Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2013-102 (Pleated Flowing Gatsby Dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Natural Fabrics Contest 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 546 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/13 9:05 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewWil said...
I love the addition of the sleeve. Your dress is very beautiful. Great job!
5/31/13 9:29 AM
Nancywin said...
Very pretty dress! It becomes you.
5/31/13 9:40 AM
KathySews said...
Beautiful dress. I enjoyed reading your review. It is like a little sewing lesson.
5/31/13 9:49 AM
GermanKleinigkeit said...
So sweet this dress, and you look adorable in it. I like the added little flouncy sleeves also.
5/31/13 10:38 AM
katlew03 said...
Very impressive dress. The fabric and sleeves are perfect for the style. You do great work but this is at the top of my favorites list.
5/31/13 10:42 AM
grays08 said...
Your changes really make this dress shine IMO, I wasn't a huge fan of this in the mag the way it was but thought it had potential. Very helpful review and love your ideas and adjustments to this - fabulous!
5/31/13 11:22 AM
j Renee Design said...
Beautiful dress and awesome review!
5/31/13 11:58 AM
Mufffet said...
Very cute and love those sleeves. :)
5/31/13 12:01 PM
Barbara V said...
Your dress is so pretty and looks great on you! You really made many changes which were great improvements for a personalized style and fit. Using your Grandmother's buttons makes it very special.
5/31/13 12:26 PM
Terri A said...
Beautiful! Every last detail all the way down to the hidden badge loop is just wonderful.
5/31/13 1:08 PM
norie creates said...
Very pretty. What a great review!
5/31/13 1:25 PM
Jessica Dean said...
Love, love, love the style!!! Beautiful! :D
5/31/13 2:08 PM
liliv said...
You rocked it!!
5/31/13 4:15 PM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful retro/modern dress. You combination of invisible zipper and keyhole at the back is brilliant.
5/31/13 5:24 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Excellent job! I love your detailed reviews because they offer so much information for new sewists about stabilizing (which patterns normally neglect). Your badge loop made me laugh out loud! I think it's a great detail and won't compromise your silk over time. The back keyhole is wonderful, and I may have to borrow it ;) I love a little back interest, even if it's just a slightly lowered or shaped neckline, and this is even better
5/31/13 9:56 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
The dress is beautiful! Love the fabric and the fit is flattering!
5/31/13 11:12 PM
arianamaniacs said...
This is so adorable! I just bought this issue today and was wondering how this dress would look. I love your version!
6/1/13 4:16 PM
pdiddly said...
great looking dress
6/1/13 5:49 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Very cute!
6/1/13 10:17 PM
annakeeton said...
Lovely dress and using one of the buttons from your grandmother's sewing room makes it more special. The pic showing the broken interfacing line at the pleats is helpful.
6/7/13 5:18 AM
ChristineX said...
Whoa, brilliant take on that dress!!!!
6/8/13 1:23 PM
Sew Whatever said...
This is awesome on you. well done for placing in the contest.
6/10/13 10:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

New Look 6216
photo
Review by JennyQNY on 10/13/13
Read Review

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $27.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6644
photo
Review by kim*brown on 5/15/07
Read Review

Burda 7753 Pattern
Burda 7753 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us