SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6041 (wrap skirts)

Viewed 1366 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/25/05 7:51 PM
Last Updated:3/25/05 7:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
I think this looks fantastic. I love the color. Don't worry about it. I'm sure everyone else will say it looks great too.
3/25/05 7:56 PM
gabrielle said...
I'd love a skirt like that, and would never have known you had a problem. You should definitely wear it. I've also had this pattern for a while, but never made it up--I'll be using yours for a reference when I do. :)
3/25/05 8:09 PM
katynairn said...
It looks fine - maybe even bind that folded edge with the ribbon to make it more of a feature?
3/25/05 8:17 PM
flowermama said...
I like your skirt. Hooray for finally getting the KS tank adjusted to fit!
3/25/05 8:46 PM
BjP said...
The first thing that hit me was how lovely this yellow is - both skirt and top. I had to go back to your picture several times to actually notice that the "wrap" fold is further towards the center than the pattern intends. Conclusion: it's beautiful and to heck with the mistake!
3/25/05 8:55 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Dr Sue, your skirt is so gorgeous!! You really ought to wear it. I really love the ribbon tie at the waist. Thanks for the review.
3/25/05 9:16 PM
Sherril Miller said...
This is a great skirt. Only you will know the panel is not where it's "supposed" to be. I love yellow but it doesn't love me. You'll look like a ray of sunshine! I'm glad you're enjoying the CS. I just wish it were me enjoying a CS! LOL
3/25/05 11:38 PM
jlg said...
I agree with the others; the skirt looks great. I'm also jealous of your new coverstitch machine.
3/26/05 5:12 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I love the monochromatic look of this outfit, and wouldn't have noticed the location of the front fold had you not mentioned it. Looks like a perfect warm weather ensemble!
3/26/05 5:45 AM
CarolynGM said...
I didn't notice the fold placement until you brought it up. The skirt looks really cute. I hope you'll review your coverstitch machine. I am green with envy.....hmmmm I think the Babylock dealer is having a sale.
3/26/05 6:07 AM
Peggy L said...
I had to go back and forth between skirt and pattern to see the difference. Beautiful color - looks like a "breath of spring". Wear it & don't say anything about the mistake!
3/26/05 6:41 AM
Tailypo said...
I have to admit, when I clicked on the photo, before even reading your review, I thought, "Something went wrong with the fold." However, I agree with everyone that the overall effect of the skirt is smashing. I would certainly call it acceptable; in fact, very pretty. But if it will always bother you, have you checking yourself in the bathroom mirror saying 'drat!' then give it to Goodwill -- someone else will adore it.
3/26/05 6:55 AM
ryan's mom said...
I like your skirt, like the coloring, and am guilty of always looking at garment photos first before reading reviews. I thought it looked fabulous and couldn't tell you had any problems with it.
3/26/05 9:01 AM
lilhoney57 said...
I looked at your skirt prior to reading the review, and went "Oh thats cute with the ribbon". I didn't notice anything amiss prior to you pointing out you had problems. I think it looks very nice-there are no mistakes just design changes. :)
3/26/05 9:07 AM
Liana said...
It looks great. I agree, wear it in good health, and consider it a "personalized" design!
3/26/05 9:19 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Actually, I think it looks fine, but I know how it is to make something, know it is not right, and then never wear it. But I do think it is a cute little skirt.
3/26/05 11:50 AM
drsue said...
Thank you for all the feedback. I keep going back and forth between "ok" and "not ok". However, I do love the colors, especially all three yellows together, and since most people don't notice a problem I'll consider it a design statement.
3/26/05 4:21 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Hey, drsue - it is fine. Yes the fold is in the wrong place - but that is only if you know where it is supposed to be. As for wrap skirts - well my sister and I made a wrap dress each way back. They became known as our drive- in dresses! Because you know what happens when you sit down in them!! A mock wrap is sooo much better!
3/26/05 6:28 PM
Hilary said...
I think it looks fine-I never would've guessed it gave you such anxiety! It is a lovely color too. I think you should wear it with pride for having perservered and finished through your mistakes. It looks good! Thanks for the tips and now the rest of us will have a better chance of success with this one!
3/27/05 8:26 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Sue, I think it looks perfectly fine. It's only "wrong" because you're comparing it to the pattern. If you had designed it, you could've put the fold anywhere you like. There's no "rule" that you've broken -- you've just deviated from the pattern a little.
3/27/05 10:05 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think the skirt looks nice. I actually prefer mock wraps. I think you will be the only one to know of the fold error, I can not really see it.
3/27/05 10:46 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
I agree, it is a lovely outfit. Put it in the closet for a week or two, then pull it out and wear it, you'll love it. It is surreal to have an idea in your mind and find the pattern and garment are really not turning out as expected. . . I appreciated your review as I spent the last weekend going through three separate sheath dress patterns--tissue pin fitting, then making a muslin--hated all three, can't the the Audrey Hepburn boat neck not to gap--tossed them all, began to wonder if I can really sew or fit at all. . . . I always appreciate your keen and detailed analysis of problems in your reviews!
3/29/05 7:08 PM
BjP said...
drsue, I found your review once again after doing a search. This is my project for the day, and I was so glad to re-read this and will use your review as a guide while I'm sewing today. I still think it's a lovely skirt (I posted earlier as jeanetteP but have since changed my username) and I hope you have gotten good wear from it. Thanks again for a very helpful review!
6/11/05 8:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-115

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
New Look 6189

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now