Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Grainline Studio: 31004 (Archer Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 337 times 53 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:CissieW
photo
Friend of PR
About CissieWstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 1/21/07
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 150
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:5/29/13 8:29 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $10.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $10.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewme47 said...
Nice shirt, and I love your touch of Liberty print. :-)
5/29/13 9:59 PM
ArtAttack said...
Really cute, Cissie! Honestly, I think your topstitching is great. We are always so critical of our own work. I want to use your hemming method on my July. Thanks for that tip. Great Archer and review!
5/29/13 10:47 PM
Aixoise said...
Beautiful job on this shirt. I think your topstitching looks fine. I've always thought that for edgestitching a shorter stitch was appropriate; with topstitching a 2.5 to 3.0 stitch, depending on fabric weight and the look you're going for. Thanks for making me aware of this pattern.
5/30/13 0:12 AM
cleverclogs said...
Yep, I've got to learn how to wrangle downloaded patterns and make one of these! Your shirt looks great, including the topstitching. If anything, I'd lengthen the stitch a little.
5/30/13 7:12 AM
VivianZ said...
Lovely top. I think the topstitching is done nicely.
5/30/13 8:09 AM
Bestyears said...
I have to agree that the topstitch appears to be beautifully done. What is it about it that bothers you?
5/30/13 8:46 AM
cleverkitty said...
CissieW your shirt is Beautifully done and that Liberty of London lawn sitting in your stash for 40 years is a Treasure, so hard to come by here in the States very sought after, never get rid of this shirt! As for the Chambray, it is no poor mans linen, Chambray is a type of weave having equal warp and weft yarns having no right side. Who can not love Chambray and your color is so unique considering it's usually associated as being blue. Top-stitching should be seen as a detail so a stitch length of 3.0 or more is what your after, usually done 1/4" from the edge. I use a 1/4' foot. Edge stitching is done on the edge like you did, an edge stitch foot with a raised edge guide is extremely helpful for this, many times both stitches are done. My most favorite thing to do is to put two all-purpose threads through a single needle to make a more visible stitching line. The other thing I do to keep the fabric in control while top stitching is: using one hand in the back and one in the front so there is so tread escapees while stitching, they have to behave and stay inline. By time your done with 12 shirts you will be giving us advice, Pam off the Cuff is an excellent resource too. Happy Sewing, I look forward to seeing your other shirts :)
5/30/13 9:04 AM
grays08 said...
This is lovely and appreciate the hemming tip. I always struggle with selecting the "right" stitch length on my topstitching because so much of it seems to come down to the style of garment, and how it looks. This one I'd say to go a tad smaller or use what you did (which I like) but in more casual things I like the longer 3.5+ length. I have an internal battle as well every time though deciding if I like the length I picked! = )
5/30/13 9:15 AM
CissieW said...
Thanks for the topstitching tips! I've been studying my husband's bespoke shirts and all are different! I really like the idea of 2 threads for some topstitching, too! I guess on this shirt my stitching is between topstitching and edgestitching since I couldn't make up my mind!
5/30/13 10:00 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
This is so soft and pretty with your Liberty upgrade! So glad you caught the Archer bug!!
5/31/13 0:45 AM
CissieW said...
Julie, I don't know if I should thank you or not for infecting me with your "virus"! How many of these shirts do I need? I have lots of versions in my head!
5/31/13 6:39 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Ha! I know what you mean. Both my sisters and 3 sisters in law will be getting Archers this Christmas!
5/31/13 7:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 4386
photo
Review by HelenM01 on 6/19/13
Read Review

Butterick 5710 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5710 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7102 Pattern
Burda 7102 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6440 Misses' Pants
photo
Review by JustineSew... on 1/29/13
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us