SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6643 (Misses Dresses)

22 more reviews
Viewed 494 times 
Reviewed by:grays08
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About grays08starstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 9/13/11
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 95
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/22/13 11:26 AM
Last Updated:5/22/13 11:46 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
canei said...
Very nice!
5/22/13 12:09 PM
Quickie said...
You did a great job.
5/22/13 12:16 PM
Renren said...
Fabulous dress and great review--I definitely appreciate all the detail you have given and the insight you shared about how this pattern could have been improved regarding the armhole finish, drafting a lining, dart techniques, and handling the vent/lining area. Sounds like you got most of the lining done by machine as you wished. The dress is very sleek and perfect for a birthday celebration . . . with flowers from dh included!
5/22/13 12:28 PM
ClioBklyn said...
Beautiful fit on this! Good point about the dart instructions!
5/22/13 12:29 PM
MNBarb said...
Your fabric/pattern combo are perfect. It's really cute on you!
5/22/13 12:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such an impressive and sleek looking dress! Thank you for a VH review.
5/22/13 12:42 PM
sarahjoharris said...
Thanks for the thorough review! I just cut my fabric for this and as a relatively new sewer, I'm looking to put your "lessons learned" into practice.
5/22/13 3:42 PM
liliv said...
Your dress is very stylish, the fit is amazing and it was worth every minute you spent on matching up the diamonds:the back is perfect!
5/22/13 3:47 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I LOVE this pattern, I've used it three times, which is something I never do, and will probably make another version or two. It's very versatile and modifiable. Its simple design works so well with large prints. For every version I've made, I've added a lining. I made narrow facings (of interfacing only), and fused them to the lining to stabilize the neckline and armholes to prevent distortion. I overlooked it dozens of times in the pattern books and only found it through the great reviews on PR!
5/22/13 4:39 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Love it! Fantastic, detailed info. Who can resist a print like this?!
5/22/13 6:54 PM
Barbara V said...
Very pretty print and dress. A wonderful fit as well.
5/22/13 10:55 PM
pdiddly said...
great fitting dress, and can only imagine how long it took to match up those diamonds in the back zip - lovely
5/23/13 3:12 AM
Grandmomof7boys said...
You did a great job matching the diamonds!
5/23/13 7:20 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I love the dress on you and LOVE the fabric. Oh my goodness! Blue is my favorite and this print is so pretty! And your pattern matching is impeccable!
5/23/13 12:07 PM
KathleenS said...
Great pattern matching. Thanks for the helpful review.
12/31/13 10:36 PM
supizoo said...
Beautiful dress. Thank you for the details on the finishing techniques you used/would use. Finishing garments properly is something I struggle with if it's not detailed in the pattern instructions. Your insight is very helpful.
3/27/14 6:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 7161

photo
by: Judy Kski

Review
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now