Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sure-Fit Designs: Pants Kit (Pants Kit) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 600 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:allycovey
photo
Friend of PR
About allycoveystar
AR USA
Member since: 11/16/07
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/13 2:26 AM
Last Updated:12/13/13 11:36 AM
Project Photo:Sure-Fit Designs: Pants Kit by allycovey

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by allycovey

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Crepe  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Pants Pattern - loose fitting dress pants

Pattern Sizing:sure fit goes by waist size

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes one of the styles

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions are very simple and easy to follow

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I was amazed at how fast I was able to draw a pattern and make a pair of slacks. This is my muslin!!!!!!! I normally have to trace off a pattern then go about alterations, which can take awhile. Then I make the pattern and figure out what I need to do further so it fits. I opened the Sure-fit design package TODAY, followed the instructions, drew the pattern and made these pants in probably 4 hours total.... I did it this afternoon.

Fabric Used: I am not sure on the fabric. Because this was a muslin, I used some of the mystery bundle fabric from Fabricmart.com. It is a woven with no stretch. It hung very nice.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made just a very basic pair of pants. I put in a side zip so I could get them on and off, and it seemed easiest to me at the time

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I don't know why I waited so long to get this. I will retrace these onto some sturdier paper and use over and over. I already cut out a pair of shorts that I will do some cargo pockets and a zipper fly. I am really excited about this and will be purchasing the other kits.

back

Conclusion: I changed this pattern a bit. I have a favorite Burda pattern that has a back yoke and a seam going down the back. so I adapted my sure fit pants to those pattern pieces and narrowed the legs as this is a skinny pant pattern great for tucking into boots. pants front pants back inside fly

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-HFnkdRnlHb8/Uqh9BbazsRI/AAAAAAAAB8Y/ABMdfloLMZA/w1118-h630-no/IMG_20131211_085306_684.jpg
They are made of a stretch chino so they are meant to be a little tight, by the end of the day they had stretched to the point there were no wrinkles at all. very nice and comfy pants.

I still have skills needing improvement, however, I am happy with the pants. They so comfortable I didn't want to take them off for bed LOL. Now all the other pants in my closet don't feel right and I am going to have to get busy...lol

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
leoniep said...
Looks like 4 hours well spent!
5/27/13 5:31 AM
NC Carol said...
They look great! Who wouldn't be happy with pants that fit in 4 hours?
5/27/13 8:58 AM
canei said...
Very nice. They look great! I've been using this system since the '90s. l
5/27/13 11:01 AM
sew4grands said...
Your pants look great and they fit well too. I have this system and need to use it more.
5/28/13 7:01 AM
wildberrymom said...
Very nice!
5/28/13 10:25 AM
Renee' S said...
Your pants look great. I'd willingly spend a few weeks to get a fit that nice. I just ordered the Sure-Fit Designs pants kit, cause I need all the help I can get. Thanks for posting your review.
5/28/13 5:34 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Wow! Those are great looking pants!
5/29/13 12:40 PM
marymary86 said...
I'm impressed! They look great!
7/6/13 0:06 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Congrats on a great fit!!
12/13/13 12:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2009-6
photo
Review by TanyaMT on 2/8/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Threads Magazine Quick Stuff To Sew Vol IV
photo
Review by mad4sewing on 2/8/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7525 Pattern
Burda 7525 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us