SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6643 (Misses Dresses)

22 more reviews
Viewed 504 times 
Reviewed by:grays08
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About grays08starstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 9/13/11
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/22/13 11:26 AM
Last Updated:5/22/13 11:46 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
supizoo said...
Beautiful dress. Thank you for the details on the finishing techniques you used/would use. Finishing garments properly is something I struggle with if it's not detailed in the pattern instructions. Your insight is very helpful.
3/27/14 6:14 PM
KathleenS said...
Great pattern matching. Thanks for the helpful review.
12/31/13 10:36 PM
MrsCharisma said...
I love the dress on you and LOVE the fabric. Oh my goodness! Blue is my favorite and this print is so pretty! And your pattern matching is impeccable!
5/23/13 12:07 PM
Grandmomof7boys said...
You did a great job matching the diamonds!
5/23/13 7:20 AM
pdiddly said...
great fitting dress, and can only imagine how long it took to match up those diamonds in the back zip - lovely
5/23/13 3:12 AM
Barbara V said...
Very pretty print and dress. A wonderful fit as well.
5/22/13 10:55 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Love it! Fantastic, detailed info. Who can resist a print like this?!
5/22/13 6:54 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I LOVE this pattern, I've used it three times, which is something I never do, and will probably make another version or two. It's very versatile and modifiable. Its simple design works so well with large prints. For every version I've made, I've added a lining. I made narrow facings (of interfacing only), and fused them to the lining to stabilize the neckline and armholes to prevent distortion. I overlooked it dozens of times in the pattern books and only found it through the great reviews on PR!
5/22/13 4:39 PM
liliv said...
Your dress is very stylish, the fit is amazing and it was worth every minute you spent on matching up the diamonds:the back is perfect!
5/22/13 3:47 PM
sarahjoharris said...
Thanks for the thorough review! I just cut my fabric for this and as a relatively new sewer, I'm looking to put your "lessons learned" into practice.
5/22/13 3:42 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such an impressive and sleek looking dress! Thank you for a VH review.
5/22/13 12:42 PM
MNBarb said...
Your fabric/pattern combo are perfect. It's really cute on you!
5/22/13 12:40 PM
ClioBklyn said...
Beautiful fit on this! Good point about the dart instructions!
5/22/13 12:29 PM
Renren said...
Fabulous dress and great review--I definitely appreciate all the detail you have given and the insight you shared about how this pattern could have been improved regarding the armhole finish, drafting a lining, dart techniques, and handling the vent/lining area. Sounds like you got most of the lining done by machine as you wished. The dress is very sleek and perfect for a birthday celebration . . . with flowers from dh included!
5/22/13 12:28 PM
Quickie said...
You did a great job.
5/22/13 12:16 PM
canei said...
Very nice!
5/22/13 12:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Vogue Patterns 2693

photo
by: beanchor

Review
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now