SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1312 (Misses Dress)

15 more reviews
Viewed 620 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 157
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 72 people
patterns reviewed: 152
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/13 4:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
beanchor said...
Good job, boobs aside :)
5/29/13 4:13 PM
Patti B said...
I really like this except for the smooshing, of course. It is reminiscent of a Burda sundress with the angular skirt. Do try it again.
5/29/13 4:19 PM
anne jewell said...
i like the dress on you a lot. if ever you feel ambitious, make a new bodice only of white linen and replace the blue, tight one. you look cute in it!
5/29/13 4:22 PM
mollyshark said...
I did this one in a similar fabric and it does use a TON of fabric. Mine was maybe a tad stiff. I did an fba which helped, but for some reason the shoulders are VERY narrow. Fit on the top is just...odd. I love the dress, but it is not as comfortable as it should be. Will have to try it on and analyze and see if I want to do another. Will have to be convinced because of the quantity of fabric it uses.
5/29/13 4:31 PM
Barbara V said...
Well...not that mooshed....I like the look of it on you! The only thing is- if it is not comfortable then it is not as much fun to wear. I do hope you will wear it some though. I can't wait to make one of these for myself. Your review was very helpful!
5/29/13 5:12 PM
mchick said...
It looks lovely on you, gorgeous colour. If you are unhappy with the bodice (looks good to me) you could replace it with jersey? I always think this pattern top is jersey, and am surprised that it's designed for woven fabric
5/29/13 5:18 PM
JillyBe said...
Really lovely on you! (squished boobs aside) Would it be worth adding an "aftermarket" modified gusset at the sides? It's just such a lovely color & fabric!
5/29/13 6:13 PM
Renata said...
I seem to be copying your style of late. I have almost finished making my version except our approaching winter has got in the way. I actually did a muslin first and found it uncomfortably tight putting it on, even with a side zip, so I added a back seam with zip. I like your fabric and think the dress is flattering in a relaxed way.
5/29/13 6:46 PM
Athene said...
This is a really nice dress. Thank you for the review.
5/29/13 7:11 PM
mhoutz said...
What a pretty dress!
5/29/13 8:02 PM
sfshaza said...
First, that is a pretty dress! Second, I was going to suggest the same thing that JillyBe did - a little gusset at the upper side seam to relieve the boob squishage - though it doesn't look bad, but I can imagine it's not the most comfortable. It's cute!
5/29/13 9:26 PM
carolynw said...
I love this on you - mushed boobs and all - first look I thought "doesn't she look so cute" am sorry it didn't turn out as well as you would have liked - I think JillyBe has a good solution!
5/29/13 10:49 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY cute, and you wear it so well (as you do EVERYTHING). :o) That's great information to have about the bust being so close-fitting. That would be a fatal error on my part. :o(
5/30/13 0:27 AM
wendyrb said...
You nailed it with your styling. It is sweet, swingy, summertime and you look right in it. Way better than the Vogue Vamp. Owie about the mooshed boobs! I shudder to think about moi . . . Wear it with a little shrug if you don't want to redo with one of the good ideas here.
5/30/13 1:17 AM
Rebecca D said...
Looks good on you, I think.
5/30/13 6:54 AM
sew4grands said...
Very pretty, perfect for an afternoon garden party
5/30/13 8:20 AM
wildberrymom said...
I'm liking the idea of the gusset fix as this is too cute not to wear or be uncomfortable.
5/30/13 10:57 AM
marthamyers said...
Yes, this is fabulous! I keep eyeing this dress in my stash. A woman in my sewing group wore one last Saturday. She used a TNT bodice pattern and laid it over this one. Even though I do not have much boobage, I think I might try that. And, as others have said, it looks absolutely great on you!
5/30/13 12:48 PM
liliv said...
I like it a lot, really sweet dress. Too bad it is uncomfortabel on you, it looks very pretty!
6/3/13 2:23 PM
Margaret said...
Sorry about the bodice problem, but this looks very cute and I'm glad it can still be worn!
6/5/13 12:10 PM
Lisa Laree said...
This is a great review; you told me what I need to know when/if I get around to making this! Thanks!
6/24/13 7:37 PM
nineten said...
Thanks for a very helpful review. Just what I needed before putting scissors to fabric.
10/8/13 11:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2010-131

photo
by: dintas

Review
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now