Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5007 (gore skirt) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 2044 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/05 5:53 PM
Last Updated:3/20/05 5:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Very beautiful skirt -- thanks for the review! I love that gray with that pink; one of my favorite color combos. This pattern has been on my wish list for at least a year. I guess I'd better do something about it soon -- I love the "floaty effect".
3/20/05 6:21 PM
dvazz said...
Your skirt is gorgeous, and you look fantastic in it!!
3/20/05 6:57 PM
drsue said...
Very pretty skirt. I just hate it when I make mistakes line sewing the wrong things together. Truly an amazing recovery. At least next time you will not make that mistake.
3/20/05 7:22 PM
tigger said...
Beautiful skirt - and the fabric looks great too! I so much know about having to rip away when you think you've almost finished and see the error you can't believe you made! :) Love this skirt - will have to give it a go!
3/21/05 0:25 AM
SewTwin said...
The length is perfect to me! Very Lauren Bacall, or Kathryn Hepburnish.The word is STYLE! Hope your DD has your talent!
3/21/05 0:59 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice!
3/21/05 4:06 AM
Tiner W said...
Absolutely beautiful! Gorgeous fabric!
3/21/05 6:29 AM
marjenann said...
Must have that pattern. I love the look!!!!
3/21/05 6:58 AM
AnneM said...
Good for you to overcome the sewing error. Very nice looking skirt. The fabric is a little hard to see in the picture, but it looks very interesting.
3/21/05 7:56 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Irina, this Looks great: I too, love this pattern. One question: did you serge right to the top of the gores: I had some trouble doing it the way Hinse suggested, and instead sewed with conventional machine, and then turned top of gore (the little triangle) down, and then serged. I'm just curious what you did. Also, I loved the Hinse pink top in your other review: RTW manufacturers would KILL to have anything fit as well as your top. Tweak if you want, but I think it looks fabulous.
3/21/05 4:16 PM
CarolynGM said...
Harriet -- I machine straight-stitched the gore to the skirt panel and then serged to the top of the gore. Then I pressed the seam toward the gore. Next I attached the second panel in a long straight seam, and then serged. I pressed this long seam toward the skirt. This works extremely well, but it is not clear from Loes's instructions and picture which way to press the seams. You end up with one gore seam pressed toward the gore and the other toward the skirt. If this doesn't make sense, I'll take a picture of the inside gore seams and post it.
3/21/05 5:54 PM
MaryBeth said...
I have nothing to add except that you are as beautiful as you are smart and kind.
3/21/05 6:32 PM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous skirt Irina!
3/21/05 8:20 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks for such a quick and inclusive response. I'm pretty sure I understand what you did, and since I intend to make another skirt, I'm certainly going to follow your instructions. Thanks again for guidance.
3/22/05 9:30 PM
KarmenG said...
Wonderful skirt - I'm going to give this a try
5/19/05 10:09 PM
JDpenelope said...
Your skirt looks great, but I had to laugh out loud at your error and reaction to it. It seems so unlike you. Was thinking of making this in 2007, but don't want lots of gathering at the waist and don't want to draft a yoke. Still thinking, 'cause yours looks so good. (Must remember, however, that I don't have those long legs.)
1/15/07 7:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2007-102 Dress
photo
Review by carolineG on 7/30/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1882
photo
Review by CosmicCaro on 9/4/13
Read Review

Burda 8125 Pattern
Burda 8125 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6863 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6863 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us