Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8904 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1225 times 36 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR
About Jstarr4250starstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 90 people
patterns reviewed: 64
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:5/11/13 6:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PattyE said...
Sorry you're not liking this one. It does look very nice on you. I'm with you on the cheap fabric lesson.
5/11/13 6:43 PM
lakaribane said...
Thanks for this review. was wondering if the tiers overlapped completely and as it seems they do, you are right that one needs a thin knit. I have a thin striped rayon knit that might just do the trick (as soon as I get the pattern, LOL!)
5/11/13 6:47 PM
Barbara V said...
This style is very pretty in red! To bad you are not entirely happy with your outcome, but it still looks really nice. Oh, the lessons we learn...."life is too short to use cheap fabric" is a wise adage!
5/11/13 7:08 PM
JudyMac said...
Gorgeous!
5/11/13 7:56 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, I think it looks awesome! I'm so happy you pioneered this since I just bought this pattern today. I will definitely give your review another look before starting on this. Great job and review!
5/11/13 8:48 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Awww, I love it on you! But I also think your striped version is awesome too!
5/11/13 9:21 PM
Jrhee said...
I think it looks very pretty in red, and I also love your striped rendition!
5/11/13 9:38 PM
Re Becca said...
I agree with the others, I think it looks pretty. Their instructions can be confusing, that thing with the neckline sounds confusing.
5/11/13 10:27 PM
RadarRadiance said...
I love it on you! So classy looking. Love the first version in the stripe that you made too! Didn't see that one reviewed and really enjoyed seeing both of them.
5/11/13 10:46 PM
Meredith P said...
It looks great on you. I'm sorry you're not entirely pleased with it. Loved you self designed version too!
5/12/13 0:30 AM
wildberrymom said...
This dress looks great on you as does your drafted one! I love seeing these patterns made up for people that look good in them i.e slim. Fun to live vicariously.
5/12/13 0:50 AM
SusiM said...
Both dresses are super! Thanks for the helpful review, too.
5/12/13 2:01 AM
JillyBe said...
Sorry you're not happy with the fabric; I think it looks fabulous on you!
5/12/13 3:07 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Athe dress looks nice Julie but sorry to read the woes of the pattern. Your JMcLaughlin dress was so cute that I was excited to see this pattern out! Thanks for giving it a try for the rest of us,
5/12/13 6:35 AM
mnitts said...
Wow this looks fab! Another great job. Very sexy!
5/12/13 7:29 AM
1SewSweet said...
I really like this dress on you and thanks so much for reviewing this pattern! Sorry about the problems with the fabric, but you do have a really great dress! (Both, this one and the striped one you self drafted!!)
5/12/13 7:36 AM
VivianZ said...
Thanks for the review. I think your striped one was dead on, considering you didn't have a pattern. I do love the red one on you also.
5/12/13 8:35 AM
cleverkitty said...
This is when experience really pays off when coming across techniques that seem unnecessarily harder or unfinished. Thanks for reviewing I probably would not have taken the time, thank goodness for people like you. It does look really good in the picture, I understand your dislikes.
5/12/13 9:00 AM
Renren said...
This is really a beautiful dress and I think it is so cool that you created a similar one in advance of there being a pattern available. (I'm wondering if possibly you have checked the wrong box since "Pattern OK, but did NOT work for Me " doesn't seem to match your experience based on the review or the results you have achieved with this lovely dress.)
5/12/13 10:34 AM
wendyrb said...
You set a very high standard for yourself! You did a great job here and I learned a lot from your review. Fun to compare how this pattern can be for different body types, finishes and fabrics. I say bask in the glorious reviews here and enjoy your terrific red dress. Thanks!
5/12/13 1:15 PM
SavageCoco said...
I think this is a Traffic Stopper on you. And YAY for Wonder Tape!
5/12/13 7:00 PM
sandysewin said...
It looks really nice on you. Thanks for all the great tips. Too bad you couldn't have sold them your original pattern. ;-)
5/12/13 9:26 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I like your dress. I just got this pattern so your review is most helpful
5/13/13 7:03 AM
KBT Sewer said...
This pattern has only just become available in the UK (but I'd already seen it on Marcy Tilton's website), so was delighted to read your review as I am seriously considering sending for it. I think both dresses look very stylish on you, despite you being unhappy with the cheap fabric. I may well experiment with ways to finish the raw edges on the 'shingles' as I don't like this unfinished look either. Thanks for the review.
5/13/13 11:10 AM
sfshaza said...
See, I think this pattern DOES work on you! It was the fabric that let you down. I hope you make it again!
5/13/13 12:29 PM
marec said...
I think this looks great on you, and it was a very helpful review. Thanks so much for the info about finishing the neckline and armscyes. I usually do the recommended finish technique as it seems easier for my fingers...:-) Both look great on your dress.
5/13/13 2:11 PM
BarbaraZ said...
Love the alterations you made! I'm just about to give this pattern a try and really will consider leaving the back a single layer...would love to see a photo of your's from the back. Thanks for the tips! Very helpful indeed! PS - the striped one is a real stunner too!
5/18/13 11:06 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks for all the great feedback and compliments, ladies. After wearing the dress for the first time and taking your comments to heart, I've amended my pattern rating to "Recommend with Modifications". I've decided the bumpy side seams look worse on the hanger than they do when I'm wearing it! BarbaraZ, I've added a back view.
5/19/13 8:22 AM
SewWil said...
How did I miss this?!!! I think it looks wonderful but I understand how you feel. You have to be comfortable with it. Maybe after a while the pain of the fabric will disappear and you will enjoy your dress. It is a great color.
5/21/13 4:29 PM
marleesmom said...
This is lovely. It looks great on you and the style is so on trend. I will definitely be trying this pattern-and using your suggestions.
5/23/13 6:53 AM
marthamyers said...
Great to know about the layers - so important when selecting fabric! and the suggested finishing techniques - thanks for the info!. Yours is lovely on you and on the dress form.
5/31/13 2:18 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I love your version!
6/10/13 12:28 PM
MNBarb said...
Beautiful!
6/11/13 3:40 PM
staymay said...
This dress is gorgeous!!! Love the color!
6/11/13 5:26 PM
SewLibra said...
OMG your striped version looks exactly like the pattern envelope!
7/6/13 11:23 PM
Lori V said...
Really pretty dress, sorry the fabric was the issue.
7/21/13 8:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

McCall's 5459
photo
Review by PNSnNeedle... on 8/2/10
Read Review

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest
photo
Review by nicegirl on 9/30/12
Read Review

New Look 6578 Pattern
New Look 6578 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1402 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1402 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us