Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2799 (Tom & Linda Platt dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 2076 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:gabrielle stanley
photo
Friend of PR
About gabrielle stanleystar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 2/20/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:54 AM
Last Updated:3/25/05 2:26 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marita Kinnula said...
Gabrielle, I have to agree with you, it's truly spectacular, congratulations!!!
3/25/05 4:25 AM
clare said...
wow! it was well worth hunting down the fabric for this one!
3/25/05 5:12 AM
Deepika said...
Gabrielle, your dress is smashing! Just like you rated, difficult but gorgeous results. Totally worth the time. Thanks for reviewing.
3/25/05 6:37 AM
Georgene said...
Wonderful version of this dress! Lucky lady, did she say what she would do with the separate top layer?
3/25/05 7:00 AM
AnneM said...
This is one of those wonderful Vogue patterns that make you wish you had a formal event to go to. Love your version; wonderful fabric combination. Thanks for the info on taking out the neck gaping.
3/25/05 7:03 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely, lovely job! I really like the idea of the separate tunic. I could see that in a coordinating lace fabric too! -Ann
3/25/05 7:14 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
What a gorgeous formal! You should get lots of referals from this happy client. Lots of helpful tips here.
3/25/05 7:38 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely! I'm sure your client was very pleased.
3/25/05 7:49 AM
Hilary said...
That is *gorgeous*! I always loved this dress in the catalog- but as a SAHM I just can't think of a good place to wear it, lol. Thanks for sharing!
3/25/05 8:10 AM
PhyllisC said...
You get a ton of credit alone for persevering and finding the right color gradations (and in silk to boot!) Wonderful gown.
3/25/05 8:36 AM
Melody said...
What a beautiful dress. You must also be credited for having a wonderfully developed color sense.
3/25/05 8:55 AM
Elona said...
What a beautiful gown! I have often wondered how this one would look on a real person. Your client must be positively delighted.
3/25/05 9:44 AM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful dress... I love it.
3/25/05 9:53 AM
PattiA said...
Gabrielle, this is one stunning gown!
3/25/05 10:52 AM
Eli said...
it is spectacular indeed!
3/25/05 12:07 PM
flowermama said...
Lovely gown and so beautifully done! Thanks for sharing it and for the picture on a person which really showcases the effect of this gown.
3/25/05 1:01 PM
els said...
The dress is beautiful.
3/25/05 1:06 PM
Annika said...
Thank you for making this dress! I've been mulling over buying the pattern for some time and I love being able to see it on a real person!
3/25/05 1:42 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a gorgeous gown! Thank you for sharing this amazing project.
3/25/05 3:03 PM
Jan B. said...
Fabulous! Lovely dress
3/25/05 11:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a lucky client you have! How did you hem the layers, by the way?
3/26/05 7:33 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very pretty dress. My hat is off to you for finding graded blues for the overlay.
3/26/05 11:55 AM
JDpenelope said...
Just saw this review! Wow, beautiful. I'm curious how wide your fabric is and where you got it!
4/24/05 6:22 AM
gabrielle stanley said...
I'm in the UK and my source only sells wholesale, I'm afraid.
4/25/05 3:55 AM
Inger said...
A dress for me! But where do I find the 60" material needed? Silk georgette would suit me better!
5/10/05 6:10 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Everyone else beat me to appropriate adjectives. It's beyond wonderful, and your review is great. Thanks.
5/11/05 6:23 AM
FirecrackerKTM said...
What a beautiful dress!
4/10/08 4:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

McCall's 5459
photo
Review by PNSnNeedle... on 8/2/10
Read Review

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest
photo
Review by nicegirl on 9/30/12
Read Review

New Look 6578 Pattern
New Look 6578 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1402 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1402 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us