SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6385 (Misses Summer Top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1379 times 
Reviewed by:tigger
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tiggerstar
AE USA
Member since: 1/8/05
Reviews: 33 (patterns: 29)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/05 3:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pittysmom said... (5/26/05 10:25 PM) Reply
Tigger, I just bought this pattern today, I can't wait to try it. BTW, I have the Loop Turner by Dritz. It was only $3.49 at Hancocks, and you cn order it online I think. It works great for spaghetti straps and real cheap too. Go to Hancockfabrics.com and look up "loop turner" But I like your straps too, I was thinking of doing some wider gathered straps maybe. Nice top, and a great review!
tigger said... (3/28/05 1:48 AM) Reply
Thanks everyone for your tips making spaghetti straps! Now why didn't I ask this question on the forums before? Doh! :)
BjP said... (3/27/05 7:30 PM) Reply
Very cute top - the lace was a great idea!
Leslie in Austin said... (3/27/05 6:37 PM) Reply
Cute top! I've tried several options for turning straps (including a bodkin--is that the word you're looking for Jen?) and I keep coming back to the kind of turner that looks like ice tongs. Another option for avoiding turning spaghetti straps is to do topstiched ones instead. They're done just like making bias binding, but instead of folding the binding over something, you just topstitch them closed. I *highly* recommend a bias tape maker for this job.
KathleenS said... (3/27/05 4:18 PM) Reply
The Fasturn set is great for turning spaghetti straps. It's quite expensive but once you've got it you are never put off sewing a pattern just because it has thin straps.
Jennifer shaw said... (3/27/05 4:01 PM) Reply
tigger, your top looks so wonderful!! Your fabric is really pretty. I like the thicker straps, too. There is a really great tool to use- but I forgot the name. doh!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Skinny Bitch Curvy Chick SB300

photo
by: susandf

Review
Folkwear 207

photo
by: rohien

Review
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Pattern Details