SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2799 (Tom & Linda Platt dress)

Viewed 2080 times 
Reviewed by:gabrielle stanley
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About gabrielle stanleystar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 2/20/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:54 AM
Last Updated:3/25/05 2:26 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marita Kinnula said...
Gabrielle, I have to agree with you, it's truly spectacular, congratulations!!!
3/25/05 4:25 AM
clare said...
wow! it was well worth hunting down the fabric for this one!
3/25/05 5:12 AM
Deepika said...
Gabrielle, your dress is smashing! Just like you rated, difficult but gorgeous results. Totally worth the time. Thanks for reviewing.
3/25/05 6:37 AM
Georgene said...
Wonderful version of this dress! Lucky lady, did she say what she would do with the separate top layer?
3/25/05 7:00 AM
AnneM said...
This is one of those wonderful Vogue patterns that make you wish you had a formal event to go to. Love your version; wonderful fabric combination. Thanks for the info on taking out the neck gaping.
3/25/05 7:03 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely, lovely job! I really like the idea of the separate tunic. I could see that in a coordinating lace fabric too! -Ann
3/25/05 7:14 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
What a gorgeous formal! You should get lots of referals from this happy client. Lots of helpful tips here.
3/25/05 7:38 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely! I'm sure your client was very pleased.
3/25/05 7:49 AM
Hilary said...
That is *gorgeous*! I always loved this dress in the catalog- but as a SAHM I just can't think of a good place to wear it, lol. Thanks for sharing!
3/25/05 8:10 AM
PhyllisC said...
You get a ton of credit alone for persevering and finding the right color gradations (and in silk to boot!) Wonderful gown.
3/25/05 8:36 AM
Melody said...
What a beautiful dress. You must also be credited for having a wonderfully developed color sense.
3/25/05 8:55 AM
Elona said...
What a beautiful gown! I have often wondered how this one would look on a real person. Your client must be positively delighted.
3/25/05 9:44 AM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful dress... I love it.
3/25/05 9:53 AM
PattiA said...
Gabrielle, this is one stunning gown!
3/25/05 10:52 AM
Eli said...
it is spectacular indeed!
3/25/05 12:07 PM
flowermama said...
Lovely gown and so beautifully done! Thanks for sharing it and for the picture on a person which really showcases the effect of this gown.
3/25/05 1:01 PM
els said...
The dress is beautiful.
3/25/05 1:06 PM
Annika said...
Thank you for making this dress! I've been mulling over buying the pattern for some time and I love being able to see it on a real person!
3/25/05 1:42 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a gorgeous gown! Thank you for sharing this amazing project.
3/25/05 3:03 PM
Jan B. said...
Fabulous! Lovely dress
3/25/05 11:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a lucky client you have! How did you hem the layers, by the way?
3/26/05 7:33 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very pretty dress. My hat is off to you for finding graded blues for the overlay.
3/26/05 11:55 AM
JDpenelope said...
Just saw this review! Wow, beautiful. I'm curious how wide your fabric is and where you got it!
4/24/05 6:22 AM
gabrielle stanley said...
I'm in the UK and my source only sells wholesale, I'm afraid.
4/25/05 3:55 AM
Inger said...
A dress for me! But where do I find the 60" material needed? Silk georgette would suit me better!
5/10/05 6:10 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Everyone else beat me to appropriate adjectives. It's beyond wonderful, and your review is great. Thanks.
5/11/05 6:23 AM
FirecrackerKTM said...
What a beautiful dress!
4/10/08 4:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

No Pattern Used Rhonda Buss Design

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6752

photo
by: lovenicky

Review