SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2799 (Tom & Linda Platt dress)

Viewed 2080 times 
Reviewed by:gabrielle stanley
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About gabrielle stanleystar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 2/20/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:54 AM
Last Updated:3/25/05 2:26 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marita Kinnula said...
Gabrielle, I have to agree with you, it's truly spectacular, congratulations!!!
3/25/05 4:25 AM
clare said...
wow! it was well worth hunting down the fabric for this one!
3/25/05 5:12 AM
Deepika said...
Gabrielle, your dress is smashing! Just like you rated, difficult but gorgeous results. Totally worth the time. Thanks for reviewing.
3/25/05 6:37 AM
Georgene said...
Wonderful version of this dress! Lucky lady, did she say what she would do with the separate top layer?
3/25/05 7:00 AM
AnneM said...
This is one of those wonderful Vogue patterns that make you wish you had a formal event to go to. Love your version; wonderful fabric combination. Thanks for the info on taking out the neck gaping.
3/25/05 7:03 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely, lovely job! I really like the idea of the separate tunic. I could see that in a coordinating lace fabric too! -Ann
3/25/05 7:14 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
What a gorgeous formal! You should get lots of referals from this happy client. Lots of helpful tips here.
3/25/05 7:38 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely! I'm sure your client was very pleased.
3/25/05 7:49 AM
Hilary said...
That is *gorgeous*! I always loved this dress in the catalog- but as a SAHM I just can't think of a good place to wear it, lol. Thanks for sharing!
3/25/05 8:10 AM
PhyllisC said...
You get a ton of credit alone for persevering and finding the right color gradations (and in silk to boot!) Wonderful gown.
3/25/05 8:36 AM
Melody said...
What a beautiful dress. You must also be credited for having a wonderfully developed color sense.
3/25/05 8:55 AM
Elona said...
What a beautiful gown! I have often wondered how this one would look on a real person. Your client must be positively delighted.
3/25/05 9:44 AM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful dress... I love it.
3/25/05 9:53 AM
PattiA said...
Gabrielle, this is one stunning gown!
3/25/05 10:52 AM
Eli said...
it is spectacular indeed!
3/25/05 12:07 PM
flowermama said...
Lovely gown and so beautifully done! Thanks for sharing it and for the picture on a person which really showcases the effect of this gown.
3/25/05 1:01 PM
els said...
The dress is beautiful.
3/25/05 1:06 PM
Annika said...
Thank you for making this dress! I've been mulling over buying the pattern for some time and I love being able to see it on a real person!
3/25/05 1:42 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a gorgeous gown! Thank you for sharing this amazing project.
3/25/05 3:03 PM
Jan B. said...
Fabulous! Lovely dress
3/25/05 11:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a lucky client you have! How did you hem the layers, by the way?
3/26/05 7:33 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very pretty dress. My hat is off to you for finding graded blues for the overlay.
3/26/05 11:55 AM
JDpenelope said...
Just saw this review! Wow, beautiful. I'm curious how wide your fabric is and where you got it!
4/24/05 6:22 AM
gabrielle stanley said...
I'm in the UK and my source only sells wholesale, I'm afraid.
4/25/05 3:55 AM
Inger said...
A dress for me! But where do I find the 60" material needed? Silk georgette would suit me better!
5/10/05 6:10 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Everyone else beat me to appropriate adjectives. It's beyond wonderful, and your review is great. Thanks.
5/11/05 6:23 AM
FirecrackerKTM said...
What a beautiful dress!
4/10/08 4:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick 5678

photo
by: Jrhee

Review
BurdaStyle Downloadable 6051

photo
by: sertyan

Review
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now