SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6385 (Misses Summer Top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1378 times 
Reviewed by:tigger
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tiggerstar
AE USA
Member since: 1/8/05
Reviews: 33 (patterns: 29)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/05 3:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pittysmom said... (5/26/05 10:25 PM) Reply
Tigger, I just bought this pattern today, I can't wait to try it. BTW, I have the Loop Turner by Dritz. It was only $3.49 at Hancocks, and you cn order it online I think. It works great for spaghetti straps and real cheap too. Go to Hancockfabrics.com and look up "loop turner" But I like your straps too, I was thinking of doing some wider gathered straps maybe. Nice top, and a great review!
tigger said... (3/28/05 1:48 AM) Reply
Thanks everyone for your tips making spaghetti straps! Now why didn't I ask this question on the forums before? Doh! :)
BjP said... (3/27/05 7:30 PM) Reply
Very cute top - the lace was a great idea!
Leslie in Austin said... (3/27/05 6:37 PM) Reply
Cute top! I've tried several options for turning straps (including a bodkin--is that the word you're looking for Jen?) and I keep coming back to the kind of turner that looks like ice tongs. Another option for avoiding turning spaghetti straps is to do topstiched ones instead. They're done just like making bias binding, but instead of folding the binding over something, you just topstitch them closed. I *highly* recommend a bias tape maker for this job.
KathleenS said... (3/27/05 4:18 PM) Reply
The Fasturn set is great for turning spaghetti straps. It's quite expensive but once you've got it you are never put off sewing a pattern just because it has thin straps.
Jennifer shaw said... (3/27/05 4:01 PM) Reply
tigger, your top looks so wonderful!! Your fabric is really pretty. I like the thicker straps, too. There is a really great tool to use- but I forgot the name. doh!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8414

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 8821

photo
by: annie11

Review