Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Japanese Pattern Books: Easy cute straight sewing (Toga meets 60s shift dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in CHALLENGE CONTEST - ACCESSORY INSPIRATION Contest    printable version
Viewed 311 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:tvjulie
photo
Friend of PR
About tvjuliestar
MA USA
Member since: 6/29/12
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/13 10:22 PM
Last Updated:5/19/13 8:00 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kathi s said...
I love Japanese fashion and have bought several pattern books to browse through. Alas, I will probably never make any as I learned in Japan that my short chubby figure does not suit Japanese fashion. Sigh.
5/15/13 10:51 PM
tvjulie said...
Some of the books have been translated into English and made with larger patterns. I've found them on Amazon. This book is good because everything's so boxy it makes easy yet artsy loungewear, and you can figure it all out from the pictures.
5/15/13 11:01 PM
velosewer said...
That's a cleverly styled dress and suits you nicely.
5/15/13 11:34 PM
tvjulie said...
Thanks! I got it in under the wire. I like your tops for the contest, too--you've been busy!
5/15/13 11:44 PM
NJcowgirl said...
thank you for the review and the introduction to the book. Nicely done on the dress!
5/16/13 9:40 AM
MNBarb said...
This is such a unique garment. Your fabric selection will allow lots of wearing options. Very cute!
5/16/13 10:36 AM
Clareew said...
Great top, I love the combination of style and fabric.
5/16/13 3:15 PM
Margaret said...
Nice work! It's really interesting to hear the sort of pattern pieces this came from and how you modified it!
5/18/13 5:42 PM
Elke said...
I love Japanese books too...your dress is cute. Great review!
5/19/13 8:26 PM
cweetgal said...
Nice one.. Looking forward for the new Japanese book feminine wardrobe!!
5/27/13 8:38 AM
tvjulie said...
Thanks! The Japanese pattern books for children also have really nice patterns. I like the books with bag patterns as well. You can find a lot of them on Etsy and EBay, but yesasia.com is cheaper coming to the states.
5/27/13 10:30 AM
Ashford said...
Totally great dress -comfort and fashion in one garment. Excellent. And, the short length dress was a good choice for the gladiator sandal Accessory Contest.
5/28/13 10:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's 5433 shirts
photo
Review by OP Gal on 1/3/10
Read Review

Vogue 8905 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8905 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7330 Pattern
Burda 7330 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6009 JJ Blouse
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 3/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us