Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2013-129 (Pleated Shorts) - Type:Shorts    printable version
Viewed 195 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:grays08
photo
Friend of PR
About grays08starstar
IL USA
Member since: 9/13/11
Reviews written: 93
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/13 10:32 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
The shorts look fantastic on you, great fit and dressy for shorts.
5/13/13 10:37 AM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute! They fit great.
5/13/13 10:37 AM
MNBarb said...
I know you think the shorts are a bit full but I like the way they look on you. The color is beautiful and they fit well.
5/13/13 11:04 AM
persevering said...
Thank you very much for your detailed review (especially re: your measurements vs pattern). In addition, I agree with everything already stated by others.
5/13/13 11:57 AM
liliv said...
You acheived a very nice fit and your shorts in this color and fabric are very stylish and dressy. This pattern is very nice I like the pleats and the fullness. Very good review!
5/13/13 12:42 PM
grays08 said...
Thanks to everyone for the great feedback. I definitely appreciate the fit advice, because I will make these again and don't want to over-work these.
5/13/13 1:43 PM
Clareew said...
Great review, I love the look of them - very classy
5/13/13 2:24 PM
Elona said...
What classic, beautiful shorts!
5/13/13 4:38 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous shorts!! I am definitely sewing these up this summer.
5/13/13 9:44 PM
gsp1066 said...
> I'm very flat if not concave in my lower back above my rear (but not my rear, how does that work?) Thanks for the review. I was thinking of sewing them up and I have a similar figure. They look so cute on you, I will definitely put them in my queue. An old version of the Vogue Fitting book discussed common fitting issues. I was especially intrigued when it said that flat derrierre, sway back and portruding tummy often occur together. How does that happen? It's Cavalieri's principle. Volume stays the same, whichever way you skew the stack. Look at the figure at the link below. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cavalieri's_principle Anyway, I have a mild case of hip dysplasia. That is caused by a very wide and tilted pelvis. When viewed from the side, sway back, a low derriere and portruding tummy is present. It's not a personal failing (not doing enough stomach crunches); it's just my skeletal form. It's a good thing I can sew clothes that fit. You and your shorts look great.
5/13/13 11:37 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
These shorts look wonderful on you. I love the color. I do very much like the style, it's very flattering.
5/14/13 11:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 7328 Fall Handbags
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 12/11/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1426 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1426 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7026 Pattern
Burda 7026 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2344
photo
Review by annie11 on 1/12/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us