SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5007 (gore skirt)

25 more reviews
Viewed 2049 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 145 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/05 5:53 PM
Last Updated:3/20/05 5:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Very beautiful skirt -- thanks for the review! I love that gray with that pink; one of my favorite color combos. This pattern has been on my wish list for at least a year. I guess I'd better do something about it soon -- I love the "floaty effect".
3/20/05 6:21 PM
dvazz said...
Your skirt is gorgeous, and you look fantastic in it!!
3/20/05 6:57 PM
drsue said...
Very pretty skirt. I just hate it when I make mistakes line sewing the wrong things together. Truly an amazing recovery. At least next time you will not make that mistake.
3/20/05 7:22 PM
tigger said...
Beautiful skirt - and the fabric looks great too! I so much know about having to rip away when you think you've almost finished and see the error you can't believe you made! :) Love this skirt - will have to give it a go!
3/21/05 0:25 AM
SewTwin said...
The length is perfect to me! Very Lauren Bacall, or Kathryn Hepburnish.The word is STYLE! Hope your DD has your talent!
3/21/05 0:59 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice!
3/21/05 4:06 AM
Tiner W said...
Absolutely beautiful! Gorgeous fabric!
3/21/05 6:29 AM
marjenann said...
Must have that pattern. I love the look!!!!
3/21/05 6:58 AM
AnneM said...
Good for you to overcome the sewing error. Very nice looking skirt. The fabric is a little hard to see in the picture, but it looks very interesting.
3/21/05 7:56 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Irina, this Looks great: I too, love this pattern. One question: did you serge right to the top of the gores: I had some trouble doing it the way Hinse suggested, and instead sewed with conventional machine, and then turned top of gore (the little triangle) down, and then serged. I'm just curious what you did. Also, I loved the Hinse pink top in your other review: RTW manufacturers would KILL to have anything fit as well as your top. Tweak if you want, but I think it looks fabulous.
3/21/05 4:16 PM
CarolynGM said...
Harriet -- I machine straight-stitched the gore to the skirt panel and then serged to the top of the gore. Then I pressed the seam toward the gore. Next I attached the second panel in a long straight seam, and then serged. I pressed this long seam toward the skirt. This works extremely well, but it is not clear from Loes's instructions and picture which way to press the seams. You end up with one gore seam pressed toward the gore and the other toward the skirt. If this doesn't make sense, I'll take a picture of the inside gore seams and post it.
3/21/05 5:54 PM
MaryBeth said...
I have nothing to add except that you are as beautiful as you are smart and kind.
3/21/05 6:32 PM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous skirt Irina!
3/21/05 8:20 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks for such a quick and inclusive response. I'm pretty sure I understand what you did, and since I intend to make another skirt, I'm certainly going to follow your instructions. Thanks again for guidance.
3/22/05 9:30 PM
KarmenG said...
Wonderful skirt - I'm going to give this a try
5/19/05 10:09 PM
JDpenelope said...
Your skirt looks great, but I had to laugh out loud at your error and reaction to it. It seems so unlike you. Was thinking of making this in 2007, but don't want lots of gathering at the waist and don't want to draft a yoke. Still thinking, 'cause yours looks so good. (Must remember, however, that I don't have those long legs.)
1/15/07 7:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 5720

photo
by: katlew03

Review
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 4222

photo
by: kidmd

Review