SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8870 (Misses Dress)

14 more reviews
Viewed 636 times 
Reviewed by:rhgarza
photo

 
 
About rhgarzastar
Member since: 5/14/11
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/13 9:50 PM
Last Updated:3/11/14 10:31 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8870 by rhgarza

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8870
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Crepe  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Pullover dress has loose-fitting, blouson bodice variations, elasticized (seamed) waist, side pockets and narrow high/low hem.

Pattern Sizing:
XS-S-M. I'm a RTW size 6 and I cut a small.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
It looked just like the photo.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions were very easy to follow. GREAT for beginners and experienced sewers alike.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the blousey top. I love to layer my dresses and tops. This has such a nice shape!

The pattern requires you to cut the back of the skirt into two pieces, joined with a center seam. I do not believe there is any reason to cut the back of the skirt this way. The pattern piece could have been cut on the fold. It would have required the use of more fabric, but the end result would be nicer.

Fabric Used:
Crepe de Chine

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I omitted the pockets because my fabric was semi-sheer.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I would absolutely sew with this pattern again. The other options include a strappy, sleeveless top and a longer skirt. I'd love to make that variation.

Conclusion:
I have more photos and details on my blog. Check it out at Always a Project. Thanks!!
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Miss Tanya said...
Beautiful dress - looks great on you!
5/16/13 10:00 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Adorable-great fabric.
5/17/13 6:56 AM
trinicity said...
I love the fabric, very cute
5/17/13 7:29 AM
rhgarza said...
Thank you, thank you! The pattern is nice, but the fabric really makes this dress. I have enough left over to do something else! Now, what to do?
5/17/13 8:22 AM
caper81 said...
The fabric really does make this dress! It looks terrific on you! :)
5/17/13 8:44 AM
marec said...
Really well done and very pretty.
5/17/13 10:08 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I love it!
5/17/13 4:07 PM
Tina303 said...
You didn't shorten the length of the skirt, did you? I want to make it, but I want to know what I'm getting into, as well. Thanks!
5/17/13 7:17 PM
rhgarza said...
Thank you all so much! Tina, the skirt comes in 2 lengths and I selected the shorter skirt. I didn't alter it at all. :)
5/17/13 8:46 PM
detroy said...
Oh that is just adorable!
3/11/14 12:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

StyleArc Demi Drape Top

photo
by: Deepika

Review
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now