SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2013-129 (Pleated Shorts)

2 more reviews
Viewed 205 times 
Reviewed by:grays08
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About grays08starstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 9/13/11
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 95
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/13 10:32 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
The shorts look fantastic on you, great fit and dressy for shorts.
5/13/13 10:37 AM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute! They fit great.
5/13/13 10:37 AM
MNBarb said...
I know you think the shorts are a bit full but I like the way they look on you. The color is beautiful and they fit well.
5/13/13 11:04 AM
persevering said...
Thank you very much for your detailed review (especially re: your measurements vs pattern). In addition, I agree with everything already stated by others.
5/13/13 11:57 AM
liliv said...
You acheived a very nice fit and your shorts in this color and fabric are very stylish and dressy. This pattern is very nice I like the pleats and the fullness. Very good review!
5/13/13 12:42 PM
grays08 said...
Thanks to everyone for the great feedback. I definitely appreciate the fit advice, because I will make these again and don't want to over-work these.
5/13/13 1:43 PM
Clareew said...
Great review, I love the look of them - very classy
5/13/13 2:24 PM
Elona said...
What classic, beautiful shorts!
5/13/13 4:38 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous shorts!! I am definitely sewing these up this summer.
5/13/13 9:44 PM
gsp1066 said...
> I'm very flat if not concave in my lower back above my rear (but not my rear, how does that work?) Thanks for the review. I was thinking of sewing them up and I have a similar figure. They look so cute on you, I will definitely put them in my queue. An old version of the Vogue Fitting book discussed common fitting issues. I was especially intrigued when it said that flat derrierre, sway back and portruding tummy often occur together. How does that happen? It's Cavalieri's principle. Volume stays the same, whichever way you skew the stack. Look at the figure at the link below. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cavalieri's_principle Anyway, I have a mild case of hip dysplasia. That is caused by a very wide and tilted pelvis. When viewed from the side, sway back, a low derriere and portruding tummy is present. It's not a personal failing (not doing enough stomach crunches); it's just my skeletal form. It's a good thing I can sew clothes that fit. You and your shorts look great.
5/13/13 11:37 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
These shorts look wonderful on you. I love the color. I do very much like the style, it's very flattering.
5/14/13 11:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 7969

photo
by: julliams

Review
McCall's 6579

photo
by: lisalu

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now