SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7764 

12 more reviews
Viewed 1695 times 
Reviewed by:echolalia
photo

 
 
About echolaliastar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/1/03
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/05 2:50 AM
Last Updated:3/28/05 9:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in Austin said...
I can't wait to see this jacket! Your review has me enticed to try it for myself....
3/27/05 8:29 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great review. I have this pattern but have procrastinated on trying it as it looks kind of hard. Your reviw makes it sound so easy! I anxiously await the picture.
3/27/05 8:51 AM
Bonnie K said...
I also made this jacket and my recommendation would be to lengthen the below waist porton by 2 inches. I am 5'6" and the proportion just doesn't work for me.
3/27/05 11:41 PM
Mel.J said...
I'm looking forward to the photo too. Thanks for a very informative review. I really like the style, & am glad it worked for you.
3/28/05 6:01 PM
CarolynGM said...
So glad you got the picture posted. The "penance" jacket looks wonderful on your adorable DD. Thanks for the warning about the high waistline.
3/28/05 9:56 PM
Lori V said...
I love your jacket and have this pattern sitting out to try. Your dd looks terrific in your jacket and what a compliment for a 15 yo to think it looks cool.
3/28/05 10:33 PM
flowermama said...
Oh Oh - beautiful jacket but I think you just lost it to your DD - she looks like she loves it too!
3/28/05 11:33 PM
kiwi said...
Fabulous jacket.Great to hear the fabric behaved as I have recently bought some of it myself.
3/28/05 11:35 PM
GaSouBelle said...
Great Jacket! Very modern & stylish. Your DD looks like a fasion model wearing it. I would have never considered this pattern...yours looks much better than the pattern photo. Great Job!
3/28/05 11:51 PM
Eli said...
Great job! I also have this jacket and want to make it but still have not gotton around to it. BTW, I love your daughter's hair!
3/29/05 2:04 AM
tigger said...
Love the jacket - it looks so stylish!
3/29/05 3:47 AM
Maychi said...
I Love the jacket! It looks fabulous!
3/29/05 4:18 AM
KathleenS said...
Looks fantastic, and great review. I agree with the others - it looks like you're losing this to your daughter but that's a compliment really isn't it.
3/29/05 4:51 AM
echolalia said...
No, I haven't lost it to DD - she wants one in pink! Thanks for all your comments. Lauren is gorgeous - but aren't all of today's 15 year old girls; I am constantly amazed at the confidence of this generation, so different to me at 15.
3/29/05 5:34 AM
SuzanM said...
Gorgeous jacket. Looks very RTW. Thanks for the review!
3/29/05 6:31 AM
cindyann said...
I love it! Great style.
3/29/05 7:03 AM
Hilary said...
What a great review! I loved how you didn't complain about ripping the darts and redid them w/out whining-I have finally come to that conclusion as well-I finish a lot faster when I bite the bullet, don't complain, and just do what needs to be done. I agree with your daughter, the jacket is very cool! I like the "heinous" fabric too, lol. I am adding this to my wishlist.
3/29/05 8:19 AM
shard said...
Thank you for the review. I echo thanks for your 'warning to the short-waisted'. I, too, own a copy of this pattern, and in a seated group am always the shortest person in the room -- I shall take your advice to heart.
3/29/05 10:37 AM
SandraB said...
Great looking jacket.
3/29/05 12:38 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thanks for the EXCELLENT Review! I will be sewing this jacket in April in cotton for a spring/summer jacket. It's really really nice to know you can sew all the darts first! Thanks!
3/29/05 6:09 PM
Jill Giard said...
Thanks for the review! I've got mine more than half finished - sort of hit a wall. You've inspired me to finish mine! Excellent suggestion to cut one size larger for wear as a jacket.
3/29/05 6:47 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great jacket, great review! -Ann
3/29/05 7:07 PM
lmg said...
Thank you for the review. I have this pattern with the fabric just ready to cut out. I was wondering about the waistline as I am only 5'3" and was going to shorten it! Thanks for the tips and great review.
3/29/05 9:18 PM
valerie sews said...
Very smart looking jacket. Your pretty DD does indeed look cool in it. thanks for a informative review.
3/30/05 6:19 AM
marjenann said...
Awesome jacket, the belt makes it particularly professional. Can you tell us how you accomplished this??
3/30/05 7:30 AM
echolalia said...
Marjenann, I didn't think to mention the belt in my review. I used a brassy look 1" buckle with 'prong' rather than the without 'prong' that the pattern stipulates and used matching eyelets. Otherwise , I cut the belt using the pattern piece and used medium weight fusible interfacing, topstitching as per the pattern instructions. I think that the pattern offers considerable scope for variation - belt, fabric options, button options, easy width and length adjustments. I would like to see this with brass snaps on tan suede with a belt - it would make a great winter layer!
3/31/05 6:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now