Online Sewing Class: Restyling with Exposed Zippers
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1203 (Tank Top and Shell)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1651 times 
Reviewed by:petra
photo

 
 
About petrastarstar
NH USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews: 52 (patterns: 48)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/05 9:46 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sprKathleen said... (6/18/05 12:14 PM) Reply
Be sure to look at the close-up photos of Petra's fantastic embroidery on these. A delight just to look at!! Bravo, Petra!
amadoofus said... (3/23/05 6:27 AM) Reply
Thanks!
petra said... (3/23/05 5:19 AM) Reply
Irna, I find that if I am turning under serged and top stitchin narrow hems on garments like this around armholes, necklines and hems that I can get more control and a neater look if I first fuse it with a narrow very soft fusible web (one of the ones that is paper backed). I press it on to the inside of the serging, peel off the paper gradually and the fold and fuse as I go. Giving it a good steam flat at the end and after top stitching. Works for me anyway!
sue77 said... (3/23/05 0:41 AM) Reply
Wow this looks great!!!!
muffie11 said... (3/22/05 12:09 PM) Reply
Petra, so enjoyed your slide show, very inspiring - I intend to organize my sewing clutter today - also your decorative accents on your garments are really nice - thanks for sharing.
amadoofus said... (3/22/05 8:14 AM) Reply
Very impressive and lovely. Question: Will you please educate me and explain why you used the fusible web to turn under the hem? Thank you!
CarolynGM said... (3/22/05 6:10 AM) Reply
Very pretty top -- love the contrast decorations. Glad you were able to make something from your swing jacket.
Danvillegirl said... (3/22/05 5:37 AM) Reply
You have turned a very blank top into something much more attractive. Good review. Have not made this top in a long time, glad to read your adjustments made. I may pull this pattern out of stash and use up some of my leftover fabrics.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 6698

photo
by: Talleymom

Review
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Pattern Details