SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag)

45 more reviews
Viewed 311 times 
Reviewed by:addicted2fabric
photo

 
 
About addicted2fabricstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/13 3:38 PM
Last Updated:8/20/14 5:32 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:Amy Butler AB021WT
Amy Butler Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Broadcloth  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Travel Bag

Pattern Sizing:One size. Finished size: 14" across top, 17" across bottom, 14.5" tall, 7.5" deep.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, very close, apart from my changes. I am very satisfied with my end result.

Front
Side
Strap Tab
Piping Join
Bottom

I took these photo's right after turning the bag right side out, which was quite a mission to do, and it left the bag looking a bit lumpy and skewed. Once I ran over it with a steam iron, it all smoothed out and everything sits much smoother and evenly.

Were the instructions easy to follow? They are ok. Its is VITAL you read all the instructions before cutting any fabric!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the finished look. I didnt like the way the pattern pieces sheet is printed. Only some of the pieces are printed on the sheet, other pieces are mentioned in the instructions as 'cut a rectangle this size by this size' etc. You also have to join the pattern piece for the side panels before cutting out. I would rather pay a little extra to have a full pattern sheet.

Fabric Used: A home decorating fabric bought at Lincraft (NZ) and home made piping made using drill. Leather scraps for the strap tabs. Black, heavy-weight showerproof nylon for the lining.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: My zip is shorter, to make use of one I already had. I added strap tabs to the front, back and sides, and feet to the bottom. I also used Rutaliet's method of joining the piping. Much neater.


Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? If you'd asked me within a day or two of finishing this, I would have said 'no way, it was too painful!'. However, much like with childbirth, the pain has receded and I'm so happy with my labour of love that I do now want to make another one. I am considering reducing the pattern in size to make a matching cosmetics/toiletries bag.
I've also had 2 people ask me to make them one, which is very flattering

Conclusion: I was inspired to make this pattern after reading Rutaliet's Fantastic Review here.
I was looking for a new project to challenge me and this certainly did. Its not that the bag is technically difficult to make, but it is very awkward as it becomes so very stiff once all the layers are fused together.
I hand basted all the piping on first, and then hand basted all the panels together as there is no way pins will hold it all securely. I took me around 3 hours just to hand baste the panels together, as my hands kept cramping from the effort of holding the pieces together and pushing the needle through the layers. I also broke 2 hand needles.
There are no markings on the pattern pieces, so it is important to fold and mark the centre top, bottom and sides of the front and back panels, as well as the same points on the side panel, so that you can make sure its all lined up correctly when sewing the side panel on.
I did make straps but wasnt happy with the result so have ordered black leather straps off eBay.
Someone else said in a review that this is an expensive pattern to make and they are not wrong, its very expensive. You wouldnt make this to save money, but it is worth making to have a one-of-a-kind bag that you can proudly say you made.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mnitts said...
Despite your struggles this looks fab. Very professional.
5/14/13 4:40 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Love how yours turned out! I have made this as well but didn't review it. A challenge to say the least but not difficult. Well done!
5/14/13 10:09 PM
liliv said...
Looks like storebought!
5/15/13 1:03 PM
rutaliet said...
GORGEOUS bag ! You did a great job.
5/15/13 5:30 PM
beanchor said...
You should be proud! Great result.
8/20/14 9:32 AM
frame said...
Unfortunately I can't see your photos. I get error messages. But I appreciate the review. :)
8/20/14 12:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Cutting Line Designs 62612

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now