SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6126 (Misses' Skirts)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in CHALLENGE CONTEST - ACCESSORY INSPIRATION Contest
Viewed 246 times 
Reviewed by:SheBear0320
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SheBear0320star
MB Canada
Member since: 4/8/08
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/13 10:44 PM
Last Updated:6/27/14 0:16 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6126 by SheBear0320

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6126
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Poly-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
UPDATED: I made this particular skirt twice more in 2013 and wear all 3 of these skirts on a regular basis. The original review in its entirety is below the notes I've added for Versions #2 and #3.

Version #2
Red & White Geometric

This fabric was purchased at Vogue Fabrics during the PR Chicago weekend. I believe it's a poly/spandex blend. I lined it with a white Suzi Spandex Basic. I ended up taking in the top 6" of the side seams by .5" (a total of 2") as I found the original a little loose.

Version #3
Wool Crepe Floral

This is another fabric I picked up on my trip to PR Chicago -- it was in the remnant bin at Gayfeather Fabrics in Madison, WI. I had to shorten the points of the handkerchief hem to allow for the shorter fabric piece. I didn't make any adjustment to the side seams even though this fabric had very little stretch to it. I lined this one as well with the same Suzi Spandex Basic in black. I absolutely love this skirt and get tons of compliments when I wear it.

This skirt was my first time sewing with wool crepe and I love the way it sews up -- I pre-washed the fabric and had a very minimal amount of shrinkage and no more shrinkage on subsequent washes. This skirt gets worn a lot in the cooler temps.


Original Review for Version #1:
Pattern Description: Misses' Skirts with waistline variations and shaped hems -- 3 views

Pattern Sizing: AA (6 to 12); E5 (14 to 22) -- I used the larger size range

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I made view A and I think it looks very similar

Were the instructions easy to follow? There are only 7 steps and they are clear and precise. I made a number of changes so didn't really follow the instructions except as a guideline.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? This is a quick to cut (2 pattern pieces and 3 cut pieces) and quick to sew pattern (7 easy steps) resulting in a skirt with a difference in a hurry. I like the variations and will likely try them all now that I have the fit worked out.

There was nothing to really dislike about this pattern.

Fabric Used: I used a polyester knit (Glacier Burgundy from Suzi Spandex) and lined it with a lightweight nylon spandex (Suzi Spandex Basic in ivory)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

* I started out with a size 18 at the waist and a size 20 at the hips and used the length provided as I like my skirt length longer even though I'm short (about mid-calf). I ended up having to take the waist in another 1.5" and the hips about 1".

* My fashion fabric was quite sheer so I ended up lining the skirt -- I simply measured down 24" from the top of the skirt pattern piece and shaped the hemline and finished with a serged overlock stitch. Then attached the lining to the skirt upper edge and stay-stitched the two together before applying the waistline casing.

* I used a rolled hem on the serger for the hemline rather than the double-turned narrow hem in the instructions.

Rolled Hem

* I used 3/8" elastic in the waistline casing rather than the 1/2" called for on the pattern (I had 3/8" in the studio) and it worked fine -- I tacked the elastic at the centre back and each side to keep it from rolling.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I already have a second one cut out that I am hoping to finish before the weekend.

I took awhile to get the fit right through the waist and hips but now that I have that I can whip off this view in no time and it won't take much to make the pattern changes to the other two views.

Conclusion: This skirt is for the 2013 Accessory Inspiration Challenge Contest -- I had this pattern in my pattern stack for the earlier Pattern Stash Contest but didn't get to it. When I saw the gladiator sandals that were the inspiration for this Challenge I immediately thought of this pattern as the style of sandals inspired something "flowy and drapey" to me. The fabric I chose was the first one that came to mind when I saw the colour of the sandals -- the fabric was left over from a client's custom order from a couple of years ago.

Unfortunately this pattern is discontinued.



Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Lovely skirt! Great color, and I agree that flowing fabric is a great match for the gladiator sandals. Excellent work on the fit!
5/16/13 1:27 AM
Sew Whatever said...
This skirt would look great finished off with those sandals. The rolled hem was a good decision to help keep the flowing feel.
5/16/13 5:18 AM
Rhoda K said...
Very pretty and love the style.
5/16/13 11:28 AM
wildberrymom said...
Love the skirt!
5/16/13 1:53 PM
Clareew said...
Great skirt, I shall remember your idea of rolling the seam with your serger.
5/16/13 3:21 PM
Quickie said...
What a fantastic elegant skirt
5/18/13 2:24 AM
HDWen said...
What a great drape to your Skirt! I have this pattern uhh somewhere and obviously put it away to sew later! That fabric is just what's need for the lovely flow. Good luck and thanks for making this!
5/18/13 4:28 PM
Margaret said...
Very pretty! Looks like a perfect fit and very nice with the sandals.
5/18/13 5:09 PM
Mimi O said...
What a beautiful skirt and I love the color. Very nice job!
5/22/13 8:05 PM
kittykate said...
Ooh, I have that same fabric! Thanks for the tips about sewing it in real people sizes.
5/27/13 10:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

McCall's 6322

photo
by: Julia Bobb...

Review
Other Tri-Fold Wallet Lisa Lam

photo
by: goosegreen

Review
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now