SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2013-129 (Pleated Shorts)

2 more reviews
Viewed 219 times 
Reviewed by:grays08
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About grays08starstarstar
Member since: 9/13/11
Reviews: 110 (patterns: 108)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/13 10:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michele Lommasson said... (5/14/13 11:46 AM) Reply
These shorts look wonderful on you. I love the color. I do very much like the style, it's very flattering.
gsp1066 said... (5/13/13 11:37 PM) Reply
> I'm very flat if not concave in my lower back above my rear (but not my rear, how does that work?) Thanks for the review. I was thinking of sewing them up and I have a similar figure. They look so cute on you, I will definitely put them in my queue. An old version of the Vogue Fitting book discussed common fitting issues. I was especially intrigued when it said that flat derrierre, sway back and portruding tummy often occur together. How does that happen? It's Cavalieri's principle. Volume stays the same, whichever way you skew the stack. Look at the figure at the link below. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cavalieri's_principle Anyway, I have a mild case of hip dysplasia. That is caused by a very wide and tilted pelvis. When viewed from the side, sway back, a low derriere and portruding tummy is present. It's not a personal failing (not doing enough stomach crunches); it's just my skeletal form. It's a good thing I can sew clothes that fit. You and your shorts look great.
HawkeMorningStar7 said... (5/13/13 9:44 PM) Reply
Fabulous shorts!! I am definitely sewing these up this summer.
Elona said... (5/13/13 4:38 PM) Reply
What classic, beautiful shorts!
Clareew said... (5/13/13 2:24 PM) Reply
Great review, I love the look of them - very classy
grays08 said... (5/13/13 1:43 PM) Reply
Thanks to everyone for the great feedback. I definitely appreciate the fit advice, because I will make these again and don't want to over-work these.
liliv said... (5/13/13 12:42 PM) Reply
You acheived a very nice fit and your shorts in this color and fabric are very stylish and dressy. This pattern is very nice I like the pleats and the fullness. Very good review!
persevering said... (5/13/13 11:57 AM) Reply
Thank you very much for your detailed review (especially re: your measurements vs pattern). In addition, I agree with everything already stated by others.
MNBarb said... (5/13/13 11:04 AM) Reply
I know you think the shorts are a bit full but I like the way they look on you. The color is beautiful and they fit well.
ArtAttack said... (5/13/13 10:37 AM) Reply
Super cute! They fit great.
RadarRadiance said... (5/13/13 10:37 AM) Reply
The shorts look fantastic on you, great fit and dressy for shorts.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8856

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Pattern Details