Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6041 (wrap skirts) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1366 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/25/05 7:51 PM
Last Updated:3/25/05 7:56 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
I think this looks fantastic. I love the color. Don't worry about it. I'm sure everyone else will say it looks great too.
3/25/05 7:56 PM
gabrielle said...
I'd love a skirt like that, and would never have known you had a problem. You should definitely wear it. I've also had this pattern for a while, but never made it up--I'll be using yours for a reference when I do. :)
3/25/05 8:09 PM
katynairn said...
It looks fine - maybe even bind that folded edge with the ribbon to make it more of a feature?
3/25/05 8:17 PM
flowermama said...
I like your skirt. Hooray for finally getting the KS tank adjusted to fit!
3/25/05 8:46 PM
BjP said...
The first thing that hit me was how lovely this yellow is - both skirt and top. I had to go back to your picture several times to actually notice that the "wrap" fold is further towards the center than the pattern intends. Conclusion: it's beautiful and to heck with the mistake!
3/25/05 8:55 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Dr Sue, your skirt is so gorgeous!! You really ought to wear it. I really love the ribbon tie at the waist. Thanks for the review.
3/25/05 9:16 PM
Sherril Miller said...
This is a great skirt. Only you will know the panel is not where it's "supposed" to be. I love yellow but it doesn't love me. You'll look like a ray of sunshine! I'm glad you're enjoying the CS. I just wish it were me enjoying a CS! LOL
3/25/05 11:38 PM
jlg said...
I agree with the others; the skirt looks great. I'm also jealous of your new coverstitch machine.
3/26/05 5:12 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I love the monochromatic look of this outfit, and wouldn't have noticed the location of the front fold had you not mentioned it. Looks like a perfect warm weather ensemble!
3/26/05 5:45 AM
CarolynGM said...
I didn't notice the fold placement until you brought it up. The skirt looks really cute. I hope you'll review your coverstitch machine. I am green with envy.....hmmmm I think the Babylock dealer is having a sale.
3/26/05 6:07 AM
Peggy L said...
I had to go back and forth between skirt and pattern to see the difference. Beautiful color - looks like a "breath of spring". Wear it & don't say anything about the mistake!
3/26/05 6:41 AM
Tailypo said...
I have to admit, when I clicked on the photo, before even reading your review, I thought, "Something went wrong with the fold." However, I agree with everyone that the overall effect of the skirt is smashing. I would certainly call it acceptable; in fact, very pretty. But if it will always bother you, have you checking yourself in the bathroom mirror saying 'drat!' then give it to Goodwill -- someone else will adore it.
3/26/05 6:55 AM
ryan's mom said...
I like your skirt, like the coloring, and am guilty of always looking at garment photos first before reading reviews. I thought it looked fabulous and couldn't tell you had any problems with it.
3/26/05 9:01 AM
lilhoney57 said...
I looked at your skirt prior to reading the review, and went "Oh thats cute with the ribbon". I didn't notice anything amiss prior to you pointing out you had problems. I think it looks very nice-there are no mistakes just design changes. :)
3/26/05 9:07 AM
Liana said...
It looks great. I agree, wear it in good health, and consider it a "personalized" design!
3/26/05 9:19 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Actually, I think it looks fine, but I know how it is to make something, know it is not right, and then never wear it. But I do think it is a cute little skirt.
3/26/05 11:50 AM
drsue said...
Thank you for all the feedback. I keep going back and forth between "ok" and "not ok". However, I do love the colors, especially all three yellows together, and since most people don't notice a problem I'll consider it a design statement.
3/26/05 4:21 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Hey, drsue - it is fine. Yes the fold is in the wrong place - but that is only if you know where it is supposed to be. As for wrap skirts - well my sister and I made a wrap dress each way back. They became known as our drive- in dresses! Because you know what happens when you sit down in them!! A mock wrap is sooo much better!
3/26/05 6:28 PM
Hilary said...
I think it looks fine-I never would've guessed it gave you such anxiety! It is a lovely color too. I think you should wear it with pride for having perservered and finished through your mistakes. It looks good! Thanks for the tips and now the rest of us will have a better chance of success with this one!
3/27/05 8:26 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Sue, I think it looks perfectly fine. It's only "wrong" because you're comparing it to the pattern. If you had designed it, you could've put the fold anywhere you like. There's no "rule" that you've broken -- you've just deviated from the pattern a little.
3/27/05 10:05 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think the skirt looks nice. I actually prefer mock wraps. I think you will be the only one to know of the fold error, I can not really see it.
3/27/05 10:46 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
I agree, it is a lovely outfit. Put it in the closet for a week or two, then pull it out and wear it, you'll love it. It is surreal to have an idea in your mind and find the pattern and garment are really not turning out as expected. . . I appreciated your review as I spent the last weekend going through three separate sheath dress patterns--tissue pin fitting, then making a muslin--hated all three, can't the the Audrey Hepburn boat neck not to gap--tossed them all, began to wonder if I can really sew or fit at all. . . . I always appreciate your keen and detailed analysis of problems in your reviews!
3/29/05 7:08 PM
BjP said...
drsue, I found your review once again after doing a search. This is my project for the day, and I was so glad to re-read this and will use your review as a guide while I'm sewing today. I still think it's a lovely skirt (I posted earlier as jeanetteP but have since changed my username) and I hope you have gotten good wear from it. Thanks again for a very helpful review!
6/11/05 8:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Contest lingerie contest 2010
photo
Review by reinhardt on 2/9/10
Read Review

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S 2 2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S 2   2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6460
photo
Review by Sewlful on 2/28/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6972 Pattern
Burda 6972 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6154 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6154 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us