Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3037 (two piece dresses) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1540 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/05 3:17 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jacalhoun said...
What a great outfit! I love the style, the color, the contrast, everything! Great job!
3/23/05 3:32 PM
The Renaissance Girl said...
Cute outfit! Very retro, i love it.
3/23/05 3:35 PM
Susan Dryer said...
Another lovely outfit! Elegant, refined and somewhat retro. Very nice.
3/23/05 3:36 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Thank you for the buttonhole tip! I have been working with Simplicity 4637 Threads Collection which has a similar blouse/jacket. I would not have thought to do a contrasting collar and I just love how you did yours!
3/23/05 3:39 PM
CatherineN said...
I remember my mom and grandmother wearing outfits like this when I was a kid. Very nice and a pretty color.
3/23/05 3:40 PM
Vonnevo said...
Another Dr Sue beauty! I really liked your colour combinations and the way you have used coloured trim. Thanks again for a great review.
3/23/05 3:49 PM
Vivienne said...
Very summery - you're lucky to be able to wear that gorgeous orange colour. Does this match your recent burda top?
3/23/05 4:31 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love the way you did the contrast colors, and I love the retro look too. The style you chose tends to be very figure enhancing -- I bet you look great in it.
3/23/05 6:06 PM
jlg said...
Lovely, Dr. Sue. I like this style and what you've done with the pattern.
3/23/05 6:09 PM
ryan's mom said...
Great outfit! Can't wait to see your next one too.
3/23/05 6:12 PM
PVA said...
I'm old enough to have made & worn something of the exact same style! Thank you for the review & so many design details. I especially like the tip about the contrasting buttonholes. Beautiful! I certainly love the retro look. I don't necessarily subscribe to the precept that if I'm old enough to have worn it the 1st time I shouldn't again! Pat (8^D)
3/23/05 6:36 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a great looking outfit!! It gives such a nice vintage feel- especially with the great colors. Thanks for another great review.
3/23/05 8:13 PM
drsue said...
Thank you for the nice comments everyone. Vivienne: yes, this skirt matches the orange in the burda top (I was wearing the skirt in that pic.) PVA: IMHO the 40's fashions are exempt from that rule of thumb. Wasn't there a female senator who wore her actual 40's suits during her stint in the senate in the 70's. I believe she was the inspiration for Gracie in the Doonsbury comic strip.
3/23/05 10:52 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Classic style, love the colors.
3/24/05 5:48 AM
MickeyFan said...
I love this outfit - especially your use of the binding on the sleeves and the contrast collar facing. The creamsicle colors are luscious.
3/24/05 6:32 AM
Hilary said...
Your outfit is gorgeous-I love the contrast orange on the top-and you're right about the longer version looking dowdy-I had looked at this pattern but the picture of the women wearing them just didn't look good, and I couldn't put my finger on what made it sort of blah looking. Now I know and yours is definitely *not* blah!
3/24/05 8:31 AM
PhyllisC said...
Very sharp....all you need is a pair of spectator pumps and you're all set for spring!
3/24/05 12:16 PM
Marrs said...
Thanks for the great review .. and help! This pattern is in the planning stages and your comments are timely.
3/24/05 1:47 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I love getting plain looking patterns and jazzing them up. Yours is lovely- I agree that it looks nicer than the one on the envelope.
3/24/05 5:31 PM
Julie G said...
Nice outfit. Looks very sharp. It looks like the orange facing is showing through the white. If you add a seam to the facing from the lapel breakpoint up to the shoulder/neck point and cut the bottom half of the facing in the white it would bump this outfit up another notch. Also for next time, you might consider a shaped facing for the back hem if you want to preserve the original shape and seam.
7/2/07 4:20 PM
kadytheredpanda said...
I'm not much of an orange person, but I love that entire outfit. So pretty!
10/5/12 12:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

La Mia Boutique Magazine 08-2008-12 V-neck top
photo
Review by Twinset on 11/26/09
Read Review

Victory Lola Paper Pattern
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern
Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Judy's Fancy Pants Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Judy's Fancy Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-#19
photo
Review by sew42mom on 1/8/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1669 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1669 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us