SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7764 

12 more reviews
Viewed 1695 times 
Reviewed by:echolalia
photo

 
 
About echolaliastar
TAS Australia
Member since: 5/1/03
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/05 2:50 AM
Last Updated:3/28/05 9:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
echolalia said...
Marjenann, I didn't think to mention the belt in my review. I used a brassy look 1" buckle with 'prong' rather than the without 'prong' that the pattern stipulates and used matching eyelets. Otherwise , I cut the belt using the pattern piece and used medium weight fusible interfacing, topstitching as per the pattern instructions. I think that the pattern offers considerable scope for variation - belt, fabric options, button options, easy width and length adjustments. I would like to see this with brass snaps on tan suede with a belt - it would make a great winter layer!
3/31/05 6:03 AM
marjenann said...
Awesome jacket, the belt makes it particularly professional. Can you tell us how you accomplished this??
3/30/05 7:30 AM
valerie sews said...
Very smart looking jacket. Your pretty DD does indeed look cool in it. thanks for a informative review.
3/30/05 6:19 AM
lmg said...
Thank you for the review. I have this pattern with the fabric just ready to cut out. I was wondering about the waistline as I am only 5'3" and was going to shorten it! Thanks for the tips and great review.
3/29/05 9:18 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great jacket, great review! -Ann
3/29/05 7:07 PM
Jill Giard said...
Thanks for the review! I've got mine more than half finished - sort of hit a wall. You've inspired me to finish mine! Excellent suggestion to cut one size larger for wear as a jacket.
3/29/05 6:47 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thanks for the EXCELLENT Review! I will be sewing this jacket in April in cotton for a spring/summer jacket. It's really really nice to know you can sew all the darts first! Thanks!
3/29/05 6:09 PM
SandraB said...
Great looking jacket.
3/29/05 12:38 PM
shard said...
Thank you for the review. I echo thanks for your 'warning to the short-waisted'. I, too, own a copy of this pattern, and in a seated group am always the shortest person in the room -- I shall take your advice to heart.
3/29/05 10:37 AM
Hilary said...
What a great review! I loved how you didn't complain about ripping the darts and redid them w/out whining-I have finally come to that conclusion as well-I finish a lot faster when I bite the bullet, don't complain, and just do what needs to be done. I agree with your daughter, the jacket is very cool! I like the "heinous" fabric too, lol. I am adding this to my wishlist.
3/29/05 8:19 AM
cindyann said...
I love it! Great style.
3/29/05 7:03 AM
SuzanM said...
Gorgeous jacket. Looks very RTW. Thanks for the review!
3/29/05 6:31 AM
echolalia said...
No, I haven't lost it to DD - she wants one in pink! Thanks for all your comments. Lauren is gorgeous - but aren't all of today's 15 year old girls; I am constantly amazed at the confidence of this generation, so different to me at 15.
3/29/05 5:34 AM
KathleenS said...
Looks fantastic, and great review. I agree with the others - it looks like you're losing this to your daughter but that's a compliment really isn't it.
3/29/05 4:51 AM
Maychi said...
I Love the jacket! It looks fabulous!
3/29/05 4:18 AM
tigger said...
Love the jacket - it looks so stylish!
3/29/05 3:47 AM
Eli said...
Great job! I also have this jacket and want to make it but still have not gotton around to it. BTW, I love your daughter's hair!
3/29/05 2:04 AM
GaSouBelle said...
Great Jacket! Very modern & stylish. Your DD looks like a fasion model wearing it. I would have never considered this pattern...yours looks much better than the pattern photo. Great Job!
3/28/05 11:51 PM
kiwi said...
Fabulous jacket.Great to hear the fabric behaved as I have recently bought some of it myself.
3/28/05 11:35 PM
flowermama said...
Oh Oh - beautiful jacket but I think you just lost it to your DD - she looks like she loves it too!
3/28/05 11:33 PM
Lori V said...
I love your jacket and have this pattern sitting out to try. Your dd looks terrific in your jacket and what a compliment for a 15 yo to think it looks cool.
3/28/05 10:33 PM
CarolynGM said...
So glad you got the picture posted. The "penance" jacket looks wonderful on your adorable DD. Thanks for the warning about the high waistline.
3/28/05 9:56 PM
Mel.J said...
I'm looking forward to the photo too. Thanks for a very informative review. I really like the style, & am glad it worked for you.
3/28/05 6:01 PM
Bonnie K said...
I also made this jacket and my recommendation would be to lengthen the below waist porton by 2 inches. I am 5'6" and the proportion just doesn't work for me.
3/27/05 11:41 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great review. I have this pattern but have procrastinated on trying it as it looks kind of hard. Your reviw makes it sound so easy! I anxiously await the picture.
3/27/05 8:51 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
I can't wait to see this jacket! Your review has me enticed to try it for myself....
3/27/05 8:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Other Booby Traps

photo
by: LiZ

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 259307-1001

photo
by: oldfashion...

Review
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now