Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8876 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 671 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR
About marecstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/13 6:10 PM
Last Updated:5/13/13 6:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Mary, wow! This was quite an odyssey! You did end up with a really pretty dress...I love the floral print.
5/13/13 6:32 PM
meadowclark said...
I really like the dress. I appreciate the detail in this review. With many thanks.
5/13/13 6:37 PM
cleverkitty said...
marec you made yourself a super dress, gorgeous print. Your review was interesting and funny I like the "whatever works technique" ....I use that method myself :)
5/13/13 7:36 PM
Amiejean said...
Wonderful review, this has to be one of the top most helpful reviews I have ever read here. Thank you. I have this pattern and have hesitated making it. Your creation is cute, looks very comfy and cool for summer. I love te fabric. I'm going to try this soon, thanks for inspiration!
5/13/13 8:59 PM
Dilliander said...
Marec, thanks for the interesting and enjoyable review, your dress is gorgeous and the next one will be much easier.
5/13/13 9:14 PM
Barbara V said...
Super review of this very cool dress. It looks great on you. I want to make it but can't decide on the type of fabric. Your floral works so well which makes me think that this dress will look wonderful in so many types of fabric. Thanks for all the info!
5/13/13 11:13 PM
homewerk said...
Thanks for your detailed review. This is a wonderfully shaped but loose dress. Every reviewer has sewn a unique creation. I was wondering if the burrito method would work on this dress. Glad to hear it does. Love that print on you, too.
5/13/13 11:51 PM
wendyrb said...
You forgot 1 very important word. Must insert- I am a BEAUTIFUL petite older woman! You look especially great in this dress. Good News- you can make it for the 1st time only once. Now you know what makes it tick and can really go to town with it. And so can we due to your terrific review- details, visuals and humor. Thanks!
5/14/13 2:15 AM
wildberrymom said...
Very pretty finished product--looks nice and breezy for summer; I can see where you might enjoy another dress in lighter weight fabric--that would be very nice too.
5/14/13 3:37 AM
Renata said...
I like your version. And whilst it is a very loose dress, once adjusted, it is a very flattering garment for those of us not so willowy or young.
5/14/13 6:08 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great review, great dress. Thanks so much for all the pictures and helpful information.
5/14/13 7:13 AM
MamaSewing said...
The dress on the pattern envelope didn't interest me at all but.... I just love your dress!
5/14/13 10:15 AM
carolynw said...
Your dress is beautiful and the print is lovely - am so happy to read your review as I have this pattern and been hesitating. Can you tell me something about the length - I am 5' 2" and well past the age of knee length - also knee replacement surgery left some not lovely scars. Thanks for such a helpful review
5/14/13 11:24 AM
barbcl said...
A very pretty dress that is perfect for the summer. Thank you for the top notch tutorial.
5/14/13 11:46 AM
MNBarb said...
The colors might be fall-ish but they are YOU! I love this floaty dress and think it will be the garment to grab for an outing on a hot summer day. Yeah, zipper instructions, they could at LEAST direct you to a tutorial if they are going to be so vague. Congrats on a winner.
5/14/13 12:36 PM
marec said...
I need to add a few details on the length of this dress. I sewed it without any petite adj. for length. I can see adding length to the pattern, but not removing because of the pleats and band. I am 5'1" in bare feet. Carolyn said she was past the age of knee length-I think this style would look cute with leggings. In fact, Martha made this in green linen and paired it with leggings. Totally cute!
5/14/13 12:59 PM
Margaret said...
Lovely dress -- looks wonderful on you and great for summer!
5/14/13 1:38 PM
marthamyers said...
Well, I do think your version is totally adorable. Great fabric choice. Though I struggled with all the problems you note, your fabulous little French dress makes me want to sew another!
5/14/13 7:38 PM
KathySews said...
Thanks for the details. Your dress is beautiful. I have been looking at my copy trying to decide whether to go for it.
5/14/13 7:45 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Holy cow, Mary. This was a big adventure- fifteen pattern pieces and sketchy instructions? Eep! I agree with Wendy-you are a beautiful older? petite woman. This looks lovely on you!!
5/14/13 8:25 PM
Mushywear said...
Beautiful job on this! I love the print on you. Thank you for your review. I have this pattern and want to make it this summer too!
5/15/13 4:40 AM
liliv said...
it's gorgeous dress, pretty on you! I envy your floral fabric! The zipper is a nice detail. The review is very helpful and I' m big fun "Whatever works" technique:))
5/15/13 10:33 AM
SusanPartlan said...
The dress looks comfortable and flattering on you. I especially like the collar details. Love wendyrb's editing of "petite older woman."
5/16/13 6:14 PM
lamstu said...
A very pretty dress in spite of the challenges. I'd love to see your results with the lighter fabrics!
5/17/13 4:59 AM
Heatherrique said...
Your efforts and perseverance were worth it to create a fantastic looking dress! Thank you for your detailed review.
5/22/13 12:48 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, THANK YOU for all the wonderful construction photos, LABELED and everything. This dress is just SO DANG CUTE on your. :o)) But then, WHAT ISN'T? I love that it's looser, but yet it has built-in shape (as well it should, with 15 pieces). :o) It just looks so comfy and chic to wear.
5/23/13 0:39 AM
Patti B said...
Your pretty results is worth the effort -- very nice! I have just finished the vest version of this and can't wait to wear it.
5/27/13 5:23 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thanks for this excellent review! I stumbled on this pattern, and saw your review. We are similar in shape and your thorough review gives me an idea of what I'd look like, also what I'm up against. I have a beautiful linen tablecloth with cutwork (vertical lines) that I'd like to use for this pattern, as I feel the vertical lines would look slimming.
6/29/13 8:19 AM
mmcp said...
This IS a great review. For anyone who wants to make this dress as designed, you could try to make it without a front closure. I made a muslin, sewed it all the way up, and was able to slip it over my head (I'm not very busty.) I took about 3 inches out of various of the (many) seams so it was much less tentlike but still had the flowy effect, and I could still slip it on, just with a little more effort. Now all I have to do is transfer all those changes from the muslin to the pattern....
7/1/13 7:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-112 Blouse
photo
Review by BettyMike on 7/20/08
Read Review

Butterick 5044 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5044 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5600 misses dress
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 4/25/11
Read Review

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us