SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Japanese Pattern Books> Easy cute straight sewing (Toga meets 60s shift dress)

Review submitted in CHALLENGE CONTEST - ACCESSORY INSPIRATION Contest
Viewed 321 times 
Reviewed by:JetSetSewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JetSetSewingstar
MA USA
Member since: 6/29/12
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/13 10:22 PM
Last Updated:5/19/13 8:00 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ashford said...
Totally great dress -comfort and fashion in one garment. Excellent. And, the short length dress was a good choice for the gladiator sandal Accessory Contest.
5/28/13 10:16 PM
JetSetSewing said...
Thanks! The Japanese pattern books for children also have really nice patterns. I like the books with bag patterns as well. You can find a lot of them on Etsy and EBay, but yesasia.com is cheaper coming to the states.
5/27/13 10:30 AM
cweetgal said...
Nice one.. Looking forward for the new Japanese book feminine wardrobe!!
5/27/13 8:38 AM
Elke said...
I love Japanese books too...your dress is cute. Great review!
5/19/13 8:26 PM
Margaret said...
Nice work! It's really interesting to hear the sort of pattern pieces this came from and how you modified it!
5/18/13 5:42 PM
Clareew said...
Great top, I love the combination of style and fabric.
5/16/13 3:15 PM
MNBarb said...
This is such a unique garment. Your fabric selection will allow lots of wearing options. Very cute!
5/16/13 10:36 AM
NJcowgirl said...
thank you for the review and the introduction to the book. Nicely done on the dress!
5/16/13 9:40 AM
JetSetSewing said...
Thanks! I got it in under the wire. I like your tops for the contest, too--you've been busy!
5/15/13 11:44 PM
velosewer said...
That's a cleverly styled dress and suits you nicely.
5/15/13 11:34 PM
JetSetSewing said...
Some of the books have been translated into English and made with larger patterns. I've found them on Amazon. This book is good because everything's so boxy it makes easy yet artsy loungewear, and you can figure it all out from the pictures.
5/15/13 11:01 PM
kathi s said...
I love Japanese fashion and have bought several pattern books to browse through. Alas, I will probably never make any as I learned in Japan that my short chubby figure does not suit Japanese fashion. Sigh.
5/15/13 10:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 5972

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 5259

photo
by: weekendsti...

Review