Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6643 (Misses Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 450 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:grays08
photo
Friend of PR
About grays08starstar
IL USA
Member since: 9/13/11
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/22/13 11:26 AM
Last Updated:5/22/13 11:46 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
canei said...
Very nice!
5/22/13 12:09 PM
Quickie said...
You did a great job.
5/22/13 12:16 PM
Renren said...
Fabulous dress and great review--I definitely appreciate all the detail you have given and the insight you shared about how this pattern could have been improved regarding the armhole finish, drafting a lining, dart techniques, and handling the vent/lining area. Sounds like you got most of the lining done by machine as you wished. The dress is very sleek and perfect for a birthday celebration . . . with flowers from dh included!
5/22/13 12:28 PM
ClioBklyn said...
Beautiful fit on this! Good point about the dart instructions!
5/22/13 12:29 PM
MNBarb said...
Your fabric/pattern combo are perfect. It's really cute on you!
5/22/13 12:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such an impressive and sleek looking dress! Thank you for a VH review.
5/22/13 12:42 PM
sarahjoharris said...
Thanks for the thorough review! I just cut my fabric for this and as a relatively new sewer, I'm looking to put your "lessons learned" into practice.
5/22/13 3:42 PM
liliv said...
Your dress is very stylish, the fit is amazing and it was worth every minute you spent on matching up the diamonds:the back is perfect!
5/22/13 3:47 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I LOVE this pattern, I've used it three times, which is something I never do, and will probably make another version or two. It's very versatile and modifiable. Its simple design works so well with large prints. For every version I've made, I've added a lining. I made narrow facings (of interfacing only), and fused them to the lining to stabilize the neckline and armholes to prevent distortion. I overlooked it dozens of times in the pattern books and only found it through the great reviews on PR!
5/22/13 4:39 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Love it! Fantastic, detailed info. Who can resist a print like this?!
5/22/13 6:54 PM
Barbara V said...
Very pretty print and dress. A wonderful fit as well.
5/22/13 10:55 PM
pdiddly said...
great fitting dress, and can only imagine how long it took to match up those diamonds in the back zip - lovely
5/23/13 3:12 AM
Grandmomof7boys said...
You did a great job matching the diamonds!
5/23/13 7:20 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I love the dress on you and LOVE the fabric. Oh my goodness! Blue is my favorite and this print is so pretty! And your pattern matching is impeccable!
5/23/13 12:07 PM
KathleenS said...
Great pattern matching. Thanks for the helpful review.
12/31/13 10:36 PM
supizoo said...
Beautiful dress. Thank you for the details on the finishing techniques you used/would use. Finishing garments properly is something I struggle with if it's not detailed in the pattern instructions. Your insight is very helpful.
3/27/14 6:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Drafted from RTW NA
photo
Review by katib on 2/24/09
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-101 Blouse
photo
Review by Skaapie on 3/1/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3278 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3278 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7321 Pattern
Burda 7321 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us