SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5789 (Misses' Vest and Jacket)

6 more reviews
Viewed 248 times 
Reviewed by:HDWen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About HDWenstar
AZ USA
Member since: 12/26/11
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/13 1:45 PM
Last Updated:5/14/13 1:48 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HDWen said...
Thank you all - Well it is good to know to still hold off cutting into my silk until some a bit more fitting comes long :-) yes my 1st Knit whoo hoo tackled a fear
5/19/13 6:27 PM
Margaret said...
Sorry to hear this didn't come out how you would've liked. (Sometimes I think when that happens, it's for the best if you end up with something you're really SURE you don't like, so you don't end up sinking more time into it or other versions of it.) It does look like you did nice work sewing it, but I hope you find something that you love for the silk!
5/18/13 5:54 PM
cerulean said...
Good going, HD!!!! Great job with your knit project!!! It looks really good! I get frustrated when patterns run so big, too! It may look different with different colored tops.
5/15/13 11:22 PM
marec said...
OH damn, you must have been disappointed. But your humor shines through. How about adding in the seams, and then dyeing it?
5/15/13 9:38 AM
jannw said...
Those are very large armsholes..but the back and the front look a lot better on you than you think!! You might try the sleeved version to see if you like it better...
5/15/13 1:44 AM
Renren said...
Cuter than you think it is! Remember that most of the Big 4 patterns have too much ease for most people! You did quite well with this knit.
5/15/13 0:32 AM
Sew Confused said...
I think you're being too hard on yourself and the vest. When I looked at the rear view, my first thought was that, if it were my garment, I'd put it on wrong side out and just pin some side seams into it to take up those huge armholes and give it some shape.
5/14/13 3:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

McCall's 6348

photo
by: margy.64

Review
Other Nap Mats

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

More Info
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

More Info