SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8669 (Misses' Top)

10 more reviews
Viewed 240 times 
Reviewed by:SusanPartlan
photo

 
 
About SusanPartlanstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/14/11
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/13 1:53 PM
Last Updated:5/14/13 3:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristmasHills said...
I love the colour of your top. I get that horizontal line too but it only settles into it after I leave the mirror. Very annoying because I think I am looking good! I've given up on knits with this type of cowl because of the line, which by the way is worse on me than yours is. I think the whole top settles towards the back and causes pulling - could this be what yours is doing too?
5/15/13 3:09 AM
marec said...
What a great top with a beautiful cowl. I see the line you refer to, and I'll confess that I have been known to switch to a soft bra to allow the fabric to nestle down between the "mounds". I think it is a function of the fabric and the cowl, as ChristmasHills mentioned above.
5/15/13 9:35 AM
SusanPartlan said...
ChristmasHills, I'm convinced the horizontal line is primarily about the fabric drape but I think you're right that if the top shifts up (pulls to the back) that might also be a contributing factor.
5/16/13 5:53 PM
SusanPartlan said...
Thank you Marec. The reason I think it's mainly the fabric, not the design per se, is that I tried free draping different kinds of fabric with the grecian folds at the neckline and less drapey fabrics don't seem to make an obvious horizontal at the bust. Btw, I did try different bras and the line was still there with both structured and soft bras.
5/16/13 5:56 PM
gleta said...
I love your top! I've made this pattern several times & have made a couple of alterations, not for fit, just to make it hang better. I made a high round back adjustment adding just 1cm at the c.b. to prevent it sliding back over my shoulders...the only time I've ever had to do so... & extended the front neck edge up at the c.f. 10cm curving it back to the armhole edge. This gave it a triangular piece that drops down the inside & prevents the neckline hem from rolling outwards. Having done all that I love it.
5/18/13 11:16 PM
SusanPartlan said...
Hi Gleta, thank you. I agree that getting the top to hang better is important and that it doesn't hang well as drafted. What I plan to do is try adding the front grecian fold feature to my self drafted bodice sloper, with 3/4 sleeves, because my sloper hangs perfectly. I will also use a woven fabric.
5/20/13 4:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Kwik Sew 3478

photo
by: globalgran

Review
Vogue Patterns 7799

photo
by: Lenarciak

Review
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now