SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3037 (two piece dresses)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1550 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/05 3:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jacalhoun said...
What a great outfit! I love the style, the color, the contrast, everything! Great job!
3/23/05 3:32 PM
The Renaissance Girl said...
Cute outfit! Very retro, i love it.
3/23/05 3:35 PM
Susan Dryer said...
Another lovely outfit! Elegant, refined and somewhat retro. Very nice.
3/23/05 3:36 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Thank you for the buttonhole tip! I have been working with Simplicity 4637 Threads Collection which has a similar blouse/jacket. I would not have thought to do a contrasting collar and I just love how you did yours!
3/23/05 3:39 PM
CatherineN said...
I remember my mom and grandmother wearing outfits like this when I was a kid. Very nice and a pretty color.
3/23/05 3:40 PM
Vonnevo said...
Another Dr Sue beauty! I really liked your colour combinations and the way you have used coloured trim. Thanks again for a great review.
3/23/05 3:49 PM
Vivienne said...
Very summery - you're lucky to be able to wear that gorgeous orange colour. Does this match your recent burda top?
3/23/05 4:31 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love the way you did the contrast colors, and I love the retro look too. The style you chose tends to be very figure enhancing -- I bet you look great in it.
3/23/05 6:06 PM
jlg said...
Lovely, Dr. Sue. I like this style and what you've done with the pattern.
3/23/05 6:09 PM
ryan's mom said...
Great outfit! Can't wait to see your next one too.
3/23/05 6:12 PM
PVA said...
I'm old enough to have made & worn something of the exact same style! Thank you for the review & so many design details. I especially like the tip about the contrasting buttonholes. Beautiful! I certainly love the retro look. I don't necessarily subscribe to the precept that if I'm old enough to have worn it the 1st time I shouldn't again! Pat (8^D)
3/23/05 6:36 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a great looking outfit!! It gives such a nice vintage feel- especially with the great colors. Thanks for another great review.
3/23/05 8:13 PM
drsue said...
Thank you for the nice comments everyone. Vivienne: yes, this skirt matches the orange in the burda top (I was wearing the skirt in that pic.) PVA: IMHO the 40's fashions are exempt from that rule of thumb. Wasn't there a female senator who wore her actual 40's suits during her stint in the senate in the 70's. I believe she was the inspiration for Gracie in the Doonsbury comic strip.
3/23/05 10:52 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Classic style, love the colors.
3/24/05 5:48 AM
MickeyFan said...
I love this outfit - especially your use of the binding on the sleeves and the contrast collar facing. The creamsicle colors are luscious.
3/24/05 6:32 AM
Hilary said...
Your outfit is gorgeous-I love the contrast orange on the top-and you're right about the longer version looking dowdy-I had looked at this pattern but the picture of the women wearing them just didn't look good, and I couldn't put my finger on what made it sort of blah looking. Now I know and yours is definitely *not* blah!
3/24/05 8:31 AM
PhyllisC said...
Very sharp....all you need is a pair of spectator pumps and you're all set for spring!
3/24/05 12:16 PM
Marrs said...
Thanks for the great review .. and help! This pattern is in the planning stages and your comments are timely.
3/24/05 1:47 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I love getting plain looking patterns and jazzing them up. Yours is lovely- I agree that it looks nicer than the one on the envelope.
3/24/05 5:31 PM
Julie G said...
Nice outfit. Looks very sharp. It looks like the orange facing is showing through the white. If you add a seam to the facing from the lapel breakpoint up to the shoulder/neck point and cut the bottom half of the facing in the white it would bump this outfit up another notch. Also for next time, you might consider a shaped facing for the back hem if you want to preserve the original shape and seam.
7/2/07 4:20 PM
kadytheredpanda said...
I'm not much of an orange person, but I love that entire outfit. So pretty!
10/5/12 12:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Silhouette Patterns 500

photo
by: JEF

Review
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2568

photo
by: MissCelie

Review