do love the red one on you also.
5/12/13 8:35 AM
1SewSweet said...
I really like this dress on you and thanks so much for reviewing this pattern! Sorry about the problems with the fabric, but you do have a really great dress! (Both, this one and the striped one you self drafted!!)
5/12/13 7:36 AM
mnitts said...
Wow this looks fab! Another great job. Very sexy!
5/12/13 7:29 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Athe dress looks nice Julie but sorry to read the woes of the pattern. Your JMcLaughlin dress was so cute that I was excited to see this pattern out! Thanks for giving it a try for the rest of us,
5/12/13 6:35 AM
JillyBe said...
Sorry you're not happy with the fabric; I think it looks fabulous on you!
5/12/13 3:07 AM
SusiM said...
Both dresses are super! Thanks for the helpful review, too.
5/12/13 2:01 AM
wildberrymom said...
This dress looks great on you as does your drafted one! I love seeing these patterns made up for people that look good in them i.e slim. Fun to live vicariously.
5/12/13 0:50 AM
Meredith P said...
It looks great on you. I'm sorry you're not entirely pleased with it. Loved you self designed version too!
5/12/13 0:30 AM
RadarRadiance said...
I love it on you! So classy looking. Love the first version in the stripe that you made too! Didn't see that one reviewed and really enjoyed seeing both of them.
5/11/13 10:46 PM
Re Becca said...
I agree with the others, I think it looks pretty. Their instructions can be confusing, that thing with the neckline sounds confusing.
5/11/13 10:27 PM
Jrhee said...
I think it looks very pretty in red, and I also love your striped rendition!
5/11/13 9:38 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Awww, I love it on you! But I also think your striped version is awesome too!
5/11/13 9:21 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, I think it looks awesome! I'm so happy you pioneered this since I just bought this pattern today. I will definitely give your review another look before starting on this. Great job and review!
5/11/13 8:48 PM
JudyMac said...
Gorgeous!
5/11/13 7:56 PM
Barbara V said...
This style is very pretty in red! To bad you are not entirely happy with your outcome, but it still looks really nice. Oh, the lessons we learn...."life is too short to use cheap fabric" is a wise adage!
5/11/13 7:08 PM
lakaribane said...
Thanks for this review. was wondering if the tiers overlapped completely and as it seems they do, you are right that one needs a thin knit. I have a thin striped rayon knit that might just do the trick (as soon as I get the pattern, LOL!)
5/11/13 6:47 PM
PattyE said...
Sorry you're not liking this one. It does look very nice on you. I'm with you on the cheap fabric lesson.
5/11/13 6:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

Portabello Pixie Ruffle Pants

photo
by: JanElise

Review
Marfy 2643

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info