SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6463 (pull-on skirts with flounce)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1496 times 
Reviewed by:tigger
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tiggerstar
AE USA
Member since: 1/8/05
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/05 3:00 PM
Last Updated:3/20/05 3:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in Austin said...
Lovely job!! How's the elastic waistband application done? Best I can tell yours looks really smooth and flat. And congrats on picking the right size for you. In the big 4 pattern companies, that's always my biggest challenge.
3/20/05 3:14 PM
tigger said...
Thanks Leslie! :) Compliments mean a lot coming from you since I SO much love your work! The elastic waistband application was pretty easy - they have you finish the entire casing first, leaving just a small opening to insert the elastic. You then feed the elastic through and stitch the ends together, after which you slipstitch the opening closed and stitch through the center back seam and elastic to keep it in place. Since the fabric was so sheer - and since I used a 1/2in elastic instead of a 3/4 elastic - it was pretty easy to keep flat. And yes choosing the right size has been a big challenge with me but I'm starting to gain confidence and I'm measuring myself more and paying attention to ease so I'm becoming a little more daring! Lets hope it works well for the jacket I'm working on at the moment! :)
3/20/05 3:22 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your skirt is so very pretty! Glad to hear that this New look pattern worked well for you. I have some New Look patterns and need the inspiration. :)
3/20/05 4:14 PM
MarthaH said...
Tigger, That looks really nice. Glad you are gaining confidence and good luck on that jacket you're working on.
3/20/05 4:26 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice skirt Tigger! Yes choosing the right size can be a little frustrating sometimes but remember,it's easier to take in a garment than it is to add on once it's cut!
3/20/05 5:24 PM
flowermama said...
I am still learning my size. I too tend to go bigger. Your skirt is lovely and it's good to know that it feels good on because I have this pattern and I may now be daring enough to try it!
3/20/05 6:47 PM
AnneM said...
Nice skirt; it seems like a very flattering style to show off curves nicely. I like this flounce - not over-the-top.
3/21/05 7:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Kwik Sew 3478

photo
by: globalgran

Review
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now