SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6126 (Misses' Skirts)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in CHALLENGE CONTEST - ACCESSORY INSPIRATION Contest
Viewed 252 times 
Reviewed by:SheBear0320
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SheBear0320starstar
MB Canada
Member since: 4/8/08
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/13 10:44 PM
Last Updated:6/27/14 0:16 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6126 by SheBear0320

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6126
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Fabric:Poly-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
UPDATED: I made this particular skirt twice more in 2013 and wear all 3 of these skirts on a regular basis. The original review in its entirety is below the notes I've added for Versions #2 and #3.

Version #2
Red & White Geometric

This fabric was purchased at Vogue Fabrics during the PR Chicago weekend. I believe it's a poly/spandex blend. I lined it with a white Suzi Spandex Basic. I ended up taking in the top 6" of the side seams by .5" (a total of 2") as I found the original a little loose.

Version #3
Wool Crepe Floral

This is another fabric I picked up on my trip to PR Chicago -- it was in the remnant bin at Gayfeather Fabrics in Madison, WI. I had to shorten the points of the handkerchief hem to allow for the shorter fabric piece. I didn't make any adjustment to the side seams even though this fabric had very little stretch to it. I lined this one as well with the same Suzi Spandex Basic in black. I absolutely love this skirt and get tons of compliments when I wear it.

This skirt was my first time sewing with wool crepe and I love the way it sews up -- I pre-washed the fabric and had a very minimal amount of shrinkage and no more shrinkage on subsequent washes. This skirt gets worn a lot in the cooler temps.


Original Review for Version #1:
Pattern Description: Misses' Skirts with waistline variations and shaped hems -- 3 views

Pattern Sizing: AA (6 to 12); E5 (14 to 22) -- I used the larger size range

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I made view A and I think it looks very similar

Were the instructions easy to follow? There are only 7 steps and they are clear and precise. I made a number of changes so didn't really follow the instructions except as a guideline.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? This is a quick to cut (2 pattern pieces and 3 cut pieces) and quick to sew pattern (7 easy steps) resulting in a skirt with a difference in a hurry. I like the variations and will likely try them all now that I have the fit worked out.

There was nothing to really dislike about this pattern.

Fabric Used: I used a polyester knit (Glacier Burgundy from Suzi Spandex) and lined it with a lightweight nylon spandex (Suzi Spandex Basic in ivory)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

* I started out with a size 18 at the waist and a size 20 at the hips and used the length provided as I like my skirt length longer even though I'm short (about mid-calf). I ended up having to take the waist in another 1.5" and the hips about 1".

* My fashion fabric was quite sheer so I ended up lining the skirt -- I simply measured down 24" from the top of the skirt pattern piece and shaped the hemline and finished with a serged overlock stitch. Then attached the lining to the skirt upper edge and stay-stitched the two together before applying the waistline casing.

* I used a rolled hem on the serger for the hemline rather than the double-turned narrow hem in the instructions.

Rolled Hem

* I used 3/8" elastic in the waistline casing rather than the 1/2" called for on the pattern (I had 3/8" in the studio) and it worked fine -- I tacked the elastic at the centre back and each side to keep it from rolling.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I already have a second one cut out that I am hoping to finish before the weekend.

I took awhile to get the fit right through the waist and hips but now that I have that I can whip off this view in no time and it won't take much to make the pattern changes to the other two views.

Conclusion: This skirt is for the 2013 Accessory Inspiration Challenge Contest -- I had this pattern in my pattern stack for the earlier Pattern Stash Contest but didn't get to it. When I saw the gladiator sandals that were the inspiration for this Challenge I immediately thought of this pattern as the style of sandals inspired something "flowy and drapey" to me. The fabric I chose was the first one that came to mind when I saw the colour of the sandals -- the fabric was left over from a client's custom order from a couple of years ago.

Unfortunately this pattern is discontinued.



<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kittykate said...
Ooh, I have that same fabric! Thanks for the tips about sewing it in real people sizes.
5/27/13 10:34 PM
Mimi O said...
What a beautiful skirt and I love the color. Very nice job!
5/22/13 8:05 PM
Margaret said...
Very pretty! Looks like a perfect fit and very nice with the sandals.
5/18/13 5:09 PM
HDWen said...
What a great drape to your Skirt! I have this pattern uhh somewhere and obviously put it away to sew later! That fabric is just what's need for the lovely flow. Good luck and thanks for making this!
5/18/13 4:28 PM
Quickie said...
What a fantastic elegant skirt
5/18/13 2:24 AM
Clareew said...
Great skirt, I shall remember your idea of rolling the seam with your serger.
5/16/13 3:21 PM
wildberrymom said...
Love the skirt!
5/16/13 1:53 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very pretty and love the style.
5/16/13 11:28 AM
Sew Whatever said...
This skirt would look great finished off with those sandals. The rolled hem was a good decision to help keep the flowing feel.
5/16/13 5:18 AM
Aroura said...
Lovely skirt! Great color, and I agree that flowing fabric is a great match for the gladiator sandals. Excellent work on the fit!
5/16/13 1:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 3588

photo
by: Jennifer s...

Review
Butterick 5821

photo
by: norie crea...

Review
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

More Info
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

More Info