Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1873 (Misses' & Miss Petite Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 431 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:julliams
photo
About julliamsstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/07
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/28/13 3:55 AM
Last Updated:5/28/13 6:02 PM


Simplicity: 1873 by julliams  Simplicity: 1873 by julliams  
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Berkie said...
Nice use of a border print. Love the dress and shoes.
5/28/13 7:20 AM
MamaSewing said...
Fun dress!
5/28/13 9:51 AM
Guelphgurl said...
Love the dress AND the shoes!
5/28/13 10:12 AM
MNBarb said...
Oh my! What a special dress! Your use of this fantastic border print gives the dress a thousand dollar look, very original and arty. You could design an entire wardrobe around those beautiful shoes.
5/28/13 11:22 AM
Re Becca said...
Love absolutely everything! Including the shoes. I see why you, this fabric and this pattern are just meant to be. Did you draft a collar or is that the serendipity of the print?
5/28/13 12:18 PM
Morisot said...
Superb use of that beautiful fabric.
5/28/13 1:24 PM
julliams said...
Hi everyone - thanks for such lovely comments. Yes I did draft a collar. I will go back and edit my review to add this.
5/28/13 5:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Love this fabric! It became a really neat looking dress!
5/29/13 5:26 AM
ChristmasHills said...
You seem to have the knack of finding the right fabric for a dress, or the other way around. This is wonderful and I love the shoes too.
5/29/13 9:36 PM
julliams said...
Aww thanks ChristmasHills! That means alot actually. I usually start with the fabric. Certain fabrics bring certain dress types to mind and I just go with that. Also this fabric, being a border print and only 3 yards had limitations as to what kind of skirt I could use. But yes, it's fabric first, dress style second - mostly.
5/30/13 4:25 AM
Sarahbeara said...
Hi I started this dress a could days ago and was wondering if you have any tips that would be helpful while finishing the armholes and neckline. I'm having trouble with it bunching up so I tried bias tape and it helped a little. Did you have any trouble with this? Any advise?
7/5/13 3:58 PM
julliams said...
Hi Sarahbeara, I always completely line my bodices for this reason. I basically make the exact same bodice in a nice soft cotton and stitch then together (right sides facing) along the neck and armholes. Then I clip the curves and turn it the right way through the shoulder straps. Then I stitch up the sides ( use a method that has it all hidden on the inside) and add my skirt. There is no need for bias or anything else around the neck or armholes this way - just a good press. Let me know if you need any more info.
7/6/13 7:57 PM
Sarahbeara said...
Ok thank you very much!
7/8/13 2:37 AM
Sarahbeara said...
Hi I have another question. In haveing trouble with lining up my waistline when I zip up my invisable zipper. I know that one side is longer than the other but I don't know how to fix this. Any advice to what I could do? I am a beginner sewer and I'm kind of just learning how to sew on my own. Thank you for your help
7/22/13 11:53 PM
julliams said...
This is one of the most difficult things to do when you are learning. The only thing I can suggest is to be prepared to sew and unpick until you get it right. I've heard of people using tape or even basting the zipper in but it doesn't always guarantee a perfect match. I kind of manipulate the fabric a little - sometimes I stretch it a little as I'm sewing if I need more length or push it as it's sewing if I need less. It's trial and error and you just have to stick with it. May I remind you that once you have that dress on you will not see it from the back and anyone else who sees the back of your dress will most likely not even notice. So if it's only out by a smidge - live with it and move on. The other thing you can do is zip it up once you have attached one side, then place the other side over the closed zip and mark on the zipper where the waistline is. Doesn't always work but at least you will know if you are in the right ballpark.
7/24/13 8:12 AM
dinagideon said...
So your review of the sundress in green with the cute John Wolf fabric started me on a quest to find some of these fabrics and since then I have found two...a red cotton with kitty cats in baskets and this SAME exact Paris attic scene fabric, except in a burgundy. Yay! I have an inspiration dress to look at! I have draped a skirt on my form, and hopefully will get the courage to actually pattern it out and cut it and make it one day. :)
3/1/14 10:15 PM
julliams said...
@Dinagideon - wonderful! my advice is to think about it for a while and then just go for it. I have another fabric in a hunting scene that I spent way too much time procrastinating over and as a result I missed the season. I'll hopefully get it done soon....
3/2/14 2:03 AM
julliams said...

3/2/14 2:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 8251 Misses' tops
photo
Review by Erica B. on 12/4/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5391 Misses Shorts
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 9/27/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 651 Pattern
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)
Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6407 Pattern
New Look 6407 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us