Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8813 (Misses' Dress ) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 441 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Marge99
photo
About Marge99star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/8/10
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/20/13 5:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ButtonFaith said...
I love this! A great review with lots of helpful info and I am extremely impressed that you made it while you had a migraine. Interesting about the droop in the front, did your fabric have above-normal stretch?
5/20/13 5:30 PM
DaisyA said...
Thanks for the review. Your wearable toile looks good!
5/20/13 8:04 PM
meggipeg said...
I really like your version of the dress and think it looks better than the pattern picture. I definitely think it's worth persevering with the fitting issues as it's a lovely dress and very flattering on you.
5/21/13 0:45 AM
darlow said...
I've been wanting to see this pattern on someone, as I also have it. Actually, I love it on you. Nice job!
5/21/13 4:06 AM
Amiejean said...
Very helpful. I am very intrigued by this pattern, I need to just do it. I really like yours, thanks for sharing. The front is lovely and the dress looks so fun and comfy.
5/21/13 4:08 AM
Barbara V said...
For a test garment made while dealing with a migraine, it turned out really, really well and looks great on you. I don't mind seeing the extra fabric at the shoulder/arm area as I think it appears as part of the loose fitting design, actually matching the draping pockets. I think the lower sleeve seam can be taken in more or dart added somewhere so that it can fit tighter in order to push up the sleeves if that is what you would like to do. Mostly I think you should wear this alot as it is so cute especially with the stripe design!
5/21/13 11:29 AM
wildberrymom said...
Translated so well on you! Great job!
5/21/13 12:06 PM
Marge99 said...
Barbara V, I hadn't thought of the sleeve folds as matching the pockets, but it makes sense now that you mention it. To be honest the migraine was more Alice-in-Wonderland than red-hot-poker-behind-the-eye, but I get them often enough to resent losing any sewing time over it!
5/21/13 1:13 PM
Rosalaya said...
WOW! That looks so good on you. Certainly minimises the bust doesn't it? I too have this pattern in my stash and I too am of the 'traditional build' [as per The First Lady's Detective Agency]. Mmmmmm, I see what you mean about the front droop. I think it must be the extra weight of the pockets. Love this dress on you. Also, I would be wary of 'taking out the extra bit' in the arm syce. I think that comes in as a result of the design and reducing it may result in less arm movement.
5/21/13 6:01 PM
darlow said...
Actually, the photo of your dress is much more flattering than the knit version that Marcy Tilton struggled with on her blog. Hers just droops. I am wondering if your fabric has more structure - is it a medium weight instead of light weight? Is it because it is polyester? Would appreciate your thoughts in response, as I'd like to give it a try also, but don't want to be discouraged by the drooping issue. Thanks.
5/22/13 3:14 AM
Marge99 said...
@ Darlow. I assume that it is polyester because it was dirt cheap, but it could be something else. It is not a supersoft knit and only has horizontal stretch. If I put the fabric down flat, pull a pinch through my fingers and carefully let go, the pinch will stand up by itself up to the height of a pen. Plenty of body, but not heavy. Hope that helps!
5/22/13 8:12 AM
darlow said...
Thank you for taking the time to respond. I hope you'll make another since it is so flattering on you. I am very full-busted and short, so I'm hesitant to try it, but if I can find fabric I won't mind sacrificing, I'll likely give it a chance. Best wishes!
5/23/13 3:00 AM
meadowclark said...
Thank you for the review. It looks great!
5/24/13 9:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-108
photo
Review by Claire in ... on 4/26/09
Read Review

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Sheer Black
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5429
photo
Review by ClaireEmil... on 2/20/09
Read Review

Burda 6982 Pattern
Burda 6982 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1458 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1458 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us