SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5007 (gore skirt)

25 more reviews
Viewed 2049 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 145 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/05 5:53 PM
Last Updated:3/20/05 5:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Your skirt looks great, but I had to laugh out loud at your error and reaction to it. It seems so unlike you. Was thinking of making this in 2007, but don't want lots of gathering at the waist and don't want to draft a yoke. Still thinking, 'cause yours looks so good. (Must remember, however, that I don't have those long legs.)
1/15/07 7:55 PM
KarmenG said...
Wonderful skirt - I'm going to give this a try
5/19/05 10:09 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks for such a quick and inclusive response. I'm pretty sure I understand what you did, and since I intend to make another skirt, I'm certainly going to follow your instructions. Thanks again for guidance.
3/22/05 9:30 PM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous skirt Irina!
3/21/05 8:20 PM
MaryBeth said...
I have nothing to add except that you are as beautiful as you are smart and kind.
3/21/05 6:32 PM
CarolynGM said...
Harriet -- I machine straight-stitched the gore to the skirt panel and then serged to the top of the gore. Then I pressed the seam toward the gore. Next I attached the second panel in a long straight seam, and then serged. I pressed this long seam toward the skirt. This works extremely well, but it is not clear from Loes's instructions and picture which way to press the seams. You end up with one gore seam pressed toward the gore and the other toward the skirt. If this doesn't make sense, I'll take a picture of the inside gore seams and post it.
3/21/05 5:54 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Irina, this Looks great: I too, love this pattern. One question: did you serge right to the top of the gores: I had some trouble doing it the way Hinse suggested, and instead sewed with conventional machine, and then turned top of gore (the little triangle) down, and then serged. I'm just curious what you did. Also, I loved the Hinse pink top in your other review: RTW manufacturers would KILL to have anything fit as well as your top. Tweak if you want, but I think it looks fabulous.
3/21/05 4:16 PM
AnneM said...
Good for you to overcome the sewing error. Very nice looking skirt. The fabric is a little hard to see in the picture, but it looks very interesting.
3/21/05 7:56 AM
marjenann said...
Must have that pattern. I love the look!!!!
3/21/05 6:58 AM
Tiner W said...
Absolutely beautiful! Gorgeous fabric!
3/21/05 6:29 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice!
3/21/05 4:06 AM
SewTwin said...
The length is perfect to me! Very Lauren Bacall, or Kathryn Hepburnish.The word is STYLE! Hope your DD has your talent!
3/21/05 0:59 AM
tigger said...
Beautiful skirt - and the fabric looks great too! I so much know about having to rip away when you think you've almost finished and see the error you can't believe you made! :) Love this skirt - will have to give it a go!
3/21/05 0:25 AM
drsue said...
Very pretty skirt. I just hate it when I make mistakes line sewing the wrong things together. Truly an amazing recovery. At least next time you will not make that mistake.
3/20/05 7:22 PM
dvazz said...
Your skirt is gorgeous, and you look fantastic in it!!
3/20/05 6:57 PM
PVA said...
Very beautiful skirt -- thanks for the review! I love that gray with that pink; one of my favorite color combos. This pattern has been on my wish list for at least a year. I guess I'd better do something about it soon -- I love the "floaty effect".
3/20/05 6:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now